We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
140
53
13
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
53
13
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional pub real ale friendly locals city centre four poster bed cosy bar like stepping back in time off street parking few minutes walk full english breakfast cooked breakfast great room breakfast was excellent enjoyable stay tea and coffee fires ales
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's a rare occasion to find an original old pub as good as the Victoria I Durham and I'm mighty glad I did.
Very little appears to have changed here and it's eclectic mix of clientele make for a superb atmosphere.
Forget the pretentious BS across the road and settle in here for the evening.
Quality.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank caribecove14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2018

I much prefer this type of pub to modern ones. Nice old wooden bar, a big fire in both rooms, a good range of drinks- what's not to like? It's a little outside the town centre so you need to looking for it.

We didn't stay overnight here so I can't comment on the rooms.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40forty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2018

£87 for a four poster bedroom, large bathroom and lovely hot breakfast goes to show that the Victoria gets the basics right. This is an old fashioned boozer, no food, slot machines or Sky tv, but it was busy and had a lovely atmosphere. Only two free parking spaces, but we got one, so were very pleased. Quite location (room 6), and only a 10 minute walk into old Durham. We ate at 'Zen' a Thai restaurant, less than 5 minutes away, and that was good too.

Room tip: Room 6 with the four poster was a good size and quiet
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2018

Fabulous pub/bed&breakfast. Literally five minute walk into the centre of Durham, three minutes from the cathedral (which is stunning). Great selection of cask ales and really friendly staff. Lovely (and very warm) open fire. Friendly locals. Stayed overnight, rooms warm and cosy. Full english was delicious and cooked to order.
Will definitely return.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2018 via mobile

Popped in here for a pint , its like going back in time , coal fires ,proper old fashioned rooms , great beer ,dont be afraid of the locals ,they dont bite nor do there dogs , could have spent hours in here chatting ,if im ever in durham again ill head straight for it ,.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John_WF2130UB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews