We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We've stayed in many a premier inn so was expecting what we always get….great room at a great price! Premier Inn Durham East did not disappoint. We had a call 24 hours before (which we have never had before?) just to confirm our arrival and to make us aware of the roadworks in the area (be aware if your planning on arriving around rush hour!) Check in was swift and the receptionist was polite and friendly. Room was as you'd expect from Premier Inn, clean and fresh and ample space. The reason i haven't given 5 stars is in every other Premier Inn we've stayed in we have always had a king sized bed but not in this one. Not a massive problem but just not what were used to. We ate in the adjoining Table Table for breakfast and our evening meals on both days and had great food and service-again the staff were great and went out of there way to ensure we had everything we needed (we were travelling with 2 toddlers!). Overall a great stay and were already planning our next short break with premier inn.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Easy to find from Newcastle airport. Really close to Durham City centre. The restaurant next door was lovely and reasonably priced. The room was absolutely spotless and smelt so clean. The bed was really comfortable, the staff were really pleasant and helpful after asking places to go. Definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadetattoo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

As with most if not all Premier Inn's, Durham East do exactly what there brand promises with very help & friendly staff.

I even received a phone call the day before checking we were still arriving because there is road works which effect access and advising me on how to get there avoiding driving into Durham, very very helpful indeed and greatly appreciated.
Large room with compulsory big comfortable bed, decent size bathroom had big bath.
Noticed how the volume on TV can't be turned up above a certain volume which is a good thing to have on the TV's for fellow guests because this is a very quiet peaceful Premier Inn.

Hotel is handily located for access to Durham centre & main roads offers plenty of parking and a good restaurant next door. The Broomside has a good bar area good range of drinks & reasonably priced drinks it also offers a separate menu if you don't want to go into the restaurant for the full menu.

Will definitely use East Durham again if staying in Durham.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlythSpirit66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Directions didn't take into account long term roadworks. Close to Motorway. Need to drive for Durham central. Staff polite and helpful. Rooms clean. Breakfast - next door was good value. Would stay again..........

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augusta-louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

It's ok. Conveniently placed for the motorway and room was clean and hotel was quiet. Slightly disappointed with the shower. Overall, it was good enough but nothing special and not particularly cheap. I don't know why it is so highly placed on tripadviser.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJV74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Everything was good, helpful at reception, however there are major roadworks and the directions given by premier inn did not take this into account. There is ample parking available and a restaurant next door.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank paul_m_mason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

As usual my first port of call when working away is to see if there is a Premier Inn close to the venue I will be working from . Hooray a short drive from Seaham Co Durham , was the Durham East Premier Inn . As always on arrival the staff were obliging and helpful . The staff throughout the stay were faultless and a credit to the company .
The room was a typical Premier Inn room . , very clean and a big cosy bed with fresh white linen .
The bathroom , although clean was looking very tired . A huge chip in the bath , tiles that had been patched . One of the handles on the bath had worn bubbling tired chrome . The towels were white ,soft , fresh and clean . Just a pity about the bathroom , it needs a refurb , sooner rather than later .
The Continental breakfast was extra good , a great variety , from fruit and yogurts , to every kind of cereal . Toast , croissant , crumpets , just simply spoiled for choice .
After my days work , I arrived back , had a meal in a close by restaurant , then returned to the Premier Inn to get a much needed sleep . Disaster , woken at 1-14 am ( according to my phone clock ) by heavy stomping from the room above. I waited for it to stop it just went on , as if someone was pacing the room in pit boots . Gradually I was drifting off again when there came the loudest bang . What it was I shall never know . Then for a good length of time afterwards there was talking . A great deal more sound proofing is needed , this is going to cost the Premier Inn dear , if they do not add extra cushioning to the floor, in the room above Room 8 .
Never have I had really bad nights sleep before at a Premier Inn . They do have a policy of , If you have a disturbed night for any reason at all they will give the customer a refund for that night . True to their word , I reported the incidents to the receptionist and my 2nd nights stay was fully refunded . I felt groggy and tired , but a lot better due to the refund , and wonderful staff . So thank you Premier Inn , I shall be staying with you again in a couple of weeks , this time in Bradford .

Room Tip: Do not accept room 8 . You may get disturbed from the noise from the room above .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
570 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.4 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
478 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham East Hotel

Address: New Ferens Park Broomside Park | Belmont Industrial Estate, Durham DH1 1GG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £47 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the leafy outskirts of the historic county town of Durham, ideal for local business ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing