We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly gastro pub”
Review of The Old Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Mill
Ranked #9 of 40 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very friendly gastro pub”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights to visit the Lumiere festival in Durham. Superbly clean, well-equipped rooms which were excellent value for money. Food was well priced and very good. Busy restaurant/bar with friendly, efficient staff. Nothing too much trouble and guests were well looked after. Some intrusion from road noise but nothing too drastic. Will definitely stay here again. Ideally place dfor Durham and only 25 mins to Newcastle as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trythealea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    18
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
38
55
2
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed for a business trip for one night. On arrival appears to be a charming gastro pub, clean tidy and popular. The hotel rooms are clean and modern, all very good for £60 B&B.

As a gastro pub it does very well, as a hotel it lets itself down. Rooms are a little noisy and the shower feeble. Biggest disappointment is the unwelcome feel in the evening. It was very clear we were an unwelcome problem rather than guests and were kicked out of the bar at 10.30pm (10.30pm - not a typo) so it could close.

So if you want a quiet retreat and an early night - it may suit you well. Such a shame as the first impression was very good and it has potential to be great every time.

Room Tip: Go for dinner - maybe get a room elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here as my nephews Christening was held here. Rooms are really nice, comfortable beds, very clean and well equiped bathroom (though the shower was not very powerful).
The food we ate, a buffet in the afternoon and breakfast the following morning was very good, fresh and well cooked.
The staff were excellent and went out of their way to be helpful, the bar is comfortable and welcoming.
I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Donington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Booked for just one night whilst visiting family , no complaints at all , from checking in to leaving we felt very welcome all the staff were friendly and helpful . The room was beautiful and very clean and the breakfast was cooked fresh to order and again first rate ! We will definitely go back again sadly we didn't get chance to sample the evening meal menu but the choices looked great .
Many thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaT111_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here for the second time for a one night stay. Could not fault anything at all. The room was very clean and comfortable, hospitality tray had everything you could ask for on. On arrival the staff were very pleasant and polite and could not do enough for you. We had an evening meal at the restaurant and compliments to the chef, the food was excellent and plenty to choose from.
Breakfast in the morning was also excellent with plenty of choice. Compliments to the management and staff. We will be making this a regular place for a relaxing time away. Also a big thank you to the cleaner who found my dress I left and contacted me.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17Heidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We decided to spend a night in Durham on our way home from Seahouses and were booked into The Old Mill, a short drive from the centre of Durham. When we arrived the staff were very friendly and helpful, the bar was a pleasant place to sit and the room was lovely. We decided to take a 15 minute walk and were able to take a bus from West Cornforth and spend the afternoon in Durham. We returned to enjoy a meal from the large selection on offer in the restaurant and the breakfast next morning was very tasty and generous.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Visited the restaurant for a meal with family visiting the area.
Found the food to be very mediocre and totally over priced for what it was. Friendly staff and good service but actual quality of food was very disappointing.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
4.8 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#11 of 18 in Durham
413 reviews
10.0 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,078 reviews
5.1 mi away
High View Guest House
High View Guest House
#1 of 2 in Brandon
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill

Property: The Old Mill
Address: Metal Bridge | Coxhoe, Durham DH6 5NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing