We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Initially I thought this was going to be bad... booked and arrived on time for lunch but table not available in restaurant ..offered table near foyer...not good...soon rectified and meals were sizeable and tasty...would recommend...good value for money

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Saintsaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear Saintsaen,
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us, it's proving to be very popular lately! As the building is all open plan we allocate tables on a first come first served basis, so if you'd like to be allocated a table in the restaurant please let us know at the time of booking, space is limited so don't forget to book early! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

We recently attended our friends vow renewal at Croxdale church and stayed at the Honest Lawyer. It was brilliant from start to finish. The whole staff team were friendly, professional and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone from cleaners and the handyman to front of house. Every bit of food we ate was exceptional from breakfast, lunch, wedding breakfast to evening buffets. I cannot thank the staff enough and would like to especially thank Unsel, julie, Lauren and the whole of the kitchen staff. Can't wait to go again at the end of February.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Doncaster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Dear Doncaster4,
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I'm pleased that you, and all of your friends had a great time at the event, we are especially proud of how everything went over the weekend, and I look forward to seeing you again in February.

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I can not comment on the standard of the hotel but this review is on the restaurant. Myself and husband have visited once in the past having ate in the bar area, the food and service was ok then. Having previously eaten in the bar we decided to eat in the restaurant. The initial service was good then dissipated towards the end. The starter of hock of ham was rather salty. The main courses; the risotto was rather watery and the chicken was a little dry if not for the chorizo would have been too tasteless. We were then left with our plates for up o 15 minutes when collected we requested the bill which was given to another couples embarrassing to all yet no polity offered to ourselves but the other couple. All in all disappointing visit which has dinted whether we shall return again.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kat2685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear Kat2685,

Thank you for your review of the hotel, we welcome all feedback both positive and constructive. Firstly, may I apologise for the disappointing experience that you had when you visited the hotel with your husband, this is certainly not the usual standard that we aim to deliver. I have already spoken with the head chef and front of house staff following your review, who have all taken your comments on board. Unfortunately we do not always get everything right, but with feedback such as yours we can continue to work on improving our guest experience for the better. I would be very disappointed if this one experience deterred you from coming back to the hotel, and I would like to take this opportunity to personally invite you back to the hotel so that we can demonstrate our usual high standards of service. I hope that you will return to the hotel in the near future, and if there is anything that I can help you with please contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Unsal Aydin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We thought the staff there were very professional, well presented and they all made us feel very welcome throughout our 5 night stay. We thought the food was outstanding and found the breakfast choices more than adequate.

We experienced the Steak Night (Wednesdays) from a recommendation by Julie (Front of House) and we were not disappointed, we thoroughly enjoyed our evening and thought that the offer was excellent value for money. So much so that we purchased a gift voucher for our relatives to use there.

Thanks to all at the Honest Lawyer for making our overall experience a good one and be assured that we will return in the future when we next visit our relatives in the area.

Room Tip: The A167 is a very busy road from 6.30am onwards (Mon-Fri) and we would recommend that if you are st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aly_Kat362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Dear Aly_Kat362

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the warm welcome that you received and the quality of our food. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and I look forward to welcoming your relatives to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Unsal Aydin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

We first went here about 3 years ago for a cavery lunch and it was very poor, but recent reviews tempted us back. What a difference!

Fresh, warm breads and a truly excellent, properly homemade burger. Service good and the kitchen even whipped me up some off menu, excellent onion rings. Well done for such an improvement, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank ClanClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Dear ClanClark,
Thank you very much for your review of the hotel. I'm delighted that you can see such an improvement since you visited the hotel a few years ago, since then we have undergone extensive refurbishment throughout the hotel which included a brand new, open plan kitchen and a new kitchen team headed by Executive Head Chef Harry Bailie. Our commitment to improving the hotel has since earned us an AA Rosette two years running, and we recently received a Highest Quality Assured award from TasteDurham, which we are especially proud of. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We have just retrurned home after a two night stay at this hotel while in the area visiting family. Simply, the staff and service were faultless. Then there was the food- delicious is the word to describe every morsel we were served. The presentation and the tastes were as good as you are going to get.
Great value for money and we will be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: request a room in the main building or a higher number room, as the noise from traffic is a little b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Dear jllewellyn62,
Thank you very much for your glowing review of the hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you thought we were excellent value for money. I'm especially pleased that you found our food delicious. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

me and the wife stopped here for a meal one late rafternnon and boy are we glad we did , i had the fish and chips which was haddock in a beer batter and was to die for the wife had the pasta dish which she was was devine , would definately recomend and will deffo be returnng soon , Simon and Julie

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.8 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
552 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
454 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#14 of 18 in Durham
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Honest Lawyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Address: Croxdale, Durham DH1 3SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £50 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Honest Lawyer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Honest Lawyer Hotel, a 46 bedroom, 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant is a modern hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a variety of dining options, all ideally located less then 3 miles from Durham City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Honest Lawyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing