We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing food experience.”
Review of Restaurant 17

Restaurant 17
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant 17 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 317 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Restaurant 17 Has a Reputation for fresh cuisine. With world wide infulences all Home Made by a Talented Team of Chefs. Set within a Historic Grade II Listed Building on Elvet Bridge. The boutique inspired interior is stylish and contemporary, with lanterns and beautiful chandeliers hanging from the ceiling, candle lit tables welcome you and a historic brick fireplace is a main focus point within the restaurant. If in Durham Visit Durhams First World Fusion Restaurant
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Friends of ours frequently visit Chapters -Saturday lunch time drinks resulted in dinner being taken in restaurant 17 - amazing food, knowledgable and attentive staff with personality and flare. Food lived upto our expectations and was great value and stunningly presented. No one in our party was disapointed.,The history and decor added to out great intimate experience - we are going to visit the ice cream parlour next time we are in Durham - pop in and see for yourself - you will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner1617, Owner at Restaurant 17, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hello Peter L,

what a title “An amazing food experience.” thank you for your review of Restaurant 17
Great to see you had an enjoyable experience whilst dining with us,and that yourself and your party had a great time,thank you for your lovely comments towards our team
Hope you can come back soon Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 201 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Visited this restaurant at the weekend booked after reading reviews,the restaurant is lovely inside and the food was excellent,We had bang bang chicken to start then salmon and my partner had duck both delicious,we will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jay_1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner1617, Owner at Restaurant 17, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hello Jay_1268

Thank you for choosing us for such a special occasion,delicious choices of food our Bang Bang Chicken is very popular along with our Blueberry Duck and Salmon,pleased you enjoyed your food and we provided a great night of dining for you,
Please do come and visit us again soon Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I found this restaurant very nice indeed, heard about it from the hype on trip advisor, and it didn't disappoint ! We had bang bang chicken and prawns to start. Then for main the duck and halibut, these were very well presented and tasted just as good. The chefs
Really did a fantastic job. Overall great, I will be returning

1  Thank George11195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner1617, Owner at Restaurant 17, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hello George11195

Thank you for leaving a review of Restaurant 17 from your recent visit, pleased you enjoyed your food and the presentation Thank you for the praise to our chefs who do a excellent job,we will certainly pass this on to them.
we hope will see you soon Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Most disappointed after the hype given by Chapters coffee shop. The room was too small so we couldn't hear ourselves talk because the other customers were so loud. Main couse was good but desert very poor. Also there were 4 of us and when the bill we were given 2 tiny boiled sweets. We had friends with us from Banbury so wanted to impress them. Unfortunately we didn't.

Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner1617, Owner at Restaurant 17, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hello Barbara

Thank you for your review and sharing you experience with us,we understand that our Restaurant may not be for everyone,we are pleased you enjoyed your meal,we do hope you will try us again in the future
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

There are not than many great places to eat in Durham but Restaurant 17 certainly bucks this trend. My wife and I ate there on a Tuesday evening and chose from the quite extensive 'Early Diner' menu. Our starters (my wife had Thai fishcakes and I had mussels) were both very well cooked, great flavours and most importantly, served hot! Our mains were equally impressive (smoked haddock risotto and char grilled mackerel). The chef here clearly knows how to cook and also gets the basics right serving hot food on hot plates (I find it depressing how often kitchens get this basic detail so wrong).

The service was excellent and the two waitresses were bright and engaging. The decor and atmosphere in Restaurant 17 is quite quirky with lots of interesting but random quotes hanging on the walls and lots of photos mainly of Marilyn Monroe and Audrey Hepburn. The overall feeling is of a cosy and romantic place to eat.

All in all this was a very positive experience and I would definitely return next time I'm in Durham.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Cossie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant 17 also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing