We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
133
53
13
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
53
13
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional pub real ale city centre friendly locals four poster bed pickled eggs convivial atmosphere fine ales en suite bedrooms coal fire like stepping back in time off street parking pub with rooms a great place to stay private parking few minutes walk full english breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2018

The Victoria is a grade 2 listed building for its historic interior and also has a good range of cask ales getting CAMRA approval (but no evening meals). Our room, room six, was a very pleasant room with a four poster bed, with a large en suite which had a bath and shower. Although the pub is on quite a busy road, this room is facing the side and we were not disturbed by the noise of traffic or pub goers. A good full English breakfast is offered along with “healthy” alternatives. Unusually for somewhere so close to the city centre, there is a space for off-street parking in small garages at the side. It is a very short walk across the footbridge to the cathedral and the old city.

Room Tip: Room 6 is large and quiet
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canalsidekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

My husband and daughter have stayed here previously and had a great experience -- so on this trip my husband and I returned to The Vic! We stayed 2 nights our first pass through... and then returned a week later for a single night. Both times we were in room 6 (with the 4 poster bed). The room AND bathroom are both large and clean. Breakfasts were yummy and Maureen is so friendly.

For our last night - we were going to be leaving before breakfast and they called and arranged for our taxi to the train station. We also managed to get some coffee/toast before heading out.

If you have the opportunity -- have a drink in the pub. As others noted - there are no video games or music. Just lovely conversation with those around you. This also means that you do not have to worry about whether the rooms are noisy due to the pub. They are not!

Will be returning to stay at The Victoria Inn again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BocceGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

All you could want in a B.and B. with the bonus of being in a great pub. Comfy clean room. Comfortable bed, good cooked breakfast. The pub is what pubs used to be like before big chains and breweries took over. Everyone was friendly, staff and locals make visitors feel welcome. Good range of real ales, and great selection of spirits. All this within easy walking distance of the cathedral, castle and city centre. Don't be put off by the rather ordinary exterior. There is a warm welcome inside.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dosyoldtwonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

No piped music, no gambling machines, no video screens. Authentic period interior and friendly atmosphere.

Wonderful.

I just wish there were more pubs like this - give it a go and you'll see what I mean.

If you've ever fancied a spot of time travel then this is the place for you. A couple of pints and a bit of imagination and you're back in the early 1900s.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Stuartd99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Cosy fires and welcoming staff. Choice of real pubs. It's like stepping back in time when stepping inside. The only serve toasties- a choice of cheese and onion or ham and cheese. However the ham is off the bone, tender and no scrimping. Filling and exceptional value. A place to meet from a diverse background. The pub has won CAMRA awards and have met people from afar on a beer walk.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews