We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional & charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Farnley Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Farnley Tower
Ranked #15 of 39 Durham B&B and Inns
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Traditional & charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Farnley Tower is a treat. If, like me, you abhor those impersonal chain hotels, all plastic and chrome, then Farnley Tower is for you. It is comfortable and the staff are wonderful; can't do enough for you. First class breakfast, too. The hotel is in a very peaceful area of Durham and has plenty of its own parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPRHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear JPRHampshire

Thanks for a great review!
The staff pride themshelves in delivering a personal service to all our guests so that they can have the best stay possible. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    139
    83
    42
    12
See reviews for
59
168
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Lovely quiet location with a 15 minute walk into Durham. Room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was lovely and most of the staff were friendly and polite. Unfortunately these qualities were overshadowed by us not being able to get a good nights sleep after a 7 hour drive. We appreciate that the hotel is an old creaky house and that some noises are inevitable however the room doors had no devices fitted to them to prevent them slamming and this kept us awake until the early hours. The person in the room above us then continuously walked up and down their room between about 1am-2.30am which also created a very loud noise that we just couldn't sleep through. By this point, I was pretty frustrated and rang the bell in the lobby to see if the person in the room above us could have a polite knock on their door. When I described the problem to the member of staff who appeared - he responded with a very poor attitude and asked "what do you want me to do about it?". I asked if he wouldn't mind giving the person a polite knock on the door but he wasn't willing to do this (I would have if I was confident about the layout of the hotel) and said that he would just listen out on the landing. I'm afraid that I was too tired and angry by this point to do anything further and just went back to my room. If we could have moved to another hotel at this point in the morning, we would have. We will not be staying there again and would recommend a customer service course for the rude member of staff (the rest of the staff were lovely).

Room Tip: Pick a room at the top of the hotel to avoid the noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durham hotels

Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

It's a shame we only came across this hotel as our son was leaving Durham after 5 years! Would (and have done so) recommend it to others. Location good, friendly staff, excellent night's sleep. Good breakfast though would have liked to have honey offered. If I was staying more than a couple of days I might have wanted a bit more storage space in the room which was beautifully large and could easily have fitted a chest of drawers. Also the (separately run) restaurant (DH1) downstairs was an amazing bonus - that was a truly unforgettable meal!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Claire

Thanks for a awesome review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Honey has now been added to the menu and we have also ordered another chest of draws for the room you stayed in.
The restaurant Chef Mr Stephen Hardy Also sends his thanks for your comments about his restaurant.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

A 2-day visit is far too short to enjoy the delights Durham has to offer but with excellent accommodation at Farnley Tower, we felt we had absolutely made the most of our brief stay. The welcome was warm; the room lovely; the beds were comfortable; the food excellent; the staff great! Would certainly choose the same accommodation next time - even with the hill to climb on the way there!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thanks for a awesome review! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Given the location, the place is very quiet, rooms comfortable and reasonably priced. Breakfast is fine, service is friendly although the coffee isn't great, so maybe I'll have tea next time. Will stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank splashiusmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thanks for a great review, We have taken note of your comment about the coffee and have changed the brand which we use since you stayed with us.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The bed was comfortable and the room spacious. And then.
The floor didn't just creak when you moved about, it groaned, so loudly it was almost a match for the extractor fan in the bathroom which was so loud you could barely hold a conversation. The 'over the bath shower' was attached to the taps by a hose hardly four feet long and the shower curtain exuded a strange smell. Thathe ' full English breakfast' was poor; the sausage and the bacon were of the cheapest, the sausage tasteless and the bacon better if you could have said the same of it, but in fact it had a hint of fish about it. Taste is a very personal thing, but I have never anywhere else been unable to drink the coffee proferred. The continental breakfast on the second morning was ok, but the tea was hardly better than the previous day's coffee, and the orange juice was the same; that is to say cheap and tepid, not as the menu proclaimed 'chilled'.

Room Tip: Avoid the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplekath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Kath
The floor does occasionally creek due to the building being historical and old, the fan however is not as loud as your making out it to be meaning your conversation must be in whispers.
The sausages are regularly upgraded on quality and we do believe the one we are currently using are the best we have ever served. The comment about the bacon has come as a surprise to us as no one has ever complained about it before, same with the orange juice and tea. You said it tasted like fish which seems to be a bitterness on your behalf as it is widely inaccurate. The coffee we use is douwe egberts which is one of the best brands around.
I can’t understand if you were so unhappy, why you would not bring any of this to mine or any of the staff’s attention while you were here.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lovely place to stay in Durham - short walk from the centre, so quiet but nice and close. Our room had a great view of the Cathedral. The room itself was spacious, comfortable and clean with a good bathroom.
Breakfast was included in the very reasonable rate - really generous portions with a big selection, and good vegetarian options.
The staff were all absolutely lovely - really friendly and always willing to help.
We'll definitely stay again next time we're in Durham

Room Tip: Room 12 has a great view of the Cathedral, but faces South so the natural light might wake you up in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 19-Martin-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thanks for a great review! We pride ourshelves on our customer service skills. Also we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Durham.
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.7 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
3.3 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnley Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnley Tower

Property: Farnley Tower
Address: The Avenue, Durham DH1 4DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnley Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnley Tower Is a 4 star quality guesthouse. The current owners have sympathetically restored this prominent Victorian building, providing the facilities you would expect of a modern city centre hotel.With its elevated position you can enjoy stunning views over Durham Cathedral and Castle, as well as the surrounding Durham countryside. Savour the culinary cuisine from the award winning restaurant The Gourmet Spot adjoining the guesthouse.Free car parking on site, less than a 10 minute walk to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Farnley Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnley Tower Hotel Durham
Farnley Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing