We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Country House feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Country House feel”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here for a friend's wedding, so can only judge it from that perspective.

The reception team were nothing short of helpful and polite, from initial enquiry to check-out, and are to be commended for their helpfulness. We needed an earlier check-in as the wedding ceremony was before usual check-in time (2pm) and they made sure ours was the first room available, ensuring a comfortable day for us without having to rush about.

We had great weather too, which always helps present the hotel in it's best light. The grounds are well-maintained with numerous borders and flowers and so presented a great backdrop for the wedding pictures. Access to the Cathedral Suite function area is external only which could be a problem if the weather is not kind, but we didn't have a problem with it.

The hotel staff were always considerate and ready with a smile, including the bar and waiting teams, and our stay represented good value for a decent sized room with shower-room off. If you're wanting a square, soulless box to stay in, go elsewhere; these are genuine rooms with character that reflect the age of the building and we have to accept the certain foibles that sometimes a bit of age brings. Everything in our room was clean, the bed was incredibly comfortable and my only slight criticism was that the wardrobe had but two hangers in it, not really enough for a double room.

The price included for breakfast which was efficient if unremarkable; why do ALL the hotels I ever stay in have toasters that take longer to brown a piece of bread than it would to cook the suasages and bacon?!

A very good hotel, excellent staff and just what you'd want for a stay in the country.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hand2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    92
    60
    46
    48
See reviews for
63
122
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North East
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed recently as a wedding guest, room was ok clean and tidy however the decor could do with updating especially the bathroom, the bed was very comfortable. The grounds and hotel itself were beautiful and a very nice location for a wedding. Breakfast was average, no vegetarian option. I probably would't stay here again but as I said good location for a wedding, picturesque grounds.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanGirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laughton
Level Contributor
138 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

Superb hotel in lovely grounds, service couldn't be better. The best value I have experienced anywhere in the world.

I visited on a business trip, but will bring the family next time.

Give this a try, you won't be disapointed

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaughtonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

attended as a wedding guest, the setting was lovely and we were fortunate to have lovely weather so that all the guests were able to take full advantage of the gardens which helped to make the day perfect for the happy couple,
The evening entertainment was very good however it was quite alarming that during the celebrations when the function room was very full with happy guests enjoying a perfect day to find that all the doors except one including fire doors were closed and locked, it was pointed out to the bar staff that perhaps this may cause concern if a safety inspection were to take place , and in order for any resident guest to rteturn to their bedrooms they had to walk around the outside of the hotel which was quite dimly lit to get to the reception in order to access the rooms
Generally the rooms were on the small side with even smaller bathrooms and access to the 2nd floor rooms in the attic section were via very small steep stairs with carpets that were threadbare, and the furnishings in the rooms were old and tired.
It is quite alarming that there were no facilities for disabled guests with no bedrooms on the ground floor and access via a fairly lenghty staircase that did not have a stairlift so susequently a disabled person with mobility problems attending the wedding was unable to maouver himself and three wheeled walking aid down the stairs so had to leave his walking aid in the room and struggle up and down the stairs.
On the plus side the staff were mainly very pleasant and the breakfast next morning was adequate and very welcome served by very cheerful staff

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harraby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcus0747, Front Office Manager at Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Im glad you had a great time at the wedding you attended, and enjojed the 4 1/2 acres of gardens.
With regard to your safety concerns , All our facilaties meet all the latest health and safety requirements. You would have found the fire doors were not locked but shut and open automatically when the fire alarm goes off.

Due to the fact we are a listed buildinng , with pewriod features there is not a lot we can do about the room size, or downstairs bedrooms or a lift. However this is more than made up withthe elegence and beauty of the hotel and the surrounding grounds.

With regard to the carpets these are due to be replaced at the start of next week.

We are always on hnd to help anyone with any difficluty getting up to the rooms or down and are happy to help with luggage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Warm welcome, lovely room with view over garden. Staff very helpful and friendly. Good food with a reasonable selection on the menu which arrived promptly, hot and very tasty. Breakfast had a good choice, and we both left for our day out satisfied and only required a very light lunch to keep us fuelled.
Only complaint was the state of the shower head - which my other half sorted out - it did need a decent clean. As others have stated, some of the furniture is a bit tired and yes the plumbing does make a noise when the taps are turned on, but what a good nights sleep we got each night - what else can you expect in an old property !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shabbydug_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

My wife and I attended a wedding at the hotel and I have to say the day as a guest could not have been better . The room staff and food where spot on and the breakfast the Nxt morning was just what we needed before a long drive home - many thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Moojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and thankfully it was a lot better than some of the reviews on here. Our room was spotless with a comfy double bed so no complaints there at all. The furnishings were a little old and tired and very squeaky floorboards and loud plumbing noises. Also either very thin bedroom walls or a very loud snorer in the room next door! The bathroom. although small, was clean and modern. We ate in the bar on our first night (and claimed our free bottle of wine) and everything we had was lovely and reasonably priced. Breakfasts were very nice with a good choice served by a very pleasant and efficient young girl. We paid £99 for 2 nights with a KGB deal and feel that this was the right price for what we got.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breakaway64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
3.1 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant

Property: Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant
Address: Pittington, Durham DH6 1AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallgarth Manor is a traditional English country house hotel situated just 3 miles from the historic city of Durham in the northeast of England. This former 16th-century estate, set in spectacular grounds and gardens, has been discreetly modernised to retain many of its original features. Noted for the excellence of its food, the comfort of its accommodation and the quality of its many facilities, Hallgarth Manor is a real favourite for customers looking for conferences, business meetings, wedding celebrations and leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel And Restaurant
Hallgarth Manor Country Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing