We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I've stayed at a few Premier Inns previously and once again they've come up trumps - another great "quiet" stay with friendly helpful staff. We booked the inclusive breakfast as usual. We ate our evening meals there as well as taking the breakfast. All well except the for the Sunday breakfast which was mayhem with only one waitress on duty to seat customers, take orders, serve orders and clean tables. But Premier Inn - you were wonderful.

Room Tip: We asked for 2 double beds and got 1 double and 2 single beds which suited me and wife and 2 grandda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Fantastic, Beds very Comfortable as (Lenny Hendry) looks at you from the Sideboard, as the saying goes it does what says on the tin? the Staff at the check in were very pleasant on arrival, the Room was Excellent very clean, Bathroom was the same , the Hotel is in a great position, for getting into the City Centre, only a few Miles, by Bus or Cab I would recommend this Hotel for price, and accommodation and short stays.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLUE BLOCKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

A standard (if very dated) Premier Inn - perfectly satisfactory for what it is.

However, the staff are very slow. I arrived mid morning - having driven 5 hours from London and had a 20 minute turnaround until my cousin's wedding - she could see how much of a hurry I was in and insisted on being SO SLOW at everything. She disappeared while I was entering my pin number so I had to wait even longer just to get my room key! Very frustrating.

The shower was reasonably powerful - although you're not able to aim it so it drenches the bathroom floor.

Everything else was fine - apart from the fact that you can hear every footstep above you and any noise made in the corridor. And the breakfast is outrageously overpriced and took 45 minutes to arrive! The restaurant is in a separate bulding...

Would stay again, it's not trying to be anything more than it is! Could benefit from a makeover though. The 1970s bathroom tiles were holding it back a bit...

P.s. On a non-hotel related note - the taxis are very expensive in Durham as they are all on metres even when pre-booked!! Nightmare! Made London seem cheap.

Room Tip: The walls/ceilings/floors are thin - ground floor probably the lesser of two evils - although still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianLouise16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

does what it says on the tin staff friendly and helpful good nights sleep
breakfast good selection and plenty costa coffee found breakfast to much should have went for continental dinner also good deal

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was my second stay at this Premier Inn and both have been very pleasant and well up to what is expected of a Premier Inn

My wife was taken ill on the first occasion and the night staff could not have done more to help - calm, collected, sympathetic and helpful

It is a busy location with a very popular restaurant next door so parking can be tight. However, its popularity means that the food is good and value for money.

This hotel is approx. 15 mins. drive from the centre of Durham and it is a shame that Premier cannot offer the same value for money in Durham Centre but the location does offer a large shopping centre within 5 Mins. drive in fact within walking distance

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Not the most central when you're planning a night out in the city centre but we left it too late to book the central premier inn which was our fault. The room we stayed in was clean with comfortable beds. One male member of staff was immediately rude to us on entry when returning to the hotel at about 1.00am. He was very rude and abrupt talking to us like kids saying be quiet for the other guests and get straight to bed (which we were going to do)

I can understand other guests need quiet bit we weren't making a racket and all felt patronised. Also I thought the rooms were overpriced for what we got but booking a week before wouldn't have helped to be fair.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 870gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Booked here last minute and asked for a quiet room which we most definitely got. An older premier inn but nevertheless very clean. Great location and staff very friendly. However wish the same could be said for the restaurant next door whose staff were quite stern and rude

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
544 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
448 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
3.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham North Hotel

Address: Rotary Way Arnison Retail Centre | Pity Me, Durham DH1 5GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £44 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just to the north of bustling Durham, a short drive from the Beamish Museum and Pity Me ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing