We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nasty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Right now i am sitting on the bed in the Hallgarth Manor Hotel, the reason i am still in it, is because everywhere else is full. I am hoping i can make it through the night without slashing my wrists.
Not only is it a dank dull despressing hotel, with very poor facilities, but the receptionist is no better. To start i thought i had a nice flat screen 3D TV, but it turns out it is just an awful reception and double picture. Damp running down the wall, but the worse bit is, that inside the awful bathroom, there is no shower( a bare minimum now days i think), when i mentioned this to the receptionist she asked me if i had requested a room with a shower,( oops my fault as i did not) if you intend to stay here as a last resort, please remember to request a room with a shower. While you are requesting your shower you may as well request a bed just to be on the safe side. The range of smells is also quite wide, rangeing from urine to death with no pleasent smells in between. In the room there is a notice to say that if you smoke in your room ( i am a non smoker) that you will be charged £150 cleaning bill. Never thought i would say this, but i would rather have the smell of stale cigerettes than the smell that is in my room. Now for the good news, i know i will not be sharing a room with any spiders or cockroaches, because as they are free to go where they like I know they will not come to this hotel.

Room Tip: Just do not stay here, not even if on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank adrianjoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    92
    60
    46
    48
See reviews for
63
122
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed here last night and for one night only - Am I glad!
Luckily we didnt spend much time in the hotel but when we did it wasnt the best experience. Customer service here does not exist.
I dont expect alot from a 3* b&b but i do at least expect a comfy bed. One without produding springs and pancake pillows. The room we was put in was more than just a little tired more close to death. The carpets throught the building are worn and very tired along with the decor.
Staff - well firestly apart from check in when there was one woman on recpetion im not sure there are many anymore!
Breakfast was charged at £8.50 pp, which usually is a good hearty breakfast with all the bagamashings! However upon entering the dining room for breakfast apart from a few dirty tables with dirty plates etc stacked on them was some more guests which helpfully just told us to sit down and await some service with a raise of the brow!! Eventually when a memeber of staff had realised we were there our order was taken. Thats after the conversation in the kitchen had finished which was available for us all to hear.
The breakfast was flat to say the least. Hash browns were solid and empty obviously straight from the freezer and cooked far too long and of poor quality along with the toast which was served which was as thin as and tasted like cardboard. Not verymuch was eaten and likewise other diners seemed to have the same problem.
This hotel lacks in service and most deffinately quality. Luckily our room was cheap (breakfast wasnt) and this was bareable for one night but this hotel is deffinately not worth its nightly advertised trarif.
I wouldnt recommened this hotel even with cheap tarifs. And as for being used as a wedding venue hmmmmm!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theroux1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durham hotels

scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

The receptionist was the most obnoxious, rude, ill mannered person on the planet.The waitress was just weird!!! Tired lobby, nothing like the pictures on website.Smelly attic room that was decorated in the seventies with fablon. wood effect on door.Dire brown frayed blanket.A complete waste of money, would have preferred to sleep in my car.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScotlandMazda5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

we orignally booked in for 1 night , but extended our stay to 3 nights. We had a lovely room on the 1st floor overlooking the gardens witha nice bathroom. I must say that we had a lovely stay from the moment we arrived to the moment we left and found all the staff great. We ate on 2 nights and the food was obviuosly freshly cooked ( dont forget to try Joans white chocolate cheesecake !!!!) .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin2440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

My husband and i booked the hallgarth manor on account of it being handy to book at short notice. When we arrived the snotty receptionist informed us our double room that we had booked was now a twin room and we could simply push the beds together. Oh thanks. We then went into our bedroom and it smelt of damp/old people. There were stains on the carpets and we only had one towel between us, i then went to ask for more towels from reception and the same receptionist told me some would be brought up immediately. Four hours later we recieved a bath towel and a face cloth. We then decided to eat in the restaurant, however we had not booked and the same woman told us we would have to settle for a bar meal. We went to the bar and were greeted by a lovely red headed barmaid who then offered to serve us our meal in the restaurant. The food was good, not great but the service was brilliant. Only us two in the restaurant however it was cosy and we were well attended to.

In conclusion:
horrendous receptionist.
disgusting smelly room.
in dire need of refurbishment.
good food, not brilliant
lovely waitress/good manners and serving.

What i liked best: leaving
What i disliked most: receptionist

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karencoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Shabby without any chic
Tired and worn and in places unsafe carpets
Dirty rooms
Some staff excellent others downright rude
Event meal exceptional service good staff pleasant
In hotel restauraunt dire at breakfast time

Room Tip: Attend any event but stay at Premier Inn 2 mls
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thornbirdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

we stayed here as we wanted to be out of Durham city, and it was close enough. i wish we'd stayed in durham instead. it wasnt a complete disaster, we got what we paid for, a cheap nights accomodation. yes the receptionist was surly, the bathroom was tiny with plenty cobwebs, the bed was a bit creaky and in need of replacement, the waitress who served breakfast was related to the receptionist i think, even though she said it was no problem we were late down it certainly didnt feel that way, and the worse part of the stay was the creaking pipes in the morning when the heating comes on or guests moving about upstairs, if your a light sleeper you will be woken early, even though the views are pleasant when you wake and look out the window we will be staying in durham next time

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chippy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
1.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant

Property: Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant
Address: Pittington, Durham DH6 1AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallgarth Manor is a traditional English country house hotel situated just 3 miles from the historic city of Durham in the northeast of England. This former 16th-century estate, set in spectacular grounds and gardens, has been discreetly modernised to retain many of its original features. Noted for the excellence of its food, the comfort of its accommodation and the quality of its many facilities, Hallgarth Manor is a real favourite for customers looking for conferences, business meetings, wedding celebrations and leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel And Restaurant
Hallgarth Manor Country Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing