We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Tower (from Michael, London)”
Review of Farnley Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Farnley Tower
Ranked #17 of 40 Durham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Handsome house with partial view of Cathedral below, but we were amazed to find this place recommended in the Michelin Red Guide. Nobody seemed to be in charge. Worst of all, repeated noise, laughter etc in room above woke us up and kept us awake between 3 and 4 in the morning. Only when the offenders finally heard us thump on our ceiling did they belt up. Complaining at breakfast, we were told that it was the manager returning from a party in Newcastle and that it had happened before. So many details were wrong. Beds badly made; shower functioning badly; pathetic, cost-cutting breakfast buffet with poor fruit selection and none of the fresh bread, marmalade and jams we had found all over the North. Only the very likeable and efficient young Richard picked up the pieces and gave us our rooms for free, but, given that it is also quite a steep schlepp out of town, I won't be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Manager at Farnley Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

I am really annoyed that Richard gave you this room for free. You are obviously a very hard man to please as you were apparantly rude upon arrival to the other members of staff as you were not happy about the walk up the hill. Were you just looking for a freebie?? because you had a great room with views over the city!!! We get nothing but good comments for our Breakfasts if you would care to read other reviews. And yes as Richard said i did have the weekend off and i apologise if i woke you up on my return but as soon as i was aware of this we stopped talking and laughing and went to bed.
After getting your room for free i think it is very unfair of you to leave this damaging review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is walking distance from the town centre bus and train stations but be aware the hills are steep.we were given a ground floor room that was spacious Clean and very fresh looking.
The breakfast was top quality served in a lovely dining room.Good value for money
Would defiantly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Manager at Farnley Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Farnley Tower. Thanks for reviewing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

First, the location... It is essentially in a suburb, no shops, pubs, et. around. It is a 15-minute walk down a very steep hill to the pedestrian shopping area and attractions (and up another steep hill to castle and cathedral).

Bed linens felt like gauze (yuck!), shower small and toilet groaned and shuddered (haunted?). Breakfast was good, but served in a small chaotic (though lovely) room. They appear to cater to guests with children, as there were as many under 10 as over.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kat122912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Manager at Farnley Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

If there were a lot of children i presume you were here during half term. This toilet has now been fixed as it is a saniflow so somebody had put something down there which shouldn't be thus costing us £700 for a new one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

working away from home with partner, booked into this hotel B&B, very beautiful building, lovely reception upon arrival and shown to our room and explained where everything was, large room, comfy mattress but bed moved and squeaked to much for our liking, really didn't trust it from breaking,stayed still most of the night lol. bathroom clean but very basic,some mould around the bath and the old cornice was peeling away, breakfast was very good in a lovely bright dining room,would we stay again not really sure, lots of hills to walk after going into durham city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Manager at Farnley Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us. All our double beds are just 3 years old so i will look at the bed in the room you were staying in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I arrived and was greeted efficiently and politely. Shown the room and all is well. Good wi fi and TV. Good bed, no noise at night a good nights sleep. No food Monday night, which I guess I missed when booking, So a 3-5 minute walk to a few pubs bars and restaurants, also city centre. So not an issue. Decent breakfast except the sausage. With that one exception all in all good value and what is required in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelchap101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Travelchap

Thanks for a good review.
Do please note that the restaurant is closed on a sunday and a monday. Also we are currently looking into changing the brand of sausage we use.

Regards Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The staff are friendly and helpful. No trouble with noise. The place is wonderful! The town center is a 30 min walk and from there everything is at hand! Lee arrived on a Monday when the restaurant is closed so we were down about that.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dily46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Dily

Thanks for a fab review!
We are happy to hear you enjoyed for stay with us. Please note the DH1 restaurant is closed on a sunday and monday.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

an old property turned into a nice fancy hotel with a lot of character, the restaurant is stunning but needs to be booked in advance as it is small, we were not lucky. We enjoyed our stay. It is not far from the centre but walking up the hill so make sure you are prepared for this

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Lina

Thanks for a great review!
We do recommend that guests book restaurant in advance but they do tend to have spaces available during the week on the odd occasion. Also we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.7 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.7 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
533 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Town House Durham
The Town House Durham
#5 of 40 in Durham
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnley Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnley Tower

Address: The Avenue, Durham DH1 4DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: £93 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnley Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnley Tower Is a 4 star quality guesthouse. The current owners have sympathetically restored this prominent Victorian building, providing the facilities you would expect of a modern city centre hotel.With its elevated position you can enjoy stunning views over Durham Cathedral and Castle, as well as the surrounding Durham countryside. Savour the culinary cuisine from the award winning restaurant The Gourmet Spot adjoining the guesthouse.Free car parking on site, less than a 10 minute walk to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Farnley Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnley Tower Hotel Durham
Farnley Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing