We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I stayed in a castle wooohooo”
Review of Durham Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Durham Castle
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I stayed in a castle wooohooo”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stunning castle. Rooms were obviously for students but the surroundings were fabby and breakfast in the great hall and the tour was wonderful. No wifi or tv in your room which did not concern us. Loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SecretAgent123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    60
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
53
90
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Two nights on a piece of foam on top of a board in a small room up over 100 steps, followed by a trickle of a shower and a shambolic, lukewarm, inadequate breakfast does not make for a very happy experience. Not that the management care as they have failed to respond in any way to my feedback! The setting is amazing but that was the only good point. £122 for two nights in a single en-suite room plus a considerable amount of parking fees in a public car park as the college parking was out of use. No free tours because of functions taking place. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This experience will make you feel like you're the queen of England! GO GO GO..... It's one of the best castle's in England! 2 nights in Durham Castle was such an amazing experience, the spectacular views and the outstanding service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hanne74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

If you've ever dreamed of staying in a castle, you will NOT be disappointed. All the charm and spirit of true castle, but with modern comforts (and much more spacious than I expected!). Plus, you can't beat any of the views.

The breakfast was amazing, as was the great hall we ate in!

If I could change one thing, it would be that I had stayed longer than one night!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karlyms123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We (wife & self) had a late Xmas prezzie (in July) from eldest daughter & Hubby, a week-end in Durham Castle. Nothing would have been more appreciated. A lovely city, and to sleep & breakfast in such superb surroundings. The staff were very helpful throughout our stay. The room was immaculately clean & very spacious (we were "up in the gods") hence we had wooden timber supports in out room, however I think this added to the charm. The shower was very good. As the breakfast was self sevice if you didn't enjoy it (we both did) it was probably your own fault. (Makes me wish I was clever and young, I'd gladly be a student at Durham University, the students use the rooms during term time). The only small thing I missed was there was no TV I like to catch up on the news/weather.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffh859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a night in Durham Castle when we went to see the Lindisfarne Gospels and are very pleased we did. From the start the young man on reception was very friendly and helpful, he offered to carry our luggage when he took us to our room in the keep. The room was very clean with plenty of fluffy white towels and good quality toiletries, also there are tea/coffee facilities, all fairtrade including some delicious sultana and cherry cookies and a choice of teas and decaf coffee, the shower room was small but adequate.
In the evening the bar is open and it is very reasonably priced, definitely student rates for everyone. The breakfast buffet is served in the splendid Great Hall and there was a very good choice of cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurt and of course the full cooked English as well, eat as much as you like, and proper filter coffee. We thought it was excellent value, £92 for a double en-suite with breakfast and a free tour of the Castle, (normally £5 each) We will definitely stay in the castle again.
The only downside is the Cathedral bells ringing through the night, every 1/4 hour but you are warned of this beforehand so know what to expect, I'm a light sleeper so it may not disturb everyone The place definitely deserves 10 out of 10 for everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calpequeen52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steel City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A beautiful setting for a wedding. A lovely venue full of history. Staff very polite and helpful. Stayed in a keep room, these are obviously restricted in size as it is an historical building! Clean and tidy; en-suite shower room OK - shower lacked pressure. Beautiful view out of windows into courtyard of castle. Breakfast nice - served in The Great Hall - very Hogwarts! I think this is a gem and good value for money considering its location. Would definitely stay here again if visiting north east. Many steep stairs to climb to get to your room - but adds to the fun of being in the castle - staff more than willing to help with bags. Parking restricted and a relative walk to castle, but worth it and would not put me off another visit.

Room Tip: If you have any kind of mobility issue ensure you book a lower ground room, stairs to rooms are stee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emerald1SteelCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
505 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.8 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Castle

Property: Durham Castle
Address: The Castle Palace Green | University of Durham, Palace Green, Durham DH1 3RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Durham Castle Hotel Durham
Castle Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing