We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for Metrocentre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Excellent room together with excellent service. Made to feel very welcome with minimum of fuss made around the check in/out proceedure. Unlimited breakfast led only to indigestion (my fault). Be aware that sat nav using postcode takes you to Sainsburys car park next door...The hotel is located over fence, but trees obscure view of Hotel. Staff seem eager to make sure you have a good staythat


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daytripman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked two rooms, one of which utterly reeked of cigarette smoke. We checked in at around 4 pm and as check out is 10 am I do not understand why this wasn't brought to the attention of the cleaners in that time. The room was unbearable and a lady from the Table Table pub offered to fumigate it at around 7 pm, but it was too late then (after a 7 hour drive to get to Durham) we promptly checked out and went elsewhere. Hopefully Premier Inn have refunded this room, but we both had to leave as we were together so I feel we should have a full refund for both rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineHickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Durham North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Arrived on the 22/6/14 at this Inn for 2 days, as we were visiting family and touring. Nice staff,
on arrival, and they were very helpful. Room a good standard. We were near a shopping Complex, which was great. Public transport was close by, so we could leave our car, and travel
into Durham.


These Hotels are very good, with well TRAINED staff. We ate next door at Brewers Fare.Delicious.

Will not use any other hotels in future.

Room Tip: They are all good. Slept great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happymover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Used this hotel as a break between travelling to a holiday destination. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet. Would use again if holidaying in the Northeast again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. It was very quiet and clean and the only thing which would have made our visit more comfortable was another chair in the room. Very near a large retail centre and the park and ride into Durham.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brucaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We used the postcode provided by Premier Inn for the Sat Nav. It took us to a retail park but we could not find the hotel. It took 30 minutes of driving around to find it. It was close but separated from the retail park by a fence and trees and not visible from there.
When we did find it, checking in to the hotel was straightforward as it usually is in Premier Inns.
The room was the standard type and quite comfortable.
Check-out was also straightforward.
Would I stay there again? Yes, now that I know where it is and if I was in the area.

Room Tip: Note that despite the address, the hotel is NOT on the Arnison Retail Centre. Check it out on Google...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasgunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Premier Inn have upped their game and are in my opinion better than chains like Mercure. Clean, comfortable and a friendly face on reception, what more do you need? The attached restaurant offers a wide range of dishes for dinner and breakfast is anything you want.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 18 in Durham
557 reviews
2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
3.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,193 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham North Hotel

Address: Rotary Way Arnison Retail Centre | Pity Me, Durham DH1 5GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#4 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £44 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just to the north of bustling Durham, a short drive from the Beamish Museum and Pity Me ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing