We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Me and my family stayed at this Premier Inn during the half term holiday in June. We stayed for one night after a day out at Beamish. On arrival the lady at reception was very pleasant and efficiently got us checked in. She also allowed us to book a place at the restaurant for our evening meal. Our room was located a fair walk away from the reception, but this wasn't an issue for us. The room was very clean and we were delighted to find we had a bath, we did not expect this because of the reasonable pricing for the room. The only complaint I have about the room was that my bed was a mattress on the floor with one pillow and a thin duvet. In the morning when I woke my neck did ache and this meant our day out in Durham wasn't very pleasant for me.
The meal at Table Table was very nice and my family of four all enjoyed the food. The restaurant was very cosy and you felt relaxed while in it, after our meal we stayed and had a drink in the sofa area. My brother particularly liked the game machine situated by the sofas! We went to the restaurant in the morning for our breakfast and we couldn't complain at all. There was a variety of food. We helped ourselves to the Continental and then a very cheerful Waiter got us our full English. The staff at the restaurant all were very friendly and helpful.
Overall it was a very pleasurable stay, much better than expected, and I look forward to staying in a Premier Inn in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaKayBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

This is a well-run premier inn. I was met with a smile at reception and went straight to my room: clean and functional. The bed was comfortable, with a choice of pillows. The backlit curtains helped me get a good night's sleep. This family room had a large sofa, desk, HD TV, tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryer and Internet / WiFi connections.

The WiFi came with a free 1/2 hour. It seems ungenerous to charge. Particularly as it's entirely free in the on-site pub/restaurant. (Tip: go there for the WiFi!)

The bathroom was clean. Complementary hand wash and body/hair wash was available from pump dispensers. The flow rate on my shower was disappointing.

I had the Premier Breakfast, which is an "all you can eat deal". The cold buffet items were very good. The cooked items were generally OK, but let down by the use of cheap sausage. I did enjoy the eggs & bacon.

Parking was ample and check-out smooth.

All in all, I had a good night's sleep and ample breakfast in this bright, clean and attractive budget offering. The staff were efficient and friendly. An ideal stopover.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apgaylard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Like so many of the Premier Inn locations I have used, this follows the tried and tested formula. We were allocated room 50, a first floor room which looked out eastwards towards a local football ground, and was lovely and quiet. The room was huge with a king sized bed - might be more of a tight squeeze, though not uncomfortably so, if the sofa bed and roll-out were in use to make it a family room for 4. The usual small niggles: heating but no air-con, though there's a fan (not needed on our stay); I wish Premier Inn would go back to using small bars of soap instead of liquid versions; and at this location the replacement of the TVs with flat screen versions meant no visible alarm clock in the room. There's tea and coffee making facilities in the room but only enough sachets for two teas and two coffees - although I've never had any problems with receptionists giving out extra on request. In fact I'd fully agree with other comments about the quality of the reception staff here; they really seemed to care, even though illness and vacancies at the time of our visit meant some were working very long shifts.
Booked ahead at £29 per night this was amazing value. The £22 meal deal was also good value, covering three courses for dinner plus a drink and all you can eat breakfast including full cooked English. Here again some minor niggles - very busy on a Saturday night so slow service, and on the Sunday morning the cooked breakfast order was taken incorrectly. Also I was delighted to see Premier Inn has put hash browns into the standard breakfast menu, but the ones we were served had suffered from being kept warm long after they had been cooked. We didn't ask for them on the second day. Poached eggs were perfect, though.
One final point, don't trust the trip advisor / Bing mapping if it still shows the location as being off Bradford Crescent, south-west of Scully Park. The real location is the other side of Scully Park - if you scroll the interactive map north east you'll get to Broomside Lane and then beyond that to the Belmont Industrial estate. Premier Inn's own website has a better directions map.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hailes family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We used this hotel as a base to see a gig at the Stadium of Light. The receptionist advised us that most people booked taxis to get to the stadium but, at £35 one way, we decided to chance our luck and drive! It is about a 20 minute drive. There are a lot of city centre car parks and we chose Sunnyside. It was a short walk to the stadium and the gig was on a Sunday when the maximum charge for parking was £1!!!! Saved at least £69!!!!! I suppose it all depends if you can get a space but we had no problems at all.
The hotel itself was staffed by friendly and polite people - even the cleaners were remarkably polite and happy which is nice to see. The room was clean and comfortable and to the usual high standard of the premier inns.
The breakfast next door, however, was disappointing as my porridge wasn't very nice at all and the toaster (which was one of the ones you put the bread in and it goes round and shoots out the bottom) burnt everything! My husband's cooked breakfast took quite a while and was missing hash browns and a veggie sausage. There weren't particularly busy so not sure why they forgot. Would recommend the premier inn but not so sure about the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I stayed at the Premier Inn Durham East in early June for 1 night.
I was made very welcome by the receptionist who answered all my questions as well as having a good general chat.
My room was up to the usual high standard of cleanliness and comfort.
The resteraunt meal was of good quality, things were a little more noisy than usual as there was a 90th birthday party at the same time. That was not a problem.
I enjoyed a good breakfast in the morning.

All in all a good experience and I will always recommend Premier Inns to people.

Room Tip: I think my room was on the North side and was away from the road into the industrial park. Therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just got back from my stay in Durham,it was up to the usual high standards set by Premier Inn.The hotel was easy to find, a two minute drive off the A1,tucked away on a small quiet industrial estate.A five minute drive takes you into the centre of Durham,with plenty of parking this is an ideal base for visiting the city.The rooms where clean,warm and spacious,we where greeted with smiles and given our room keys with an explanation of the hotels facilities.I really enjoyed this stay and would not hesitate to recommend Premier Inn East Durham.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 467robbo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

staff very welcoming. room were clean and tidy. lovely comfy bed. bathroom spot on. lovely shower nice hot shower with complementary towels.

id of loved a small fridge in my room to keep my beers chilled but cant have everything. overall great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinbong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
558 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.4 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
471 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham East Hotel

Address: New Ferens Park Broomside Park | Belmont Industrial Estate, Durham DH1 1GG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#6 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £43 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the leafy outskirts of the historic county town of Durham, ideal for local business ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing