We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place with friendly staff and locals.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Mill
Ranked #8 of 39 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice place with friendly staff and locals.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

If you are keen on pub food this is the place to go, massive extensive menu, nicely laid out in a characterful setting and good value.
Rooms really well appointed and very comfortable. Handy for all major routes.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiths05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    16
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
35
53
2
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We ate here for our wedding anniversary after reading some good things about it. The service was lazy, the food incredibly expensive - considering it was food of average quality. I don't mind paying extra for really good food and great service, but this provided neither. There were countless spelling mistakes on the menu board and the food was under-seasoned, with a couple of odd ingredients thrown in that just upset the tastebuds. I wouldn't return and I urge you not to eat there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Compytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

We were a party of Ten celebrating a Birthday. Service was confusing having no printed menus. You have to walk up to a blackboard making it difficult for disabled members of our group. Food was over described over promised and under delivered. We used to visit here regularly but seen food standards decline. The fillet steak was very very tough and difficult to chew the garlic butter came chilled in a pot, Definately not served as it should be classically. Tiger prawn and chicken stir fry was very disappointing and again over priced. It's a pub trying to be a Gastro Pub but not achieving it yet charging Gastro pub prices. They woul benefit from employing better trained chefs. The service was very slow. One positive point was that the fish and chips for the kids was a generous portion and well cooked. There are better alternative venues in and around Durham.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

stayed for 2 nights as we were going to Sedgfield races. Excellent ambience, food, friendly service especially Glen who took the time to give us some tips!!! along with directions to the racecourse. Rooms were well appointed with tea making facilities and the bath/shower was superb. I lot of superlatives, I know, but well worth it. Will definitely return

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, Lincs.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I have stayed at this hotel half a dozen times in the past year, usually 20 minutes or more drive from where I might be working, but well worth it . The rooms are well appointed, great showers/baths. Friendly service and great food. Good hand pulled beers and good company. Good room rates. I wouldn't consider anywhere else within 30 minutes drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLouth_Lincs_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We used this hotel as an overnight stay between Beamish and Whitby.When e arrived it was a very quiet pub feeling and we enjoyed a couple of drinks,however when we came down for dinner the place was very busy ( usually a good sign when the restaurant was full). It didn't take to get a table and the presented menu was very extensive . The staff coped admorally and the food was delicious . The following morning a relaxed breakfast with good service .

Room Tip: Don't take bookings in restaurant so you may have to be a little patient, but the wait if any wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeswallow01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Enjoyed a pleasant stay at the Old Mill. The room was spotlessly clean , clean with lovely view of the surrounding countryside. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening but the breakfast was fine - although I would have preferred the cooked breakfast grilled rather than fried as it was slightly greasy.
We would however stay here again in future due to the quality of the room, service and location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
4.8 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
10.0 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.2 mi away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#11 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
5.3 mi away
Moor End Guest House
Moor End Guest House
#2 of 39 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill

Property: The Old Mill
Address: Metal Bridge | Coxhoe, Durham DH6 5NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing