We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So restful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed in the main hotel in a four poster room and found the staff friendly, hotel clean and of a high standard - we dined in the hotel in the evening - food of a good standard for price - laid back pleasant atmosphere. A wide variety of breakfast with great service.
Best of all was the super comfortable mattress - wish every hotel had one like it - in fact I wish I had one!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Dear bobbie90

Thanks for all your positive comments regardinf the quality of food, service and bedrooms this is constant source of motivation to us all and I will pass these comments down to all relevant departments. We will look forward to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

932 - 938 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2010

This place was a little difficult to find. We tried calling the hotel to find out where it was but there was no answer even after ringing for several times. Using the zip code (no address was given in the confirmation notification) the GPS showed we'd arrived when in the middle of a field. We eventually found it, just around the corner over a bridge. Arriving, we found no one at the front desk - the bartender was doing double duty and there was a party going on which explains why he did not hear the phone ringing. Rooms were fine, although other guests set off fire works sometime after midnight and woke us up. If you want quiet, ask for it or you may end up close to the bar area. Staff in the morning were good and very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDavisAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

Dear MDavisAB,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our rooms and staff that you encountered on the morning.

Regarding some of the points that you have raised, unfortunately we did have a wedding on the evening that you stayed and the hotel was very busy. I can only apologise that no one answered your call whilst searching for directions to our hotel, that there was no one to greet you on arrival, and that the fireworks disturbed you. We strive to deliver excellent standards of customer service, and will seek to address these issue in the future.

I do appreciate your positive comments and constructive criticism regarding your visit to our hotel. If you are looking to visit Durham again please contact myself directly at the hotel and I will look after your booking personally

Kind Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Very friendly staff, incredibly welcoming. Amazing food! Wonderfully refurbished hotel very welcoming and cozy. Very good prices for food and reservation! Great location to Durham for days out and round the corner from the Botanical Gardens, a must see!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauraelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

Dear Lauraelk

Thank you very much for your kind review, it is greatly appreciated by myself and my team

Kind Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

we booked to stay here two nights, check in was quick and proffesional, had evening meal in restaraunt food excellent, service great, could not fault the staff, my only criticisms were, the room was cold, the bathroom had a smell of drains, the wi-fi did not work and there was blood on my towel, other than that i would recommend this hotel, there was plenty of parking and it is very convinient for Durham, there is a park and ride a few minutes away that takes you into Durham it runs mon to sat 7-7pm. would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wkareha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2010

Dear wkareha.

Thank you for all of your positive comments regarding the staff and the quality of food that we produce at the hotel. This is a constant source of motivation to us all, I will pass your positive feedback onto the team.

I can only apologies for the problems that you mention regarding your room. I can promise you that we are addressing these issues with our Head Housekeeper to make sure these issues do not arise in the future.

I appreciate all of the feedback you have given, with both positive and constructive comment we can ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable experience and exceed their expectations in the future

Myself and the team will look forward to your return visit to our hotel

Kind Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Probably the most friendly and helpful staff we have come across in a long time, from all reception staff to bar and restaurant they all put in a lot of hours but are happy to meet any requests particularly Chris the manager, Julie on reception and Matthew restaurant manager .
We had to eat in the bar area on Saturday as it was so busy in the restaurant but the food was off the same menu and was very good.
Breakfast was fine but would like to see porridge and more fresh cut fruit on the menu as that is my choice for a good breakfast while away. However that would not stop me from staying at the Honest Lawyer again as you really are made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ltontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2010

Dear ltontour,

Thank you very much for the positive feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. I very much appreciate you thanking myself, Julie and Matthew personally, as well as mentioning the high standards of service that you received throughout the business.

These positive comments will be passed down to all departments, and are a constant source of motivation to us all

On your next visit to our hotel, we wll endeavour to provide you with porridge and fresh cut fruit, please ask upon check in so that we can prepare this for you.

Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Good location for making a quick stop along the way. Great hamburger for supper. Excellent breakfast buffet--always stocked and well looked after by staff. Bed was awful--totally destroyed and saggy--so impossible to get a good sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanFam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2010

Dear CanFam7,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding supper and breakfast, it is greatly appreciated by myself and the team.

Regarding your feedback about your uncomfortable bed, this puzzles me somewhat as all of our beds, mattresses and pillows were purchased brand new from a top UK supplier for our re-opening in May 2010. Many guests who have stayed since we re-opened have given positive feedback on the quality of the beds and mattresses.

I apologise if on this occasion it was not to your liking, however I do appreciate all of your positive comments about your stay.

Kind Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

from Chris the manager,Julie,Zoe the staff have been nothing but welcoming and nothing is too much trouble ,they are full of fun and work very much as a close team,and after since the reopening business seems to be very brisk.
All the rooms are immaculate,the courtyard rooms are very comfortable i prefer these than the hotel itself i just find it easier to get files out my car parked outside the room door.large flat screen tvs in all rooms with the digi box channels incl sky news & sports news sports channels on tv in bar.
Excellent free high speed internet access just click on no vouchers or messing about
Harry provides excellent food in the restaurant nice varied menu
folks give yourselves a treat dont stay in the overpriced durham city hotels this hotel is 5 mins in a car or taxi into the town centre and you wont get a friendlier welcome

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1corgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2010

Dear 1corgolf,

Many thanks for your positive feedback, it is greatly appreciated and a constant source of motivation to myself and my team. It is encouraging to hear that we are moving the hotel in the right direction

Kind Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.8 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
558 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#12 of 18 in Durham
66 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Honest Lawyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Address: Croxdale, Durham DH1 3SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £50 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Honest Lawyer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Honest Lawyer Hotel, a 46 bedroom, 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant is a modern hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a variety of dining options, all ideally located less then 3 miles from Durham City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Honest Lawyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing