We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to stay within walking distance to...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rose Cottage

Rose Cottage faces onto Gilesgate Green
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage faces onto Gilesgate Green
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Rose Cottage faces onto Gilesgate Green
Lounge
Lounge
lounge
kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom
bathroom
over bath shower
hall
small courtyard
terraced cottage grade 11 listed
The view from Rose Cottage
Gilesgate Green
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ThProfess...
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great place to stay within walking distance to Durham city center.”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Rose Cottage, a row house in historic Gilesgate, is a 2-level, one bedroom apartment, well equipped (wifi, TV, clothes washing machine) with off street parking. It is about a 20-30 minute walk to the city center. This is where the action is: shopping, eating, Durham Cathedral & University. Convenient to Rose Cottage is a grocery store and a carry our pizza shop.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review we are please that you like our cottage and found it convenient for Durham City
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An ideal place to stay in Durham”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Rose Cottage is a one bedroom, two level apartment in historic St Giles section of Durham. It is a cozy, fully equipped accommodation including a clothes washing machine, tub-shower bath and kitchen. On site parking is available but can be tight. We had no problem with parking.

The cottage's location is within a 20 minute walk to Durham city center, which is where the action is--the cathedral, castle, university, shopping that includes the historic Victorian Market (an experience in itself) and a plethora of dining opportunities.

Carol met us on our arrival and gave us an orientation to the apartment. When I shared with her that fridge didn't have an ice tray, she provided one the next day. A better host you won't find.

Within a short walking distance of the apartment is a grocery store with a friendly staff, a pizza parlor and a funeral home across the street.

I highly recommend a visit to St Giles church, a half block down the street. It is a rather small 11th century church with an interesting history. I was given a tour by Pat, the church warden. She was friendly, welcoming, and shared interesting details about the church. Ask about the 9 mice the church keeps in its sanctuary. The ancient cemetery is located behind the church.

If we were to return to Durham, this would be our first choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Hi Greg
Thanks for leaving such a comprehensive review it is really helpful for other travellers to have your comments on the cottage and Durham. We are glad you enjoyed our accommodation and hope to see you again
Best wishes
Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mr ian a
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Rose Cottage, Durham Feb 17”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Very convenient location to town centre, easy to find and very accommodating host on arrival timing.
Plenty spacious for 2 persons - moderate sitting room/large bedroom. Comfortable stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dick C
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Convenient, well located cottage for visiting Durham”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Rose Cottage is a small but comfortable terraced cottage about 10 minutes walk from Durham city centre. It is an excellent base for visiting Durham Cathedral and the University. There are good local transport links - we arrived in Durham by train and visited Beamish Museum using local buses. A visit to Newcastle is also easy by train. The cottage has been nicely converted and is comfortable. It is on a very busy road so traffic noise is a minor nuisance early in the morning. It is an old cottage (I guess dating from late 1800s) and the stairs are steep by comparison with modern houses - perhaps less suitable for anyone with impaired mobility.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor R
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, well-maintained house”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Rose Cottage was a lovely place to spend a week. It's very well maintained and had everything we needed. The owner obviously cares about the guests. I'd happily stay here again.
It's an old cottage and so the stairs were steep and occasionally at odd angles. This was fine for us, but if you were unsteady on your feet I'm not sure how comfortable you'd be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage
Best wishes
Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MELVILLE...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice break”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

cosy cottage good location nice welcome by owner fantastic time looking around durham
visiting the most of the atractions

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
Glad you found our cottage cosy and enjoyed your stay
Best wishes
Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon c
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic little cottage”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Rose Cottage was beautiful, charming, cozy, and generally wonderful. We stayed for over three weeks and found it very comfortable. The place is spotless and I have never stayed in a vacation rental that was so well equipped. We cooked most nights and it was very easy - whatever we needed was always there. The bed was very comfortable and we slept marvelously the whole time there.

The location is good - right on several bus lines into town and also a beautiful walk through the woods down to the river and into town. Durham is hilly and the cottage is on a hill so be prepared for some exercise, but if you do not want to walk much there is always the bus.

It is very close to groceries (Sainsbury's), a pub, and a lovely Italian restaurant with a singer performing on Saturday nights - a great family place.

The building is over 100 years old and beautifully maintained - but it can be a challenge for someone tall - particularly the bathroom. The stairs to the second floor are also steep and so it would not be suitable for someone with limited mobility. With those caveats, I would definitely recommend it. Carol was a wonderful host - it was easy to make arrangements to meet and she was easy to reach if needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: The stairs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Thank you for the review, pleasure to have you stay, hope to see you again if you return to Durham
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing