We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surrounded by such amazing history”
Review of Durham Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Durham Castle
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2009

We are a family from Melbourne Australia travelling with our 11year old daughter and a mum in her late 70's. We stayed 3 nights in the Garden Stairs accomodation which is to the left of the Gatehouse- one of the oldest sections of the castle. Our rooms were very comfortable with fantastic views of the Catherdral and Castle keep. We breakfasted in the magnificant Great Hall which was also a thill being surrounded by so many layers of history.
The disappointing aspect of the experience was that we paid seasonable rates in which a tour of the castle was promised.However, because of the few number of guests the tour was delayed till midweek when we had already left. The Bar was only open on one night again because of lack of numbers. While the rooms were clean there were no extra towels , blankets or even pillows (only one pillow for each bed ) .Probably the most distressing aspect was the defensive ,unfriendly and indifferent attitude of the reception staff person when we found that our bath towel had accidently been taken by housekeeping.! Having said that the porters were very helpful and welcoming. And we would advise guests to enquire what will be accessible to them if they plan to stay in the winter months.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhemelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Durham Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2008

We stayed two nights in the student lodging at Durham Castle. The location could not be better, just across the green from the incredible Cathedral and easy walking access to the river trail and the center of town. The facilities are basic college-dorm, with twin beds and a washbasin in the room, shower and toilet across the hall. Everything was clean and worked. The buffet style breakfast in the Great Hall was the best we had anywhere in England.
We did not get to do the castle tour (free to guests) because they cancelled them that day, due to a medical emergency among the staff. The place seems popular for weddings and when one is underway the property is closed to the public except lodging guests, and tours are also cancelled then.
Durham town is beyond quaint. You feel transported back to the middle ages by the narrow cobbled streets and ancient buildings. The rowboat rentals on the River Wear are highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Chilkoot_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Location is fantastic and staff are wonderful BUT rooms are basic and dissapointing. The shared facilities were a bit too much for me. I don't like to see a half naked hairy man in the middle of the night when I'm busting to go to the loo. It's a shame, it wouldn't take much to put a bit more character into the rooms and label some of the showers/loos as women only. Breakfast was great and just a lot of TLC required in the other rooms.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank sunrise01752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

This was my second stay at Durham Castle. The room itself is basic as it is used by students during term time, but climbing the 14th Centry stair case and walking down the Norman corridor was amazing. Breakfast is served in the Great Hall - another amazing experience. Be sure to do the guided tour of the castle which was so interesting and is free to guests. An amazing experience.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank dawnbracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2007

Durham Castle is an amazing place to stay: a stunning, Motte and Bailey style castle, renovated to act more as a palace than a fort in recent centuries. It sits on a steep sided hill, overlooking the meandering loop in the river that encloses Durham town centre. Its very central: less than 5 mins walk to the main market square. Inside, the main rooms (especially the main dining hall where you eat breakfast) are beautifully oak panelled and invoke Harry Potter (although it was the Cathedral, not the Castle that was used as a backdrop in the films). The breakfast is also great: a hearty full english.

On the downside, the level of service is a bit no frills. Acting as student accomodation in term times, the rooms are basic (think 70s furniture), and some of the staff are a bit short, suggesting they've been toughened up by dealing with sarcastic students.

So come and stay here and enjoy the venue, but don't expect 5* service.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_nerdling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2006

This place is fantastic & excellent value for money. It is just student accommodation, in a castle & the facilities are fairly basic but what a super location. The beds were comfortable, the rooms clean & the breakfast plentiful. All the staff were helpful, very friendly & as professional as any 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2005

How would you like to live in a castle for a day or two? Durham Castle is actually part of Durham University's housing system, and during holiday periods the students' rooms are available for tourists. Web site to inquire: (----). (Other locations besides the castle are available, so be specific if you only want the castle.) The rates are very reasonable. Rooms can sleep one or two people. Our room was very clean, very spacious. Furnishings are simple but comfortable. Small fridge in room. Bathroom out in the hall. Full breakfast in the "Great Hall" was buffet style and quite good. The Great Hall was a little reminiscent of Harry Potter. The rooms themselves are modern and not at all castle-like, but are actually in the castle. Some fancier, old-fashioned rooms are avaliable for higher prices. The castle is just across the green from Durham Cathedral. If arriving by train, be sure to wait at the station for the Cathedral Bus service (only 50p, comes every 30 minutes) which will take you and your luggage right up to the castle and cathedral. Otherwise it's a very steep haul up cobbled streets. This part of Durham is old and quaint; the surrounding areas we glimpsed were modern. Tour of the castle is free if you're staying in rooms there. They do not allow you to wander the castle freely, so take the tour. There are student laundry facilities available for guests to use. While in Durham, be sure to take the beautiful walk along the river. The cathedral is great, and its paid tour is worthwhile. There is a Heritage Center nearby which has brass-rubbing templates and materials available for a small fee, suitable for children or adults to enjoy. Durham is beautiful, restful, and interesting. We stayed two nights and found that just about right.

15  Thank Corvallis_OregonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
524 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Castle

Address: The Castle Palace Green | University of Durham, Palace Green, Durham DH1 3RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £42 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Durham Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Castle Hotel Durham
Castle Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing