We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd visit. Won't be our last.. BUT.....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“2nd visit. Won't be our last.. BUT.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Liked:- Great food - generous quantities perfectly cooked . Convenient, quiet country location for Durham & Sunderland; Attractive gardens; peaceful view from bedroom ; free wi-fi that didn't need a special log-in; smart refurbished bathroom and - despite other reviews - pleasant and helpful staff.

Disliked - Cramped 2nd floor room on 1st visit 2 years ago, (so paid for larger 1st floor room this time) ; Scruffiness of some areas - dirty looking carpets in bedroom and dining room, torn window seat cushion,, threadbare bits of carpet on stairs. Odd mix of elderly furniture - other hotels can do antique/repro much better. Whimsical room servicing on arrival - very clean (except for carpet), but tea missing from hospitality tray, loo roll concealed in cupboard, luxurious thick winter duvet in mid summer. Drinks prices seemed a bit higher than comparable hotels, too.

We made a point of avoiding staying during a wedding or big conference, so the hotel was mostly very quiet. School 'proms' running whilst we were there had no impact on us.

Rooms may be unsuitable for anyone with mobility problems as all are on 1st or 2nd floor and we didn't notice a lift.

Room Tip: A package including evening meals in the restaurant seems best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdfisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    92
    60
    46
    48
See reviews for
63
122
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

we have been staying here for between 1-3 nights a week al year , and can quite honestly say it is a friendly releaxing hotel with great food.
I have stayed in maybe 8 of the bedrooms (no.9s my fav.) they are all good and have got all the facilities you need . ok some of them are dated , but they are always spotleely clean.

great food and cheap drink in trhe tavern , and friendly locals.

we are here for the next couple of years , so hopefully see you in the tavern bar- mines a pint of timothy taylors

food

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoff65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

I had the misfortune to be booked into the Hallgarth Manor for business as everywhere else within a 37 mile radius was fully booked... on arrival it become apparant why. I was greeted by two receptionists, one who was perfectly polite and the other possibly the rudest member of staff at a hotel that I have ever dealt with, who seemed to think I was putting her out by simply asking to check in.

As I made my way to my room, the range of smells that hit me was unbelievable - ranging from strange to what was unmistakibly urine. The room was dirty - there were stains in the bath and thick dust on the skirting boards. The bed was the most uncomfortable I have slept in for a long time and also had what looked like blood stains on the covers.

I would usually have complained, but I decided against having to deal with the rude staff and go into the town centre instead (I didn't dare try the food...though from the other reviews it seems like this may be the hotel's saving grace) and return only when absolutely necessary to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durham hotels

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Right now i am sitting on the bed in the Hallgarth Manor Hotel, the reason i am still in it, is because everywhere else is full. I am hoping i can make it through the night without slashing my wrists.
Not only is it a dank dull despressing hotel, with very poor facilities, but the receptionist is no better. To start i thought i had a nice flat screen 3D TV, but it turns out it is just an awful reception and double picture. Damp running down the wall, but the worse bit is, that inside the awful bathroom, there is no shower( a bare minimum now days i think), when i mentioned this to the receptionist she asked me if i had requested a room with a shower,( oops my fault as i did not) if you intend to stay here as a last resort, please remember to request a room with a shower. While you are requesting your shower you may as well request a bed just to be on the safe side. The range of smells is also quite wide, rangeing from urine to death with no pleasent smells in between. In the room there is a notice to say that if you smoke in your room ( i am a non smoker) that you will be charged £150 cleaning bill. Never thought i would say this, but i would rather have the smell of stale cigerettes than the smell that is in my room. Now for the good news, i know i will not be sharing a room with any spiders or cockroaches, because as they are free to go where they like I know they will not come to this hotel.

Room Tip: Just do not stay here, not even if on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank adrianjoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed here last night and for one night only - Am I glad!
Luckily we didnt spend much time in the hotel but when we did it wasnt the best experience. Customer service here does not exist.
I dont expect alot from a 3* b&b but i do at least expect a comfy bed. One without produding springs and pancake pillows. The room we was put in was more than just a little tired more close to death. The carpets throught the building are worn and very tired along with the decor.
Staff - well firestly apart from check in when there was one woman on recpetion im not sure there are many anymore!
Breakfast was charged at £8.50 pp, which usually is a good hearty breakfast with all the bagamashings! However upon entering the dining room for breakfast apart from a few dirty tables with dirty plates etc stacked on them was some more guests which helpfully just told us to sit down and await some service with a raise of the brow!! Eventually when a memeber of staff had realised we were there our order was taken. Thats after the conversation in the kitchen had finished which was available for us all to hear.
The breakfast was flat to say the least. Hash browns were solid and empty obviously straight from the freezer and cooked far too long and of poor quality along with the toast which was served which was as thin as and tasted like cardboard. Not verymuch was eaten and likewise other diners seemed to have the same problem.
This hotel lacks in service and most deffinately quality. Luckily our room was cheap (breakfast wasnt) and this was bareable for one night but this hotel is deffinately not worth its nightly advertised trarif.
I wouldnt recommened this hotel even with cheap tarifs. And as for being used as a wedding venue hmmmmm!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theroux1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

The receptionist was the most obnoxious, rude, ill mannered person on the planet.The waitress was just weird!!! Tired lobby, nothing like the pictures on website.Smelly attic room that was decorated in the seventies with fablon. wood effect on door.Dire brown frayed blanket.A complete waste of money, would have preferred to sleep in my car.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScotlandMazda5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

we orignally booked in for 1 night , but extended our stay to 3 nights. We had a lovely room on the 1st floor overlooking the gardens witha nice bathroom. I must say that we had a lovely stay from the moment we arrived to the moment we left and found all the staff great. We ate on 2 nights and the food was obviuosly freshly cooked ( dont forget to try Joans white chocolate cheesecake !!!!) .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin2440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
1.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant

Property: Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant
Address: Pittington, Durham DH6 1AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallgarth Manor is a traditional English country house hotel situated just 3 miles from the historic city of Durham in the northeast of England. This former 16th-century estate, set in spectacular grounds and gardens, has been discreetly modernised to retain many of its original features. Noted for the excellence of its food, the comfort of its accommodation and the quality of its many facilities, Hallgarth Manor is a real favourite for customers looking for conferences, business meetings, wedding celebrations and leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel And Restaurant
Hallgarth Manor Country Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing