We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money, would stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money, would stay again.”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed in one of the chalet type rooms and overall the experience was a happy one and the hotel was good value for money. The room was decorated to a good standard and both room and bathroom were extremely clean and spacious. The hotel staff were efficient and conscientious. The only criticisms I have are that when we walked into our room it was boiling hot, yet our friends room several doors down was at the right temperature and was just warm. Also the ceiling light was very dim which I would understand if there was no lamp however there was a lamp in the room, the option to have either a brighter main light or use the lamp for dimmer lighting would have been appreciated.  

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren-kb-87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear lauren-kb-87,
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel, i'm delighted that you found us to be good value for money and that you would stay again. We'll certainly take a look at the heating in the rooms to make sure that everything is running as normal, all rooms are heated to the same temperature by our computer system so the next time that you stay you should see that everything is running as normal. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Unsal Aydin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    326
    141
    41
    24
See reviews for
200
374
30
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
consett
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I bought a voucher for afternoon tea and looked lovely on the picture. when afternoon tea arrived there were sandwiches with no butter, clotted cream with no jam and two little cakes. It was very poor and didn't look like the picture. I was very disappointed but there was one positive the staff who were serving were good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear bekkarobbo,
Thank you for your review. I must apologise for your afternoon tea experience. As you can see from our previous replies we have improved our afternoon teas greatly starting this week, and every customer who comes through the door will now experience a fantastic afternoon tea and service.

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I bought a voucher for afternoon for tea for 2 should of been £30.00 got it for £15, all I can say is if I had paid £15.00 I would of complained as it was very poor quality for afternoon tea. You were not given a choice of sandwiches but thankfully they did change them as I don't like salad or dressings. When it arrived the sandwiches were basic no butter or margarine on very odd, 2 small brownies, 2 small bits of cheesecake and 1 scone each, I paid £15 for afternoon tea somewhere else recently and we got alot more than this one (sandwiches, 2 scones each, cheesecake, 3 cakes) and alot better quality I really don't know how that could be classed as £15 pounds worth of afternoon tea to be honest, I for one will not be going back. The staff were friendly though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrgizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear mrgizmo

Thank you for your review of your experience at the hotel. Firstly I would like to apologise for your the disappointment that you experienced with your afternoon tea. Our standard afternoon tea consists of Unlimited tea and coffee, two rounds of sandwiches, two chocolate eclairs, two macorunes, two chocolates, two fruit scones and fresh cream and butter. As the afternoon teas sold very well last year we decided to extend our promotions to the New Year to give the opportunity for our local customers like yourself to come and try the food, service and hospitality that we offer here. I have personally spoken to Harry our Head Chef about your concerns to see where we can improve, and I would like to invite you back the hotel in the near future to enjoy an afternoon tea for two with my compliments. If you would like to take up this offer, please contact me directly at the hotel, I hope to hear from you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Unsal Aydin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

me and my hubby stayed here and got upgraded to a room in the main building , it was gorgeous! lovely food and staff and breakfast very good, lovely outdoor seating area, would reccomend, brilliant value for money x

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunston
Level Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We first stayed here one Saturday in January for our anniversary, for bed breakfast evening meal as we had read good reviews. We had room 28 which was a courtyard room although quite small was adequate for one night stay . The evening meal was extremely disappointing to say the least My husbands starter of duck wraps were served cold.My main course of roast sirloin of beef consisted of two slices of what looked like supermarket bought beef which was so tough even the couple at the next table commented on my inability to cut it.My husbands and my food was again served cold so we could nt eat it.We left the restaurant very hungry and disappointed The next morning the shower wasnt working breakfast was served school dinner style standing in line with someone doling out the food like a dinner lady this was again cold.After voicing our complaints we received a phone call from the manager with apologies and offering us sunday lunch on the house.And as i believe everyone is allowed a second chance we took his offer up. We decided to stay on a room only basis as it was too far to drive home We arrived early and were promptly given the key to room 29 but when we let ourselves in it still had the previous guests suitcases and belongings in they were moved out and we were told they had upgraded to another room We were given three different reasons for this upgrade. When I tried to have a bath there was no hot water we reported it straight away but nothing was done about it We went for our meal.with out a bath or shower i may add. We ordered prawn cocktail which consisted of an ice cream sundae glass filled to the top with lettuce and the smallest amount of prawn cocktail on the top Our main course I had the pork husband had the beef. guess what it was stone cold the food looked like it had been standing all day. The creamy vegetable I dont know what it was had a skin on it. We gave it up as a bad job and asked for a taxi into Durham where we went for something to eat.As the saying goes there is no such thing as a free lunch well this certainly was nt. By the time we paid for a room taxis and food we spent a fortune.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathersdunston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear kathersdunston,

Sorry, but I have to disagree with a lot of the things that you have written on your review. I have spoken to you personally and a lot of things that you have written you haven't mentioned to me during our conversation. I'm not sure that this review is an honest review. You yourself told me during our conversation that you were not happy at another hotel, and therefore you decided to come here. I find your comments to be quite unfair to our honest local food producers. I have to point out that the duck wraps are served warm, not hot, and the beef that we buy is from a local supplier less than 8 miles from the hotel. The second time you came here you were complaining that the heating and hot water was a problem, I myself checked all of the heating and plumbing and there wasn't a problem. On top of that I came in the next day very early to make sure that everything was running as normal for you, and there were no issues. I do believe that whatever myself and my staff did, it wasn't going to be to your liking unfortunately, it doesn't matter whatever I offered free and you received already, including a free lunch, free bottle of wine, free drinks, it didn't give any satisfaction to your stay, and you sill asked for a free room. I can see that your other reviews for other places are less than complimentary. Overall, I do think that your review is very unfair, but everyone is entitled to their own opinions.

Kind Regards

Unsal Aydin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Called in for Sunday lunch and had the two course deal . Prawn cocktail was a touch light on prawns but the main courses made up for it . Lyn had beef which she said was beautiful and I had the best burger ive had in a long time which came with hand cut fat chips .Delightful and a friendky goodbye as we left as well

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kevstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here for one night for a birthday party and will not be staying over again. The room was ok but the bed was far too small for two people and not comfortable at all. The only thing that was ok about the stay was the breakfast

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micky9nufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.8 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.7 mi away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#11 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Honest Lawyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Property: The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Address: Croxdale, Durham DH1 3SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Honest Lawyer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Honest Lawyer Hotel, a 46 bedroom, 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant is a modern hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a variety of dining options, all ideally located less then 3 miles from Durham City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Honest Lawyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing