We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Historical Bed and Breakfast.”
Review of Durham Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Durham Castle
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Most Historical Bed and Breakfast.”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

A brilliant idea. The use of university student accomadation, during their vacations. Just arriving through the arch way leading into the castle is a spectacular entrance.
The castle is old, with Norman architecture seen around the window frames. As the castle is set high the views are brilliant.
The standard rooms are basic- bed, sink, table, no TV. The bathrooms/shower area are generally communal- clean, but a walk away from the bedroom.
Breakfast is served in the main hall.
Have stayed here a couple of times, will go again. Staff are polite, pleasant, and amenable.
Enjoyed the free guided tour.
Best of all - staying in a magnificent castle, atmospheric, and cannot be beaten.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the castle- with a view over Durham city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardtate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    58
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
51
85
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

I spent a night at Durham Castle during a trip through northern England. It's student housing--bare bones rooms, and the bathrooms were a level below via a spiral staircase (when you're as old as I am, that meant no drinking after dark...) but what a dorm! The rooms, which face out high above the town, open off a hall that must be 100 feet long and looks out over the castle courtyard. It's furnished with antique photos of the castle and town, sports trophies and an ancient table made of giant slabs of wood. As a guest you can use either the stone spiral staircase or the impressive Black Staircase to get to your room. And you get a free tour (usually costs 5 pounds) of the whole castle, as well as breakfast in the Great Hall, as part of your room rate. These rooms are only available when school is not in session. This is a unique, funky, historic and cheap place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bella1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

What a fantatsic opportunity to stay in a catsle for a great price! The castle is run like a hotel - with hotel ammenities, but without a hotel price!
Friendly reception - although reception is not well mapped out (there was a wedding we had to walk though to get to it) staff are attentive and professional.
Breakfast in the great hall is superb - and for the rate - is a sure destination on any travellers itiniary to the UK.

All in all - 5 out of 5. Travel in spring to take advantage of the picturesque town and rivers.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank SydMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Obviously this is no luxury hotel it is basic student accommodation, much of it up steep stairs so some would hate it. However if you want the thrill of staying in an old castle with breakfast in the medieval hall and a free guided tour to boot you will love it. It is on the opposite side of the Green to the castle so I popped in and out of the cathedral at will.

I guess you should avoid weekend wedding receptions but I stayed mid week and you could hear a pin drop at night.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mike1837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Be a king of a castle for a day or 2 so long as you don't mind roughing it.
Requested a high floor so the walk up the stairs to our 3 single rooms on the 4th floor in the keep was not a problem.
No en suit bathroom, Corby trouser press, iron, hair dryer, tv, radio, elevators but clean sheets and towel and decent sink. Carpet and melamine furniture in room well worn. Loos and showers rather basic.
Fantastic location in heart of old city within a few minutes walk of restaurants, bars and cafes. We enjoyed meal in Capriccio..old building, plenty of Italian motorsport memorbilia, good staff.
Hot and cold buffet breakfast served in huge banquetting hall with large communial tables.
Characterful underground bar although possible to sit outside in grassy square. Reception closes 8pm then after access through small hole in main castle gates....adds to the experience.
Limited parking although we had no problem..pick up tag from reception.
Study map before entry by car- Claypath then Saddler Street, £2 city congestion charge cash on exit if driving between 9am-4pm.
Train station 10-15 min walk.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank nic1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

The castle is certainly pretty from the outside, but our room inside was disappointing. It's a student residence in poor condition. We felt bad for the students who have to stay there. Some of the washrooms were in poor condition; it looked like they were put in a cruddy old closet. The night we stayed, there was a wedding taking place at the castle. Many of the wedding guests stayed in the castle. They were loud and kept my wife up late into the night. If we had known that there was a wedding that night, we would have found alternative accomodation. Breakfast was fine and the dining hall was nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheFofos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanstead Abbotts, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

When travelling to a city for the first time it is always depressing to read that the top Tripadvisor recommended hotel is the Premier Inn, you automatically assume that you are going to find some grim post industrial wasteland. But Durham isn’t like that at all, and instead of accepting bland mediocrity, you can stay in a UNESCO world heritage Norman Castle – for less than half the price! OK, the rooms are very basic – it’s a medieval Castle converted into a student hall of residence, imagine Hogwarts without the magic – but the black staircase is reputed to be haunted by a grey lady – you won’t get that in a motel! Just remember that it is a long walk to the communal bathrooms, down a traditional stone spiral staircase, so do bring your dressing gown and slippers. Alternatively, 12 of the rooms are en-suite, although these are not listed on the web booking sites, so if you want one I’d suggest phoning direct, 0191 334 4108.

I paid £28.50 per room which included an overnight parking permit, a very professional guided tour of the castle – both costing non-residents £5 each, and an excellent breakfast in the great hall. Towels and toiletries were provided and the room had a sink, mirror & electric shave point. Overall this has to be the best value place that I’ve ever stayed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.8 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Castle

Property: Durham Castle
Address: The Castle Palace Green | University of Durham, Palace Green, Durham DH1 3RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Durham Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Castle Hotel Durham
Castle Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing