We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
136
53
13
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
53
13
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional pub real ale city centre four poster bed friendly locals like stepping back in time off street parking pub with rooms a great place to stay few minutes walk full english breakfast cooked breakfast couple of nights comfortable rooms great room short stay breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Traditional pub with central bar and lounge rooms around this bar. Period features are all maintained. Open fire was roaring.
Good choice of cask beers available at reasonable prices. A short walk from the city centre.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

When you walk through the doors it’s like you are walking into the 1960s. And how characterful it is. Timeworn kitsch decor, a talkative and welcoming community of locals, a traditional open fire, superb hand pulled beer and endearing bar staff who keep everyone in line. There isn’t a mod con in sight; nothing digital, no juke box and no food. Pub perfection and always a joy to visit. The biggest worry is that some fool comes along and changes it.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank CulchethClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Full of character, good beer, friendly (mildly eccentric) locals. Cosy coal fire.

If you like traditional pubs there is nothing not to like. Don't come here looking for fancy gin or fashionable cocktails. They do pickled eggs though.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank steamtrainian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

We stayed here 2 nights and the room is nice however, each night we could hear the pub downstairs until about 11:00 pm each night. I did ask a couple people who had stayed here before if it was noisy, since it is above a pub. They all said it was not. So there may be some rooms that are quiet. I don't remember our room number, but if you stay here ask for a quiet room. Also, the beds are a bit small for 2 people. The breakfast was really nice and the location was great.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

This is a superb pub. There is a well presented bar area and cosy back rooms crammed with Victorian memorabilia. The place is clean and has a good selection of real ales, the selection of wine is somewhat lacking though.
There are real coal fires which adds to the character of this pub and this is one of my favourite pubs in the UK.
The service was fine and polite.
It is in a good location a very short walk from the city centre and close to the university.
I know they do accommodation but can't comment on this.
As far as I know there is no food offered.
Definitely not a place for children.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alistairrobinson1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews