We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically a noisy motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Sussex
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Basically a noisy motel”
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We booked 'large luxury rooms in the main building' through an internet booking site, and were assigned basic motel rooms outside the main building. Be aware that staff at the hotel said the company should not be offering these 'luxury' rooms at the price we paid, and would not honour the booking.
The motel rooms were as described by other reviewers on trip advisor - very noisy (road and machinery noise), the window would not close, the TV did not work and the shower attachment was hanging off the wall.
Staff were disinterested in any problems.
Didn't try the restaurant as the warm yoghurt served at breakfast put me off eating there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2010
Dear Lanno

First of all I would like to appologise for the delay in replying to your comments, regarding some of your constructive criticism made I can only appologie yet again that you did not recieve the room stated on your reservation, when we first opened one of our booking agents listed all bedrooms as superior on their listings and I pressume we could not accomodate you due to been full. I'm sorry you felt that we were disinterested with your problems this is certainly not the case. Our guests satisfaction means everything to us and as you can see by all the other reviews we try not only to meet them but exceed them every day. If you are visting Durham again please contact myself directly at the hotel and I will personally oversee your reservation.

It would make my year if you would enable us to put right what a very dissapointing stay.

Kind Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    329
    142
    41
    26
See reviews for
204
377
31
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The hotel reopened 2 months ago following a major refurbishment but has not been finished off properly.Our window wouldn't close and the curtain pole came away from the wall.The bathroom smelt dank - (the refurbishment was needed after flooding and I don't think it has properly dried out yet.)
Bedrooms are very small and poky -ours looked out onto a brick wall.
Pillows were uncomfortable - I wasn't aware there was a choice.
On the plus side the staff were attentive and both breakfast and dinner was of a good standard.
Very expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopefultraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2010
Dear hopefultraveller_9

First of all I would like appologise for the delay in replying to your review in June. Regarding some of the issues during your stay. Since opening in May we can only agree with your comments and appologise that your stay did certainly not meet with your expectations. Since then we have certainley got things put things right as you can see from all my recent rewiews on here. Thanks for the postive feedback regarding our team I will pass these comments down to all departments. In the near future you are travelling to Durham please contact myself at the hotel and I would be delighted to oversee your reservation thanks again.

Kind Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Just spent 2 really enjoyable nights at the Honest Lawyer in Durham. The location was perfect for Durham Town Centre and surrounding places of interest.
The room was very comfortable with ensuite, which had both bath and shower, the room also had a large flat screen TV (great for the world cup).
On the first night we dined out at a local pub which did a great carvery at a very reasonable price. The second night we dined in the hotal restaurant the food was fantastic and we were so full we couldn't manage dessert. Breakfast was also very good well cooked with lots of choice. I also found the staff warm and friendly, and the refurbishments are of top quality.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshiretraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ponte a tressa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

There are many reasons to do not sleep in this hotel. Firstly it is located along the main road where the cars and the lorries drive very fast. So it is very noisy. Then if you take a look at their home page, you will se a pretty yellow building. It is not the place where you will sleep. It is just the dining area. The rooms are located all around this building like a sort of an American Motel. This is exactly how you feel there: you pay for an hotel but you stay in a motel. The rooms are not clean. We found some pieces of wall fallen into the ground and never cleaned since many months at least. The uniqueness of this place was the type of noise that we heard in our room. You know sometimes it can happens that you hear something coming from the air conditioning or from the fan in the bathroom, but in this hotel you can listen to more: you hear like rhytmical strong knocks all along the wall behind your head while you sleep. So it is very uncomfortable. We moved to another room that had no such strange noise, but obviously it was much more closer to the main road. We tried to relax a bit, but at midnigth we were keeping awake by a started engine of a car parked in front of our door while a girl was chatting at the mobile phone inside the car. When she finished we tried again to relax but we realized that the pillows were so thick that after half an hour we got a stiff neck both.
We will never stop there anymore. The internet connetion moreover was the worst we ever found all over the UK.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sdsmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. Regarding the issues which you make reference to:

1) Road noise – since the refurbishment of the hotel we have invested in new double glazed windows in all of our courtyard rooms, unfortunately on this occasion this was not to your satisfaction but was beyond our control. The majority of guests do not have an issue with this.

2) Room cleanliness – we maintain a high level of cleanliness in all of our bedrooms, however I have address the issues that you have raised with our head housekeeper, although due to the anonymous nature of TripAdvisor I am unable to find which room you stayed in to take the matter further.

3) Hotel layout – I apologies that you were unaware that the majority of our bedrooms are located on the Courtyard. We do however, make reference to this on all websites and marketing materials.

4) Unfortunately it is beyond our control if a guest starts their car and uses their phone outside of your room, although I appreciate that this will have disturbed you.

5) Since you have stayed we have introduced a number of alternative pillows, and we have now updated our room directory to inform guests that these are available.

6) As part of the high standards that Best Western maintain, our wireless connection undergoes thorough testing. We have invested heavily in the technology required. Had you informed Reception we may have been able to fix the problem that you were experiencing.

Unfortunately I am unable to address your complaint with you directly as your details aren’t available on TripAdvisor, but if you would like to speak to me directly about your stay, please call or e-mail the hotel and ask for me personally

Kind Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2010

The rooms are comfortable although a bit small, food is excellent , staff friendly the bar prices are very reasonable for a hotel. Most of the rooms are in a courtyard so if it is raining it is a dash to get into the main building. The hotel is next to a main road so although the rooms have double glazing there is still quite a bit of trafic noise

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prof_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2010
Many thanks for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Honest Lawyer Hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Stayed one night with friends and would recommend to everyone. The hotel is lovely, rooms great - clean, well equiped and decorated to a high standard. But for me the best quality and possibly the best asset to the hotel was the staff, they were all amazing and really couldn't do enough for us. Would definately book again and hope to do so soon. Fiona.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2010
Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
various
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Was looking forward to staying here as has just reopened, i think they should have stayed shut a little longer to get the whole place in order
Minus Points
walls paper thin can hear everything from next door.
That guest had flatulence and was watching bridget jones not a good combination
there was no curtain in my room just an empty rail
cant open the dressing table as the drawer was too stiff
paint everywhere in the bathroom could do with a good clean
plaster dust on most of fittings
bathroom very cold

Plus points
Very good size television
easy to park outside your room
plenty tea and coffee provided
breakfast plated to order fresh and hot
very good free internet access

To summarise if they get the rooms snagged properly and cleaned will be a good place to stay till then make sure you get a bargain or stay somewhere else

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quarterwithcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2010
Dear quarterwithcheese

I can only appologise in the delay in responding to your review, however the issues you have raised in your review have certainly been rectified since your stay in May, and like you metioned we had just opened and maybe looking back we could have done a lot more in the early days. I can only appologise yet again, and you will be able to see reviews left by guests recently we have certainly come along way since then, if you are visiting in the near future please contact myself personally and I will oversee you entire reservation so we can exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.8 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
481 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#13 of 19 in Durham
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Honest Lawyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Property: The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Address: Croxdale, Durham DH1 3SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Honest Lawyer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Honest Lawyer Hotel, a 46 bedroom, 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant is a modern hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a variety of dining options, all ideally located less then 3 miles from Durham City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Honest Lawyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing