We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Short Break”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

What can I say? Where do I start? On arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady named Julie, very polite, friendly, yet very professional. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were made to feel very welcome and comfortable. We were shown to a room in the courtyard which was really lovely, warm, nicely decorated and with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. We had a large flat screen television and a drinks tray with decaffeinated coffee (something I struggle with in other hotels). We had lovely views from the room and a newspaper was delivered to our door every morning.

We had intended to just have an evening meal on the first night but because the food was so fantastic, we dined the second night also. The hotel has been awarded a rosette for food and boy am I not surprised, I felt as if I was eating in a top quality London Restaurant, the taste, quality and presentation was next to none. They have little pots which they serve little extra’s in, such as Lamb Casserole to accompany your Rump of Lamb, along with a Black Pudding Sausage Roll. The desserts were just too tempting for us to pick just one, so they have a dish where you can try all of them (smaller portions obviously). They have a promotion on at the moment where if you buy a dessert, you get to play Deal or No Deal, I picked a box and won a lottery ticket for the coming Saturday night, sadly I didn’t win.

The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much bother, they are very polite and make sure you have everything you need to make your stay lovely.

I would like to thank all the Management and staff for a wonderful two day break, we will definitely be returning in the near future

Room Tip: We stayed in the courtyard which is at the rear of the hotel, some reviews have said these are small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 334Dandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    335
    144
    43
    27
See reviews for
209
385
31
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2011

My wife and I have traveled the globe and have stayed at some of the finest hotels in the world. We were referred to The Honest Lawyer and had a spectacular experience! The hotel is quite small, offering only 48 rooms, but is luxurious in every way. The rooms are large, very quiet and furnished exquisitely. The staff is beyond compare and as good as, if not better than, any Four Seasons property. Front desk Asst Julie and Lauren were constantly going out of their way for us and treated us like family. Indeed, they made us feel as though we were the only guests in the hotel. And the location? Located in Durham, and literally a short drive away from the Cathedral , You could not ask for a better location, better rooms or a better staff of personnel to assist you. I highly recommend this property.You will not be sorry!

Room Tip: Choose to stay inside the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Booked a 1 night stay last minute and weren't disappointed. On arrival the parking was ample and were upgraded for free to a 4 poster room. Room was clean, tidy and tastefully decorated. Noise from other rooms or the remainder of the hotel was minimal and the bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast was slightly disappointing with only a small amount of food provided which was not all cooked fully and slightly cold. However the hotel was busy and with minimum staff we put it down to numbers rather than lack of care.

No hesitation in recommending for a visit and very close to the city and the park and ride. Will certainly be considering another booking in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 98paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

i arranged a golf trip here for 16 players once again and the feedback from the guys is"when are we heading back"...perfect they commented on the price of the hotel,food,drinks,not to mention the manegers discount we received,all i can say from the guys about brealfast was only 2 turnes up as some were up a little later than other and missed it,however the catering staff nade sure they eat something upon there appereance..thanks to all the gang here and a team perfermance...derek

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbgolfing2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beverley
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

we stayed here for 1 night on the 5th nov, lovey place lovely people, the hotel was very quiet however still nice, Durham itself is beautiful we will be returning but for a longer stay

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Dear burr62

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time and leaving a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and with your very kind words. I will pass all your comments to all the team as your comments are a constant motivation to us all. We will look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager
Best Western Honest Lawyer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2011

It was the best hotle I have ever stayed in in the uk. All the staff make you feel at home. The rooms are all big there are all clean mades come every day if you want them. The entertanment on a Friday night is fantasitc.The food was exalent I thought it was beter then the restarunts around where I live. The weekend I had was the best.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Dear Aidi16

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time and leaving a review regarding your recent stay with ourselves. It has made my day to read that you thought it's the best hotel you have ever stayed at, and all the team made you feel at home. I am pleased you enjoyed the entertainment on the Friday evening, and all the food was excellent. I will certainly pass all your amazing comments back to all the team as your kind words are a constant motivation to us all that we are creating memorable moments for our guests. We will look forward in welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager
Best Western Honest Lawyer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed here in Oct 2011 for two nights, room was clean and comfortable.
Ate in the hotel restaurant, food excellent. They have a steak night on a Wed
and is very good value for money.

staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquababe08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear aquababe08

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time and leaving a review regarding your recent stay with ourselves. I'm delighted you found your accommodation clean and comfortable and the food in the restaurant was also excellent. I will pass all your comments down to all departments as your kind words are a constant reminder to us all that we are exceeding our guests expectations. We will look forward in welcoming you both back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards


Chris Bowron
General Manager
Best Western Honest Lawyer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.8 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
496 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#13 of 19 in Durham
222 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Honest Lawyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Property: The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Address: Croxdale, Durham DH1 3SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Honest Lawyer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Honest Lawyer Hotel, a 46 bedroom, 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant is a modern hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a variety of dining options, all ideally located less then 3 miles from Durham City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Honest Lawyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing