We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Our friend's recommended this hotel to us and we weren't disappointed. I had text messages with map/directions & a courtesy call from the hotel before we had left home. Then on check in Kelly was very helpful, little extras such as colouring sheets & pens for the children and offering to book us a table in the restaurant, not forgetting the directions/discount tickets for Beamish. We stayed as a family of 5 so had two ground floor rooms, both very clean & adequate for our stay. If we thought the hotel was good, the next morning's breakfast was fantastic! Very friendly staff (especially Isabella!), and a good choice of food. The cooked breakfast was delicious. We also ate there on 2 nights, good value 'pub grub'. The younger children enjoyed the play area, which at £2 each for unlimited play was affordable. We visited Beamish museum, Durham city & cathedral and the nearby shopping centre. All well worth a trip!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teri401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed at this premier inn for the first time with our 5 year old son in a family room just for a treat for him and had a lovely experience.
the room was immaculate and smelt lovely, everything seemed very new
Plenty of parking in the carpark.
the staff were very friendly and helpful, we arrived early and were able to check straight in.
We had dinner at the adjoining pub which was fine, not the best food we have ever had but okay for the price. there is a large play area for the kids so the little one was occupied while we watched him.
We opted for the premier breakfast which was really nice and set us up for the day.
I would definately recommend this hotel for a trip into Durham, there is a park and ride just down the road where you can park for £2.00, we just drove into Durham, 4 hrs parking for £2.60, not bad.
A lovely short break away, we will definately stay in a premier inn again if they are all like this one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Arrived at the hotel and was greeted by a very friendly young lady. We were offered a booking for a table, next door.
When we found our room it was lovely, well kept, clean, warm and the bed was so comfy.
After getting sorted, we took the very short walk to the retaul park along the road before returning to get ready for tea.
We went next door for our tea and the food was beautiful. Not to mention free refills.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Unable to fault anything on this hotel, real friendly staff & very helpful. Wonderful food available in the pub adjacant to the hotel. There is a short ride into the city centre for all the local attractions & superb nightlife

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This was our first time staying at a Premier Inn;and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay.The staff were very friendly and helpful.Our room was fresh and nipping clean,with a very comfy bed.A Great Big pat on the back to you all,and see you all again very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arlene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My opinion is that Premier Inns are the best of the budget hotel chains in just about every area - this one is possibly the best Premier Inn I have visited. So what makes this one special:-

You get the usual great accommodation with very comfy bed, good sound insulation in the room, great bathroom facilities etc., and then the usual basic but perfectly adequate dining facilities nearby, easy parking…and so on. These facilities are virtually universal at all Premier Inns

What makes this one stand out is the friendliness and attentiveness of all the staff to every customer’s needs. Or just sheer friendliness when you are simply passing any of them. This seemed to be made up the natural friendly nature of the people in this area of the UK along with the usual Premier Inn customer relations training. Often when people try to be friendly in any retail situation, it comes across as a little false, however the staff here genuinely appear to enjoy being nice as well as enjoying their work

The only criticism I can come up with is that the directions to the hotel offered by their web page provide a postcode that your SatNav will take you to a road somewhere at the back of the hotel, so the website would be best updated to emphasise the need to use the road details in preference to postcode details in your device

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashirePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I saw this place on trip advisor and was so impressed with the reviews I booked. What stands out is how it seems to matter to the satff that yiou have a good stay. OK so its a chain and not bags of charachter but its clean and cared for. It is what ot is and great access to the north east. Thanks all!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davescunningplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
545 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
448 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
3.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham North Hotel

Address: Rotary Way Arnison Retail Centre | Pity Me, Durham DH1 5GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £44 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just to the north of bustling Durham, a short drive from the Beamish Museum and Pity Me ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing