We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT PLACE TO STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I recently stayed in this hotel and they hosted my wedding venue and from start to finish it was PERFECT.... Chris the general manager and his staff were brilliant... they catered for all needs from the planning to the day of my wedding... small touches that added a little class were fantastic... Everyone of my guest commented on the food and that they must have a fantastic chef. I stayed in the main building in room 53 and it was fantastic. My friends came up from london and also were overwhelmed at the friendlyness of the staff and the quality of the food and the rooms... I know perfect is a hard word but the honest lawyer from managment to the staff made our day just that ... many thanks will recomend this to all my friends and colleagues

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suggs93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2011

Dear Garry & Christine

First of all I would like to thankyou both for all the amazing comments you have left. I'm so pleased you both had a day to remember. On the day we also appreciated all the feedback from your guests that attended your wedding. Personally it was such a pleasure to spend such an amazing day with you both and i know the team enjoyed evry moment aswell. Again I would like to wish you both all the happiness for the future, and see you both every year for many years to come back at the hotel for your anniversary.

Best Wishes

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
There are newer reviews for The Honest Lawyer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

860 - 866 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2011

A1 , which is appropriate being beside the original A1.We had a great time at this fine establishment. Rooms nicely decorated and well serviced, plenty of toiletries, towels etc. Great Menu and the Evening Meal was wonderful. Great choice at Breakfast . Special mention must be made of the staff, everyone was brilliant. Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthEastLancsBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2011

Dear NorthEastLancsBuzz

First of all I would like to thank you for your all your comments regarding your recent stay with ourselves. I'm delighted you found the food wonderful and the rooms of a high standard. We appreciate your special mention for all our staff your kind words will be passed down to all departments, your feedback is a constant reminder we always must exceed our guests expectations and I'm delighted to say we achieved this on your visit.

We will look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager
Best Western Honest Lawyer Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times and find the staff very friendly and welcoming. The food is excellent rooms comfortable with free wifi. I would recommend the hotel for either business and pleasure travellers

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prof_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2011

Dear Prof_9

First of all I would like to thankyou for all your positive comments about the quality of food and quality of service you recieved during your stay. Your kind words will be passed down to all departments.

We will look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager
Best Western Honest Lawyer Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We feel it was time we gave the hotel a review we have used the hotel for the past 5 years. We have used this hotel on numerous occasions the staff are very helpful and i have to give the main receptionist Julie a special mention she is always helpful and cheerful and of course Chris the general manager who has come up through the ranks when our company first started using the hotel he was the bar man, quite an acheivement they all put a lot of effort into making the hotel a good place to stay.When the hotel flooded last year we had to use other hotels in the area and they were quite bad so it was a relief when the hotel reopened.The honest Lawyer make it more bearable when we have to work away we cannot fault it in any way the rooms are very well decorated and with the courtyard rooms we can see our vehicles which is a big bonus when carrying expensive equipment, when we are in the Durham area we would not consider staying any where else, we are very satisfied customers,well done everone

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artgallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2011

Dear artgalla

First of all I would like to thank you for leaving such a positive review regarding your experiences over the years. And as you mentioned you will have seen the noticable changes we have made since re-opening last May. It is always our pleasure when yourself and your work colleagues stay with ourselves making it a home from home when working away. I will pass all your kind words down to all departments, your words are constant reminder that we must always exceed our guests expectations on every visit.

We will look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager
Best Western Honest Lawyer Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We stayed here with a group of friends to celebrate New Year's Eve .
- our room was both very well appointed and comfortable (and we liked access to free WiFi) and it was great to be able to park right next to it so there was no hiking our suitcases about
- the staff were brilliant, warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them (they all clearly enjoyed working at the Honest Lawyer).
- the meals were delicious and a credit to the chef and there was a really friendly atmosphere thoughout.
- it was much closer to the centre of Durham than we thought.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2011

Dear pvallon

I would first of all like to thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with ourselves. I'm delighted you found the food delicious and the service you recieved exceeded your expectations. I will pass on all your comments to each department, your words are a constant reminder that to all of us that we are moving in the right direction. We do hope to see you again in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights from the seventh to the tenth of feb, we were using our tesco vouchers as we have done on numourous occasions, and usually stay at best western hotels. This hotel was very nice as they usually are, thats why we choose best western if we can. I agree with most of the reviews I have read about the hotel, but would just like to add a couple of my own comments. The room we stayed in was lovely, warm, comfortable with everything you could need, unfortunately it was at the front of the hotel and the traffic noise was not very nice! We also thought the breakfast was a little dissapointing, compered to other hotels, the first morning the bacon was over cooked, the second morning it strangely tasted of fish(my husband seems to think it had been prepared near to or after cooking fish) we did tell the waitress, she apologised but that was it, so on the third morning we just had continental! Just wanted to make these comments to enable you to rectify these problems. All in all it was a nice break, we usually like to come up north because we always get a warm welcome, and good value

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamad0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2011

Dear lamad0s

First of all I would like to thankyou for all your positive comments that you have made in your recent review. Im so please you received a very warm welcome and the accomodation exceeded your expectations. Regarding your experience at breakfast this was metioned on my returned by a food & beverage member of staff, which I have fully investigated since and I can reassure you this has issue has been dealt with, as we pride ourselves in exceeding our guests expectations in all areas. Thanks again for you custom, and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager
Best Western Honest Lawyer Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Me and my husband made a last minute booking, the day before as a spur of the moment break. We hadnt been away for 6years and hoped it would be something special. When we arrived the welcome was great, we were very impressed by the hotel as soon as we entered. We went down into the bar for drinks before eating in the restaurant. It was steak night, 2 steaks and a bottle of wine for 25pounds, grat value and delicious. We had starters and deserts also which were grand. The service was amazing and the deco and comfort of the bar, restaurant and rooms was delightful. Breakfast was also delicious. It was a wonderful stay and we will hopefully be returning very soon. Would reccommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahfiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Dear sarahfiler

First of all I would like to thankyou personally for your kind words you have left in your recent review. I'm so pleased you thought the decor, rooms & service exceeded your expectations and were to the highest standard., and you both throughly enjoyed our steak night offerand the starters and desserts were delicious too. I will pass all your comments down to the team, your words are a constant reminder to us all that we are exceeding our guests expectations. Since you had not been away for more than 6 years, I'm thrilled you spent such a memorable evening with ourselves. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Chris Bowron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.8 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
8.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
523 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
436 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#11 of 18 in Durham
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Honest Lawyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Address: Croxdale, Durham DH1 3SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £49 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Honest Lawyer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Honest Lawyer Hotel, a 46 bedroom, 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant is a modern hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a variety of dining options, all ideally located less then 3 miles from Durham City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Honest Lawyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing