We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Mill
Ranked #8 of 38 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I recently had Sunday lunch on 11/05/14 and I was dissapointed that the meat was boil in the bag and not carved very poor for £8.95. The service was good though and the staff were pleasant. I will not go back for Sunday lunch as the meals are normally very nice

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 67bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    16
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
35
53
2
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Needed a bed for the night for an overnight stay in Durham and found this place. Easy access from the A1(M) with ample parking. Booked a double room B& B. It is a spacious pub nicely decorated with friendly staff and an extensive menu. Excellent food, but beware of the portion size, its huge. Serves good ales which is a bonus. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and all needs catered for. Huge bathroom and a really comfy bed. Could not fault it.

Room Tip: some traffic noise from outer rooms, but not enough to be bothered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallydyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here for one night on a trip up North. What a fantastic place. The room was spacious, with a great bathroom and the staff were most welcoming. We ate in the restaurant in the Evening, and the food was very good. Will stay here again. The staff are excellent, one guy giving us a pot of decaffeinated coffee for our room, as they had no decaf packets. Service !

Room Tip: We were very happy with room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubaluyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Returned to Durham in January 2014 for a friend's 60th birthday after moving to Lincolnshire in 2013. We had often eaten at the Old Mill but never stayed there. Our one night stay was superb. The room was very generous in size and extremely clean. A host of facilities - no lift, however - and good quality shower/bath facilities. The staff were very welcoming and friendly "from the off". We were confident that breakfast would be good and we were not disappointed. As much as you wanted and more! Ok, the Old Mill is a tad away from local amenities, but with a car you can be in Durham City within 10 mi9nutes or Newcastle within half an hour. OR, you could try the underestimated facilities of Spennymoor - they have a great football team (Come on you Moooors!). Well done to all at the Old Mill. Thanks Greg and Co!

Room Tip: Have a chat with Greg - the manager. A room not next to the main road would be quieter than some oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed in double room 5 for one night 9/1/14 after finding this Hotel on Booking.com
Although it looked ok on the booking site, we had only booked a night in order for me to book somewhere near the interview venue I had travelled to attend. On arrival to say that we were pleasantly surprised was the understatement ! We hadn't expected anything bad, but the photos on their own website and the booking site do not do them justice at all. The place was warm, welcoming, spotless, charming, characterful and relaxing. Our room was much larger than expected and had everything we could have wanted. The decor was modern, the fixings and furnishings so clean and comfortable I felt immediately relaxed and pampered. The welcome we received was charming and throughout our stay the restaurant, bar and reception staff could not have been more helpful, polite or welcoming- they were all an absolute credit to the establishment.
We chose to eat in the restaurant- it had been a long drive at the end of a busy day and I was glad not to have to go out again. I have no idea how the chefs manage to offer such high quality, delicious and varied/ extensive menus - we both thoroughly enjoyed our food choices and the drinks we had were great too. It is not often that we stay somewhere and cannot think of a single thing that could be improved- but this was one of those rare finds. Whilst the breakfast was delicious (again a huge range) I was nervous about the interview so didn't eat much- if I return I know I will be in for a treat!!
My only suggestion would be to update the photographs on the website, but in terms of food, accommodation and staff- this place is the best! Brilliant! Thank you very much!! An unexpected pleasure and thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: Room 5 was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Bit into a gunshot fragment left in the pheasant I ordered, staff only laughed when I complained. Shot, nearly broken tooth and unhelpful staff aside - the food was average at best, the service was poor and the decor was dire. They actually had mannequins dressed up sat at a table. It was Weird. Won't be visiting again or recommending to friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights to visit the Lumiere festival in Durham. Superbly clean, well-equipped rooms which were excellent value for money. Food was well priced and very good. Busy restaurant/bar with friendly, efficient staff. Nothing too much trouble and guests were well looked after. Some intrusion from road noise but nothing too drastic. Will definitely stay here again. Ideally place dfor Durham and only 25 mins to Newcastle as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trythealea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
4.8 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
10.0 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.2 mi away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#11 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
5.3 mi away
Moor End Guest House
Moor End Guest House
#2 of 38 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill

Property: The Old Mill
Address: Metal Bridge | Coxhoe, Durham DH6 5NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing