We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Premier Inn comes up trumps” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Durham North Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Premier Inn comes up trumps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Surprised at the efficiency and personal touches not normally shown by national budget hotel chains.
Very reasonable charge for an overnight stay. Friendly Geordie service even rang my mobile whilst I was travelling to enquire my time of arrival and give me directions. Arranged a room to be available before normal booking on time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    204
    50
    13
    5
See reviews for
247
279
20
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed at this Premier Inn on Thursday 10th January for a family celebration, and so booked 2 rooms here.
The staff that we met were all extremely helpful and friendly, the Inn itself was the cleanest Premier Inn that we have so far ever stayed in.
The room itself was spotless. Got to say that this was one of the most comfortable night's sleep that we've had in a long while.
From our room (which was ground floor) you could not hear any road traffic or any other noises from within the Premier Inn.
We also booked breakfast as an optional extra, and went for the £8.25 eat as much as you like full buffert... you just couldn't go wrong on this. There was plenty of food choices, and as we had 2 of our guests who were on a gluten free diet, there was plenty of choice with the eggs, mushrooms, bacon, tomatoes etc as well as the mixed fruits. All in all, an excellent stay, with good quality at a really good , fair price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Even if cost was not your first concern, this hotel is excellent well staffed, clean and comfortable a great place to stay if you have been on the road all day well done! The only small problem was finding the hotel in the darkour sat nav stopped around the corner about 400m away.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Hotel was great as is usually the case with any Premier Inn I have stayed in. Room was clean and well kept. Bathroom was spotless. The adjoining pub was good too. Food was great and service was very friendly. Receptionist was very friendly and check in was very efficient. I would definitely return when in the area on business.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Nice location and a great restaurant next door. The best real ale I've had in a while! It was pie night when I arrived. A nice touch! The restaurant does get full of families with your children but it's OK. The hotel is quiet and comfy. My Satnav took me to the retail [ark but then I saw the hotel on the display. Good value hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Istate75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed at Premier Inn Pity Me for the weekend whilst visiting friends nearby. The hotel is close to a retail park, make sure you follow the instructions given by the hotel to find it as SatNav will take you to the shopping area. The Hotel has free parking facilites, a manned 24 hr reception with vending machine selling chocolate and crisps and an information unit. We were welcomed by a friendly young man who efficently checked up in and explained where we find our room. We arrived at 00.30 at night so all was quiet. Our room was located on the upper floor with views to the rear of the hotel. The room was clean and welcoming, with tea and coffee making facilities, no hot chocolate though. There was a TV in the room with a variety of freeview channels and a hairdryer which was good. There were no ironing facilities in the room. The room was heated by a storage heater controlled independently in the room. The bed was large and quite high, gave a new meaning to climbing into bed. My husband didn't notice it until I mentioned it but he is 6ft and I am just under 5ft so I guess that's why. The bathroom was exceptionally clean, I particularly liked the way the shower curtain rail was curved so it didn't stick to you when you had a shower. The water was hot and there was gel and shampoo available on the wall units. The staff we encountered were all very nice and friendly, happy to answer any questions and did not hassle you on the day of departure like some hotels do. All in all an enjoyable stay, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a disabled room if you need a lower bed. The pub across the road is expensive for Breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

In most respects this was a typical Premier Inn and usually that is a good point. However, it too suffered from what I find is a recurring theme at Premier Inns - very poor WiFi. The signal was weak and the connection speed so low that it took me twice as long as necessary to get some work done. Added to that the shower was extremely poor with barely more than a dribble of water. I am nearly bald and it must have taken me several minutes just to wash the shampoo out of my hair! My daughter stayed there the same night as me and said that her shower was very poor too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
2.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Address: Rotary Way Arnison Retail Centre | Pity Me, Durham DH1 5GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just to the north of bustling Durham, a short drive from the Beamish Museum and Pity Me ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Durham North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing