We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Average stay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

LI stayed here for 3 nights with my boyfriend, the buildings of the hotel are lovely, we booked what we thought was bed and breakfast as it didnt say otherwise and when we got there we were faced with extea bills for food, the food wasnt that great at all, also we went to go for a swim and to use the sauna, steam room etc, we went an hour before closing time to be rold by a staff member that he had turned the jaccuzzi and steam room and sauna off which wasnt on really, the room was lovely and i cant fault it, the hotel could he brilliant.if a few things were changed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jwilsonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    92
    60
    46
    48
See reviews for
63
122
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Visited here very last minute for Sunday lunch. The carvery was fabulous. Even at 2.15pm when the carvery should have been winding down, the food was fresh. Often when visiting other carveries the food looks like it has been stood for quite some time.
There was a choice of 3 meats, home made Yorkshire Puddings, a good selection of the most colourful veg (turnip, carrots, mushy peas, cauliflower, cabbage & leeks) plus roast & mashed potatoes.
I will definitely be returning for Sunday lunch soon!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank karenah73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Six friends went to Hallgarth for afternoon tea to celebrate a birthday. On arrival the staf were very friendly and welcoming. They set a table for us in a private room which was very pleasant. We were given a menu to choose which sandwich we wanted. There was quite a wide choice-ham and mustard, beef and horse radish, wensleydale cheese and apple chutney and cheese savoury. I selected ham and mustard and it was a good choice as the ham was really thick and tasty. The food was served on a slate and the presentation was excellent. Apart from the sandwiches we had a warm scone with cream and jam, a slice of carrot cake and a slice of chocolate cake. Between the six of us we had two medium pots of tea and a pot of decaf tea and a jug of iced water. We asked for more tea and got three tiny pots. Unfortunately, when the bill came we had been charged £2.95 per tiny pot. When we queried it we were told that it was because we had asked for more tea rather than hot water! We argued the point and being as though we had only had two medium pots between five of us we hadn't even had our full quota they deducted the extra off the bill. Only one of us managed to eat all of the cake-she's a cakeaholic! The rest of us took a piece home for our other halves.
I feel it was good value for money at £10 and would definitely go again-remembering to ask for hot water rather than more tea!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scalliwag10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We called one Sunday on spec and enjoyed a very hearty good value carvery. The food was good, meat was especially good, choice of veg was limited but was all fresh and tasty. When we arrived we had to wait to see if there would be a table, it was worth the wait! The decor is a bit outdated and the hotel could do with a spruce up but overall the service was very efficient and the atmosphere was very comfortable. We will return and in comparison to other local carverys this place stands out and Its def on our "to do again" list! The setting for the hotel is lovely and the grounds although small are worth a wander about.........

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GarethDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for a weekend away and some early Christmas shopping. We stayed for 1 night.
The hotel setting was perfect with really lovely views. The staff were beyond pleasant and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. They were really friendly and polite.
The room was small and a little outdated but clean and had everything you need for a short stay over.
The breakfast was faultless, fresh fruit, fresh croissants, muffins... the list goes on. And followed by a full English which was lovely too.
Overall, the food and service was great but the rooms let the place down in terms of size and being outdated. Good value for money overall

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed for 1 night at the hotel to celebrate our 22nd Anniversary. Room was fairly small but overall clean and comfortable. Lamp shade was melted however and not safe. Reported to staff who said they would sort it. Parts of hotel have real issues with damp.
Service however was v friendly and staff were helpful making overall experience better. Dinner and breakfast above average.

Room Tip: Room 9 quite quiet but view of car park not brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and I were married and had our wedding reception in the Cathedral Suite during July 2013. We chose the venue as I had been to other weddings here and have visited the restaurant on a number of occasions and found the staff to be attentive and friendly, the food excellent and the venue ticked all the boxes. During the planning of the reception the staff could not have been more helpful and made it very easy for us. They were very flexible with our requests. On the day the meal was delayed due to our speeches over running and time taken for photographs however when the food was served it was perfect. The master of ceremonies made sure everything ran like clockwork. I arranged to have the suite, tables and pillars dressed by a company that work with Hallgarth as a surprise for my wife and it was absolutely stunning. After looking round at other venues and going to other wedding recently I can honestly say that this place as a venue is as good as if not better than other venues that charge double or triple what we paid. I cant compliment the staff enough on making our day perfect and would recommend it to anyone for a reception or to hire it for a celebration or party. Again a big thank you to all staff at Hallgarth who made our day unforgettable!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
3.1 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant

Property: Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant
Address: Pittington, Durham DH6 1AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallgarth Manor is a traditional English country house hotel situated just 3 miles from the historic city of Durham in the northeast of England. This former 16th-century estate, set in spectacular grounds and gardens, has been discreetly modernised to retain many of its original features. Noted for the excellence of its food, the comfort of its accommodation and the quality of its many facilities, Hallgarth Manor is a real favourite for customers looking for conferences, business meetings, wedding celebrations and leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel & restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallgarth Manor Country Hotel And Restaurant
Hallgarth Manor Country Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing