We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable experience”
Review of Durham Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Durham Castle
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My 82 year old mother (visiting from South Africa) and I spent 2 nights (17th and 18th of September) at Durham Castle. Due to 4 really bad reviews on tripadvisor I had not given the castle a thought as accommodation. We arrived in Durham without any hotel booking (stupid, I know) and traipsed around from hotel to hotel but nothing was available. We found out this was due to the Lindisfarne gospel exhibition which ends this week. We decided to have a quick look around the cathedral and castle before making our way back to the station to catch a train home. The gatekeeper at the castle, on hearing of our predicament, sent us to reception on the off chance they would still have something available. They did have....one twin en suite up a flight of 127 steps. Mother said she would cope so we were given room K67. We thought we would have a look at it and if not happy would still rather return home but what a fantastic experience it turned out to be. The room was not quite ready but the lad at reception, Andrew, was exemplary. 5 times he was up and down those stairs sorting everything out for us. One has to remember this is student accommodation! The room and bathroom were spotless, everything we needed was provided including shampoo and creams and the view was fabulous. Maybe some would find the foam mattress off putting but we didn't....we knew we had very comfy mattresses to go home to! The shower pressure was better than mine at home and breakfast, served in the great hall, was a really good buffet with plenty of choice. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and are so pleased that we stayed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    58
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
51
85
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Durham Castle was originally built in Normal times. Its set around a pretty courtyard, set on a hill in Durham, opposite the beautiful Durham Cathedral. We stayed in a room in one of the turrets, up a couple of levels. The room was spacious and well appointed. Although they are student rooms, you wouldn't know it, as they are of a good standard. We had an external balcony too, from which we could see some of Durham. The breakfast was great, just because it was served in the great hall, replete with armour and weaponry on the walls, and portraits of patrons and college leaders.

There is a bus which comes from the Durham station, every 20 minutes, from the hour, and costs just over a pound. It stops in the square at the top of town, Palace Green, where the cathedral and castle are located. Its all about 2 minutes walk from the cobblestoned Main Street of Durham, where you will find restaurants and shops galore.

As you walk down the street, just a couple of minutes on the right hand side, there's a cafe, which is entered through a doorway and down a flight of steps. It has a deck area which overlooks the river and the menu looked great, although we didn't do more than check out the view.

Durham is a small and delightful town, well worth the time to stop there. Durham cathedral is simply the most beautiful I have seen in England.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BigMal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stunning castle. Rooms were obviously for students but the surroundings were fabby and breakfast in the great hall and the tour was wonderful. No wifi or tv in your room which did not concern us. Loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SecretAgent123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Two nights on a piece of foam on top of a board in a small room up over 100 steps, followed by a trickle of a shower and a shambolic, lukewarm, inadequate breakfast does not make for a very happy experience. Not that the management care as they have failed to respond in any way to my feedback! The setting is amazing but that was the only good point. £122 for two nights in a single en-suite room plus a considerable amount of parking fees in a public car park as the college parking was out of use. No free tours because of functions taking place. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This experience will make you feel like you're the queen of England! GO GO GO..... It's one of the best castle's in England! 2 nights in Durham Castle was such an amazing experience, the spectacular views and the outstanding service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hanne74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

If you've ever dreamed of staying in a castle, you will NOT be disappointed. All the charm and spirit of true castle, but with modern comforts (and much more spacious than I expected!). Plus, you can't beat any of the views.

The breakfast was amazing, as was the great hall we ate in!

If I could change one thing, it would be that I had stayed longer than one night!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karlyms123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We (wife & self) had a late Xmas prezzie (in July) from eldest daughter & Hubby, a week-end in Durham Castle. Nothing would have been more appreciated. A lovely city, and to sleep & breakfast in such superb surroundings. The staff were very helpful throughout our stay. The room was immaculately clean & very spacious (we were "up in the gods") hence we had wooden timber supports in out room, however I think this added to the charm. The shower was very good. As the breakfast was self sevice if you didn't enjoy it (we both did) it was probably your own fault. (Makes me wish I was clever and young, I'd gladly be a student at Durham University, the students use the rooms during term time). The only small thing I missed was there was no TV I like to catch up on the news/weather.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffh859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
496 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.8 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Castle

Property: Durham Castle
Address: The Castle Palace Green | University of Durham, Palace Green, Durham DH1 3RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Durham Castle Hotel Durham
Castle Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing