We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Premier Inn - Maintains the standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Typical Premier Inn - Maintains the standard”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Typical Premier Inn with Adjacent Brewers Fayre restaurant. Located to the north of Durham at 'Pity Me'. Post code takes you to adjacent Arnison shopping center so take care when setting sat nav. There is a large free car park. Access to Durham is easy - walking is about 2.5 miles - a park and ride is about 1 mile away and fare is £2 for 'all day' on P + R bus and 'cathedral' bus. Local bus goes from Pity Me about every 10 minutes and the stop is about 5 mins walk from the hotel. We used the hotel as a base for exploring Durham and visiting the open air museum at Beamish (both recommended). The hotel does not have air con, however fans were provided. Staff friendly and helpful and rooms to usual high standard. If you want to go upmarket for food there is a Vintage Inn restaurant (The Church Mouse) about a mile to the north. We had four enjoyable nights at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhmbarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    239
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
278
310
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

It took us a bit to find it but was worth the drive. Staff were excellent , rooms clean and were a decent size. The restaurant that is next door for the breakfast was good. Also easy to get back onto the freeway. So overall highly recommend

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights, while visiting area. We found the hotel without a problem after receiving the confirmation e mails from the hotel. The hotel has a large free car park. The Hotel
is a typical Premier budget hotel,clean, large rooms, with a very warm welcome from the friendly
staff. Situated off a main road, we found it very quiet as our room was on the ground floor at the rear, the only noise was from the room above, of people walking across our ceiling. To the rear
of the hotel is a large retail park, which we found handy to buy a few odds & ends, incl Sainsbury.
Breakfast was at the adjoining Brewers Fayre and was first class, cooked to order. We also had
dinner here for two nights, average pub type grub, but no complaints.
We were very satisfied with this hotel, a very comfortable stay, would recommend and return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saintsboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I've stayed many times at the Premier Inn Durham North and always had a relaxing stay. The welcome is always good, the rooms comfortable/clean/tidy and best of all I've never failed to have a decent night's sleep. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I'm working around Newcastle/Durham. Excellent hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kensview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Never tried a Premier Inn before. However, children bought 3 days stay as a surprise. Have stayed at Travel Lodge on many occasions and this hotel knocks spots off them.

Best budget hotel I have ever stayed in. Room was airy, bathroom large and clean. Bed and pillows were really comfortable-even better than my own! Need to find out whom their suppliers are!

Surprisingly very quite even though we were next to a dual carriageway. Slept right through without any disturbance throughout our stay.

Parking facilities were free and excellent. Always had parking space when ever we arrived back from trips out.

Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at the top rooms to avoid people walking on your ceiling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had 4 rooms booked here for a weekend stay to attend a family event in the area. I rang ahead to check there was a ground floor room available and was assured our family rooms were on the ground floor which was excellent. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. They were having a charity event selling hot chocolate & cakes that could be delivered to your room. We ate at the Brewers Fayre next door & had a breakfast there one morning too which was good although everyone had decided to descend at the same time the staff worked very hard to make sure everything was well stocked. We did have to wait a while but there were 10 of us so we didn't mind. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahk8k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

About a 10-min drive from the centre of Durham, it's considerably cheaper than the closer alternatives.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, lending us a travel iron and board without charge.

The rooms were spacious and clean and we had a peaceful nights' rest. What more can you ask for £60?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owlfan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
505 reviews
2.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,081 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
429 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Address: Rotary Way Arnison Retail Centre | Pity Me, Durham DH1 5GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just to the north of bustling Durham, a short drive from the Beamish Museum and Pity Me ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing