We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice & quiet”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Everything was good, helpful at reception, however there are major roadworks and the directions given by premier inn did not take this into account. There is ample parking available and a restaurant next door.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_m_mason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    188
    49
    7
    1
See reviews for
167
199
32
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

As usual my first port of call when working away is to see if there is a Premier Inn close to the venue I will be working from . Hooray a short drive from Seaham Co Durham , was the Durham East Premier Inn . As always on arrival the staff were obliging and helpful . The staff throughout the stay were faultless and a credit to the company .
The room was a typical Premier Inn room . , very clean and a big cosy bed with fresh white linen .
The bathroom , although clean was looking very tired . A huge chip in the bath , tiles that had been patched . One of the handles on the bath had worn bubbling tired chrome . The towels were white ,soft , fresh and clean . Just a pity about the bathroom , it needs a refurb , sooner rather than later .
The Continental breakfast was extra good , a great variety , from fruit and yogurts , to every kind of cereal . Toast , croissant , crumpets , just simply spoiled for choice .
After my days work , I arrived back , had a meal in a close by restaurant , then returned to the Premier Inn to get a much needed sleep . Disaster , woken at 1-14 am ( according to my phone clock ) by heavy stomping from the room above. I waited for it to stop it just went on , as if someone was pacing the room in pit boots . Gradually I was drifting off again when there came the loudest bang . What it was I shall never know . Then for a good length of time afterwards there was talking . A great deal more sound proofing is needed , this is going to cost the Premier Inn dear , if they do not add extra cushioning to the floor, in the room above Room 8 .
Never have I had really bad nights sleep before at a Premier Inn . They do have a policy of , If you have a disturbed night for any reason at all they will give the customer a refund for that night . True to their word , I reported the incidents to the receptionist and my 2nd nights stay was fully refunded . I felt groggy and tired , but a lot better due to the refund , and wonderful staff . So thank you Premier Inn , I shall be staying with you again in a couple of weeks , this time in Bradford .

Room Tip: Do not accept room 8 . You may get disturbed from the noise from the room above .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I decided to break our 500+ mile journey home by staying half-way at this Premier Inn. Apart from the difficulty in getting to its location due to extensive roadworks, which caused us almost an hour's delay, which of course is not the fault of Premier, when we did arrive we were as ever welcomed by happy reception staff. The room we had on the 1st floor was again as is usually found in the chain, a very spacious and well kept room, spotlessly clean, which provided a welcome retreat after a journey which had taken us 8+ hours (2 more than expected). We had booked our dinner prior to arrival at the 'Table Table' pub restaurant 'Broomside Park' which shares the site, and we found it to be a very pleasant experience once again. As with the staff in the hotel, the 'pub' staff were all very efficient and pleasant which helps enormously in the enjoyment of the visit.

Room Tip: Cannot spek for all rooms but we had one on the 1st floor and had an undisturbed night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have stayed at many Premier Inns and this is certainly one of the best. A quiet location with good car parking facilities away from the City Centre. It is excellent in every way - the size and cleanliness of the accommodation and the extremely friendly and attentive staff. The adjoining Table Table restaurant again is one of the best with great staff and food to a very high standard. We had a wonderful 2 day stay and shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Ticks all the boxes for a hotel of this type. You don’t get incredible views and this is away from the city centre (car or taxi required) but very good in almost every other respect. VERY clean rooms. Comfortable. Good Car-parking. Great staff, etc., etc.
Noticeably better managed than the last Premier Inn we stayed at. I would definitely stay here again. The only problem in the whole stay was slightly grubby cutlery (may have been a one-off) – otherwise very good.

Room Tip: Book early on line for best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleJohnSherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Apart from roadworks to get to the hotel the staff and rooms were great. Stayed for one night and actually hadn't booked the restaurant, but decided as it was next door and looked pleasant we would give it a go. We had the largest rooms, and with all the kids it was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumothree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull,UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Great value budget hotel.Stayed for Durham Uni Open Day so quite busy but handled efficiently by staff. Clean ,comfortable and plenty of hot water. Meals taken next door were very good with friendly staff. Recent road works are causing a diversion so prepare for detour! Durham park and ride very close by. Would definitely stay here on my next visit to Durham.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.2 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
0.4 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham East Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
Address: New Ferens Park Broomside Park | Belmont Industrial Estate, Durham DH1 1GG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Durham
#6 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the leafy outskirts of the historic county town of Durham, ideal for local business ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing