We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farnley Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Farnley Tower
Ranked #15 of 39 Durham B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

My mum and I came to stay at farnley tower for my 21st birthday. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, the rooms were nice with in my opinion very nice bathrooms! The surroundings at farnley were charming and picturesque - if your looking for a peaceful getaway I would definitely recommend it, and it is only a short walk away from the town centre!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ncollins93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Ncollins93

Thanks for a great review!
We awre very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Durham is a beautiful place to stay and plenty to do day and night :)


Kind regards Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    139
    83
    42
    12
See reviews for
59
167
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Lovely location and building. Friendly welcome if rather offhand... bedrooms a lovely size but a makeover needed and I nearly bought them a new shower curtain from pound land as the one in the en suite was mouldy! Hot water very good. No complaints at all about the breakfast. Very good value but they need to turn the booster on so guests can gain wi fi connection. I would go back

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dollyolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Dollyolley

Thanks for a good review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again however please note we are a Bed and breakfast not a hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

A last minute booking. A marvellous choice we stay in many b&b this one is a true gem! I can't think of any improvement we had room 12 beautiful views. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. Hope to be back soon. Very well done.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrigglypig999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Wrigglypig999

Thank you for a fantastic review.
Room 12 has great views over looking the city and is highly reccomended.
We look forward to your return :)

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Looked at all the obvious chaoices for an overnight stop to go to funeral next day. Glad we found this. Quirky and charesmatic suits us. The guys running were OK and helpful. Room was biggy big and en suite.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boags666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Boags666,

Thank you for your kind words. We are sorry your stay couldnt of been in better circumstances but we are please we lived up to your expectations.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

this is a beautiful old house with fantastic views and great service we will definitely visit again.
our rooms were very spacious and well fitted with attractive decor and bay window views of the cathedral, breakfast was very nice and staff pleasant. hottest day of the year and no aircon the only minor bad comment. overall excellent

Room Tip: superior rooms have it all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank neilswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Neil,

Thanks for a fantastic review! we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are currently looking into aircon after this great summer were having.

thanks again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Walked from station to hotel in quiet residential street. Just 10 minutes down the hill to the centre of Durham City by an ancient bridge and to castle and cathedral. Hotel clean with good sized twin room I shared with a friend and big bathroom. Ingredients for the breakfast were very high quality. Many restaurants in city centre close by (bit of a puff up the hill at the end of the day, but worth it for the quiet green surroundings). Hotel staff generally pleasant, manager bit off hand.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Management at Farnley Tower, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear David,

Thanks for a great review, We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. our breakfasts are one of the main highlights during guests stays. The manager and the rest of the staff pride themshelves in top quality customer service skills.


Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Handsome house with partial view of Cathedral below, but we were amazed to find this place recommended in the Michelin Red Guide. Nobody seemed to be in charge. Worst of all, repeated noise, laughter etc in room above woke us up and kept us awake between 3 and 4 in the morning. Only when the offenders finally heard us thump on our ceiling did they belt up. Complaining at breakfast, we were told that it was the manager returning from a party in Newcastle and that it had happened before. So many details were wrong. Beds badly made; shower functioning badly; pathetic, cost-cutting breakfast buffet with poor fruit selection and none of the fresh bread, marmalade and jams we had found all over the North. Only the very likeable and efficient young Richard picked up the pieces and gave us our rooms for free, but, given that it is also quite a steep schlepp out of town, I won't be going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnleytower, Manager at Farnley Tower, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
I am really annoyed that Richard gave you this room for free. You are obviously a very hard man to please as you were apparantly rude upon arrival to the other members of staff as you were not happy about the walk up the hill. Were you just looking for a freebie?? because you had a great room with views over the city!!! We get nothing but good comments for our Breakfasts if you would care to read other reviews. And yes as Richard said i did have the weekend off and i apologise if i woke you up on my return but as soon as i was aware of this we stopped talking and laughing and went to bed.
After getting your room for free i think it is very unfair of you to leave this damaging review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.8 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
3.3 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnley Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnley Tower

Property: Farnley Tower
Address: The Avenue, Durham DH1 4DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnley Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnley Tower Is a 4 star quality guesthouse. The current owners have sympathetically restored this prominent Victorian building, providing the facilities you would expect of a modern city centre hotel.With its elevated position you can enjoy stunning views over Durham Cathedral and Castle, as well as the surrounding Durham countryside. Savour the culinary cuisine from the award winning restaurant The Gourmet Spot adjoining the guesthouse.Free car parking on site, less than a 10 minute walk to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Farnley Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnley Tower Hotel Durham
Farnley Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing