We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$553
US$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$228
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lumley Castle Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham City Centre(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Travelodge Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$57
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
599 results
Traveller rating
324
210
55
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
210
55
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstable tablean industrial estaterestaurant next doorbusiness parkthe pubcity centremeal dealquiet locationbudget hotelexcellent staypark and rideplenty of parkingevening mealstayed nightspleasant stayshort breakwe've stayed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
580 - 585 of 599 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This hotel restored my faith in customer service. Everywhere I turned someone was trying to help me... I needed a teaspoon at breakfast zip it was there. In a rush for a coffee....zip here's a new pot. Amazing! The food was excellent and good value, room clean and exceptionally quiet so no complaints there. Nice atmosphere at dinner - low lighting and cosy corners. As a lone diner I felt completely comfortable and had a nice relax. Premier Inn Durham East you should be a flagship for your company. Whatever the manager is doing he / she is doing it just right.
Oh and the kids menu is great (I was having a nosey) and they seem to have struck the balance right. Not all junk food and decent options for kids. i.e. stuff they will actually eat :-)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jigsywigsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Booked this hotel for one night of a two night stay, visiting family nearby. We've stayed in Premier Inns before so pretty much knew what to expect.

Location-wise, not the best - on an industrial estate (although this is made clear on Premier Inn's website) and right next to a giant indoor football arena. Also walking into Durham isn't really an option as it's a good mile or so away - but there IS a bar serving food literally next door. However if you do your homework before booking your room, you'd be aware that it's not that close to the city centre (we knew anyway as we grew up not far away). The only thing that surprised us was the significant amount of traffic noise in a small industrial estate, on a Saturday morning.

If you've stayed in a Premier Inn before then you'll get exactly the same here as you have at their other locations - superb, polite and helpful staff, spacious room, a few more frills than Travelodges and a lovely comfy bed. And this time the pillows were like marshmallows, your head just sank into them....soooo comfy!

Unlike Travelodges you get a hairdryer supplied and toiletries in the bathroom - so although we paid more than for a Travelodge, it's nice to have one or two "extras".

Staff were a complete credit to the brand - young lady receptionist was as helpful as could be and calm under the pressure of a busy reception with several people waiting to check in, really couldn't have been more helpful. Even the cleaning staff we passed on our way to check out all smiled, said hello and held doors open for us as we took our luggage downstairs.

The only single 'fly in the ointment' was that on arriving, before we'd even fully opened the bedroom door (room 46), we were hit by a strong smell of damp which seemed to come from the bathroom. We kept the bathroom door shut, kept the room window open and put the fan on in the room, and this helped keep the smell at bay - apart from if you were actually IN the bathroom!

If you're after value for money though, this is a satisfactory place to lay your head for the night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldbrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

we stayed two nights for the Durham Miners gala Everyone at the hotel was very helpful and friendly. you can catch a bus into Durham quite easily but its just as cheap to get a taxi and the reception staff are more than happy to do this for you. Dissapointed that you had to pay for the internet and we could not ring room to room on the phone provided. We would definately stay here again. The breakfast was excellent, served hot when you were ready for it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshiremiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Durham East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2010

It is great that your enjoyed your stay with us and your found our hotel and great location to your liking. Our team are committed to ensuring all our guests receive the best possible service and your feedback will be very much appreciated. Thanks for your review we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

This really is a very good Premier Inn. From checking in, to service in Table Table at both Dinner and Breakfast to checking out the service was well above average. All staff were helpful and friendly. I got the room on a £29 deal, paid £20 for Dinner and Breakfast. At these prices and service I will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnthebattery46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Durham East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2010

We delighted that your stay with us met your expectations and you experienced the high level of service we endeavour to give our guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, your feedback is so important to us in our continued efforts to delivery the best service. We do look forward to welcoming your back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

As North Americans, we reluctantly picked this unknown hotel chain and location on an otherwise B&B tour of northern England and Scotland as we couldn't find a suitable B&B in the area. We we pleasantly surprised by the rooms for the price and very impressed by the helpfulness of the staff. This is a comfortable budget hotel with outstanding attentiveness to guests and a very good breakfast the next morning. Having now stayed at a Premier Inn I would gladly stay at this chain again and recommend it to others.
This location is out in an industrial park, but as we had a car and didn't want to navigate an unknown old city, that was fine with us - good parking, just no atmosphere around to go for a walk. Hotel has its own restaurant for breakfast next door.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spruce_grouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Durham East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2009

Thank you so much for you review. It is great to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and that our hotel, service, helpful team members and breakfast facilities met your expectations. We are in a great location Once again thank you for your review we look forward to you staying with us at Premier Inn again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews