We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and convenience”
Review of The Victoria Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Victoria Inn
Ranked #3 of 37 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfort and convenience”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Reasonable value, standard B&B experience. Has the advantage of being easily walkable to city centre. We had a room over the bar, and facing the main road, but were not disturbed at all, since it's a residential street. Bed was comfy with quality linen. 2 things impressed about the breakfast. It was served red hot. Every imaginable condiment was branded, and some of the preserves were home made. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arty26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    50
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
92
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Well it really doesn't get more authentic that staying above a pub. We drank the night away with the locals and crawled up to our clean spacious room. It was large & the bathroom was huge. My only regret was not staying longer!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ambersimmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I recently stopped at this establishment for a two night break with my Mom and Dad and must say I was pleasantly surprised at how nice and comfortable it was. I absolutely love historic places and places with a bit of history so my Dad had booked this B & B because of its location close to Durham and also because of the history of building.

Their website said that this was a family run Victorian Inn with a traditional friendly atmosphere where you will find open fires and they are quite correct. It was lovely on the Saturday evening to go into the “sitting room” to find a lovely decorated room with lots of pictures and ornaments supporting a roaring coal fire. The room was very authentically decorated in a Victorian flavour – dark but cosy.

The bedrooms we occupied were all tastefully decorated with matching bed covers and throws – what a lovely touch. The rooms were not overly spacious but there gave ample room to move around without tripping over things. The only comment\criticism I had with my room was in relation to the bathroom – the Proprietors had provided a bath with an over shower but to get in and out safely proved slightly difficult largely because of the location of the shower screen and toilet and it would have been helpful to have a rail to hold on to and a non slip bath mat provided.

It would of also being nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms rather than (a) having to ask for them or (b) going to use the equipment\stores provided in the breakfast room, which is downstairs. I am not sure why this is not a standard feature as there is plenty of room for it to be put in.

I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone reading this review and friends and family and will definitely be visiting again if I ever go to Durham.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Had 3 nights here midweek. Bed was comfy, bedroom was a decent size, didn't have to squeeze past furniture. The website said there was tea/coffee making facilities, what it didn't say was that you had to go downstairs for it - that is, until our 2nd night there we were told you had to ask for a tray and it was there straight away. Breakfast was lovely, enough to keep you going for a long time. Our first night we found noisy- people talking in the bar, that's fine except it went on till 1 am. The rest of the week was quiet once the pub shut. We were in a room facing the road but didn't find it noisy at all, surprisingly. Only five minutes walk from town, a brilliant place to stop at.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois USA
Level Contributor
215 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Excellent location with very easy walking distance to the Cathedral and City Centre. The parking was greatly appreciated. The public areas were beautifully appointed with William Morris wallpapers. We loved the cooked breakfast which was prepared promptly and included a vast array of jams and marmalades. The management was great, we booked a family triple room and the owner offered a double and a single (both en-suite) for the same price. Great staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janhuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a comfortable night at this excellent B&B. The rooms were very clean, and the landlady and staff friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient, with only a 5 minute walk to the cathedral and city centre. We stayed at the top of the building, in the family room which was newly decorated and spotless. I had been concerned about possible noise from the bar, but I should not have worried as even on a Saturday night we heard nothing - it is not a noisy sort of pub. The breakfast was quick and competent - nothing special but fine.

Room Tip: The room a top faces away from the road and we found it to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJennings_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Victoria Inn in Feb 2014 with our teenage children and my 79 year-old mother-in-law for 2 nights. We were visiting our older daughter at Durham University and found this accommodation very well-located for that.

Exactly as described on the web site and in other Trip Advisor reviews this is a traditional pub with excellent beers. friendly hosts and company f you wish it. My husband really enjoyed the 'blue lamp' beer and I had a few glasses of scrumpy by a lovely warm fire on Saturday evening.

In terms of the accommodation, it was clean and attractive - fairly modern in style for such an old place. The rooms were spacious with a well-equipped en suite bathroom for each and a small TV in the room. The teenagers were very appreciative of the free wi-fi. The breakfasts were ample and extremely delicious.

The service was prompt, warm and friendly without being intrusive..my mother-in-law enjoyed chatting to the cook on the Sunday we were there... The only facility we would have liked was tea and coffee making in our rooms. We were free to use the equipment/stores in the dining room but that involved walking up and downstairs through the public areas.... so not quite what you want to do in your PJs first thing in the morning....

All in all a great place to stay and we would happily come again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilllB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.7 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Town House Durham
The Town House Durham
#4 of 37 in Durham
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Inn

Property: The Victoria Inn
Address: 86 Hallgarth Street, Durham DH1 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Victoria Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing