We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
county durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

went here for a meal we had the roast beef and i can honestly say it was lovely and tasty we went to join a wedding meal it was 8.99 and was worth every penny it was our first time here and only live 5mins away will def be going back

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colnjue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    320
    135
    40
    24
See reviews for
196
365
30
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

Cosy and friendly hotel. Well located for public transport to Durham. We travelled without our car. There are several bus routes direct to and from the hotel to Durham, the 6 and 6A being particularly useful since they both pass close to the Botanic Gardens and the Oriental Museum. The Oriental Museum is well worth a visit. There are rooms in the main hotel building but we were in a motel style room outside the main building. This was clean and comfortable although the bed was a little on the small side. On two of the three nights we spent at the hotel there was a themed evening meal, one a steak night, the other a fish night, both were very good value and both included a free bottle of wine. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SpeedyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

frendly staff and good rooms
stayed on a short break for the bank hol, was met and shown to our room by a guy on reception,(didnt catch his name) asked if we would like to dine, but had to decline as we had prior arrangments. so at that he instantly offered to call us a taxi and grab us a drink from the bar while we waited.
good selection at breakfast with friendly and attentive staff
job well done

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elton_hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend in May, our first impression of driving up to the hotel was a bit of a let down, but once we checked in and made our way to the room we were very impressed. The rooms were lovely decorated, very clean and had a great atmosphere, not to mention the massive telly in our room.
We did not eat in the restaurant but the food looked amazing and the price was reasonable too.
Our view from the room was peaceful looking onto fields.
Breakfast in the morning was very good, ranging from continental and full English breakfast but of good quality.The waitress's were nice too.
I have stayed in a few Best Westerns and this is one of my favourites, I would defintly return back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theyoungcritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Hotel location was really nice and it's surroundings really nice looking botique hotel

We had a courtyard room requested a room in the hotel but were told they were fully booked I made a note on the reservation requests but didn't argue took what I was given room was ok but would have preferred a room inside as there was a lot of noise from the carpark.

Restaurant Food fantastic and service was second to none well done to the staff here they really do look after you on a evening and the food was delicious.

Bar prices reasonable and not over priced and a good wine list both in bar and restaurant.

Breakfast was a bit of a let down if I'm honest due to us not been offered any toast we were sat down quickly enough but noticed other people come in after us and they got their breakfast served before we did.

I didn't make too much of a fuss but we had to ask twice and were told they were waiting for our breakfast to be cooked before they brought it out even though other people had theirs before their cooked breakfast was served.

Some really good points about the hotel maybe we were just unlucky and the waitress was rushed off her feet just a bit sad when we were looking forward to stay.

If I was to stay again not sure maybe would need to reserve judgement or offer a second chance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diesellad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

excellent service and breakfast the room was beautiful and clean staff where fantastic and very helpful

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stopped again at the honest lawyer this time in the premier rooms upstairs room 48 overlooking the courtyard. Room was lovely and clean with fresh milk. We stopped for meal in the resturrant and were well looked after by Andrew and Bev the manager and waitress and front of house team were very quick and officiant we will be back

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naujommis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.7 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.7 mi away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#11 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Honest Lawyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Property: The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Address: Croxdale, Durham DH1 3SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#5 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Honest Lawyer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Honest Lawyer Hotel, a 46 bedroom, 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant is a modern hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a variety of dining options, all ideally located less then 3 miles from Durham City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Honest Lawyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing