We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor WiFi and Shower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor WiFi and Shower”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

In most respects this was a typical Premier Inn and usually that is a good point. However, it too suffered from what I find is a recurring theme at Premier Inns - very poor WiFi. The signal was weak and the connection speed so low that it took me twice as long as necessary to get some work done. Added to that the shower was extremely poor with barely more than a dribble of water. I am nearly bald and it must have taken me several minutes just to wash the shampoo out of my hair! My daughter stayed there the same night as me and said that her shower was very poor too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    239
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
278
310
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

For good or for bad, generally when you have stayed in one Premier Inn you have stayed in all of them. You know what to expect from the room and the services available. This one is no different. The room was clean, spare blankets and pillows were right there, staff were friendly and knowledgable about the surrounding area and the food served in the adjoining pub was reasonably priced. We got this room at the 19 pound rate and that coupled with the kids eat free with every adult breakfast purchased make this a fantastic deal for anyone. Because of this rate the hotel was full on both nights we stayed here yet there was no excessive noise in the hotel. Rooms were fairly well soundproofed and there was plenty of parking available. The only negative things I can think of is that the rooms dont have house phones so if you dont have a mobile phone you do not have the ability to make or receive calls and the wifi signal was weak the further from reception you are.

In this economy, if you are looking to stay in a hotel why stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: If you need wifi get a room closer to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my family on a trip to Beamish museum and the surrounding area. The rooms here are pretty standard Premier Inn rooms with everything you need to make your stay comfortable and the most important thing is that they were spotlessly clean. The hotel itself is a little hard to find if you follow the sat nav instructions, but once found the first time it was fine. We ate at the nearby Dunelm Ridge, which is a Brewers Fayre located on site. The food here was of a very high standard with plenty of selection. But I think what really makes this hotel stand out above all other Premier Inns I have stayed in were the very friendly and helpful staff. From reception and house keeping,to all the restaurant staff, nothing was too much trouble and they all seemed so happy and proud of their work. Premier Inn should use this establishment as their flagship for excellent customer service. It was an absolute pleasure to stay here and having used the Harrogate Hornbeam Park Premier Inn in the past when in this part of the country, I will have no hesitation from now on, to carry on up the A1 a little further in the future and stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We're usually great Premier Inn advocates but this stay left something to be desired. We did appreciate our 'welcome call' ahead of time and the satnav instructions but they didn't take us all the way there! There were towels for only one of us when we arrived, the kettle didn't turn itself off, the heating in the room fluctuated and the television sound was frustratingly kept so low that we had to sit on the bottom of the bed to hear it! Understand perfectly that nobody wants TV sound blaring but since we couldn't hear it while sitting in bed it was unlikely that anyone would have heard it in the next room!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lellacoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Our stay at this Premier Inn started before we had arrived with a friendly phone call from their receptionist asking what time we were likely to arrive and offering to book us a table for our evening meal. She was very friendly and helpful. Check in was smooth and efficient, the room was very clean and presentable. We stayed for two nights over a weekend and although sometimes you can be disturbed by other guests coming and going, this was not the case here. There was also very little outside noise and we all had a pleasant nights sleep. All round great stay - no complaints at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DottieOnWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The staff at this hotel were as expected of Premier Inn, helpful and polite and very professional. Check in was nice and easy and the rooms very comfortable. Nice and close to the Park and Ride for a hassle free day out in Durham. I also had an issue with my sat-nav but had not had time to read the email sent to me on the day by Premier Inn warning me of the issues.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ipd1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Very friendly reception, excellent room and good restaurant. Very close to Park & Ride for a carefree visit to Durham. The bus drivers are exceptionally cheerful and helpful too. Only problem for us was finding the hotel as it shares a postcode with a retail park on another road so Sat Nav took us to Sainsburys. Even then a Sainsbury's employee could not have been more helpful in redirecting us.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deejay1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
505 reviews
2.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,081 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
429 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Address: Rotary Way Arnison Retail Centre | Pity Me, Durham DH1 5GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just to the north of bustling Durham, a short drive from the Beamish Museum and Pity Me ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing