We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, will definitely stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed one night in the hotel itself. Lovely room and bathroom, clean and comfortable. Food excellent, both evening meal and breakfast. Service very good, staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane_John_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

695 - 701 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

we stayed in the courtyard part of the hotel, rooms small, double bed seemed small maybe a 3/4 double? Carpet had chewing gum on it and wifi didn't work. We didn't eat in the restaurant at night but menu looked a little restrictive. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: maybe the rooms in the hotel main building are better? however front of hotel on main road so would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Just came back last week from a couple of nights away, stayed in the Honest Lawyer hotel during the week. It was a fairly quiet hotel athough the maid did try to get into our room at 9am the first morning, a bit eager.... Didn't eat in the restaurant or try the breakfast so can't comment on that but thoroughly enjoyed the Prosecco from the bar.......staff were pleasant and the rooms clean so no problem there. We got the bus into Durham city which is right next to the hotel so easy to get too. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishertuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, Front Office Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear fishertuk,
Thank you for your review of the hotel, i'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your liking. The bus route that stops right outside of the hotel is very popular with our guests so i'm pleased that you were aware of this. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future, if there's anything that I can help you with please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Julie Naylor, Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This was our third or fourth weekend over the past two years at the Honest Lawyer. It is a good value hotel and serves excellent food and beverages. However it is now showing some signs of wear and a little ivestment is needed just to update rooms and communal areas but they are always clean and satisfactorily furnished. We like being away from the main part of the hotel with the car outside your front door. Good flat screen TV and bathing and shower facilties are good and the rooms we have been allocated have always served our need as people visiting local family. I would suggest that the area by the rear entrance which seems to be used only to access the main bar (it is in effect the rear entrace but is the first door to the hotel you see when you drive in) be given a more inviting refurbishment - we also found it had a odd smell and the cigarette butt container near the rear entrance should be removed. The staff have always been excellent and friendly. The windows only open a couple of inches but they are on the ground floor. There is a lovely decked are if you fancy a drink outside. Excellent breakfast provided.Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the colour of the doors to the rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, Front Office Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Roger G,
Thank you for your feedback on the hotel. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the breakfast. Since your visit we've taken your points on board and have given the Atrium area that you described a spruce up with a new layout, decoration and we have replaced the old cigarette container with a better option. The whole area now looks a lot more inviting & I can't wait for you to see it upon your return to the hotel. If there's anything I can help you with please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Julie Naylor, Front of House Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Just had a 2 night stay at this great best western. It says number 1 for food in durham and it definitely lives up to the claim. Meals were excellent. Breakfast too. Had an upgraded room in the main buliding on the front. Some road noise but much quieter after 11.30pm so didn't affect us too much. Staff were all very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. excellent location for Durham - 3 miles or so and main car park just on your left as you approach the city.

Room Tip: upgraded rooms larger - ask for one facing the rear if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunseekers1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, Front Office Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Sunseekers1000, thank you for your positive review of the hotel. I'm delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your meals with us, and that you enjoyed your upgraded Four Poster room. We hope to see you again soon, if there is anything that I can help you with please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Julie Naylor, Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This was a deal with KGB so for the money it was brilliant. I love Best Westerns both here and abroad as they have particularly nice bars.reception areas and lovely staff. Our room was a motel type room away from the main body of the building and left a lot to be desired. It was scruffy (but clean) and had a very peculiar smell to it. The food in the restaurant was superb as was the bar area. It was too far to walk into Durham and as himself decided that as it was a Saturday he was going to have a drink we thought we would get bus. well we waited and waited until deciding to jump in a taxi (which was then followed by about 3 buses). For what we paid it couldn't' be faulted but I think if we go again we will ask for a room in the main part of the hotel.

Room Tip: I would defnitely ask for a room in the main building. I don't know what they are like at this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludlowcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, Front Office Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Dear Marchbirdy,
Thank you for your review. I’m delighted that you enjoyed both our bar & restaurant, and that the food served was to your liking. I’m sorry to hear that you felt the room was not to an acceptable standard, we have a rolling maintenance plan in place so it may well be that your room has since been looked at, however I am pleased to hear that the room was clean. If you’d like to discuss this review any further, please contact me directly at the hotel.
Kind Regards
Julie Naylor, Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I love this place! The best nights sleep in years, excellent food and service to match. Ive stayed a number of times in the 'motel style' rooms however I managed to get a room inside the actual hotel and it's even better! Don't get me wrong, the other rooms are lovely with everything you'll need from digital widescreen tv's to gorgeous modern bathrooms however the most recent room was v special. Jacuzzi, balcony, personal robes and the biggest, softest bed I have ever slept in. Also If you get a chance to dine here make sure you check out either the lamb or the pork - 1st class. Finally a word on the service, FANTASTIC......from management to bar staff they are all really interested in delivering great service....well done guys

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy_m186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, Front Office Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Roy_m186337, thank you for your glowing review of the hotel, it is greatly appreciated by all of us here at the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon, if there's anything at all that I can help with feel free to call me at the hotel directly.

Kind Regards
Julie Naylor, Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.8 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
552 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
454 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#14 of 18 in Durham
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Honest Lawyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Address: Croxdale, Durham DH1 3SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £50 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Honest Lawyer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Honest Lawyer Hotel, a 46 bedroom, 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant is a modern hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a variety of dining options, all ideally located less then 3 miles from Durham City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Honest Lawyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing