We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crazy dogs”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 66 Claypath

66 Claypath
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
66 Claypath
Ranked #29 of 39 Durham B&B and Inns
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Crazy dogs”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

This is a very good b&b. The rooms are well equipped, and clean. The breakfast is what ever you desire. The food is all top quality, and very fresh. especially the fresh herbs served with the breakfast. Richard and Paddy are very good hosts who have a wealth of information about the city they live in, and are happy to share it with their guests. Overall very good.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobRossetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Lovely place to stay, very clean, food was good and the owners friendly and helpful. Loved there being a dog about the house. Location was excellent. The only problem is the lack of parking. You have to pay to park on the street outside which could be quite costly over several days.

  • Liked — Lovely clean soft carpets! And the dog!
  • Disliked — No parking facility
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chikwan9803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2008

This isn't your average B&B, it's more a family home where the couple who live there let out a few of their bedrooms. The room was lovely, with a beautiful view of the garden. Although the bathroom wasn't en-suite, it was of a high standard and very clean. We stayed there for two nights, the first night there was only one other guest, and the second night we were the only guests, so I'm unsure as to what access to the bathroom would be like if they were full.

The B&B is very centrally located in the city, great for getting round the sites. Breakfast was excellent. Due to the size of the B&B and the fact there were so few other guests it felt more like staying in someone's house rather than a B&B, which may put some people off. However, the couple were very friendly and welcoming. They had a lovely little puppy when we stayed, so it may not be suitable if you are not fond of dogs.

  • Liked — Beautifully presented
  • Disliked — A bit quiet - felt a bit like staying in a stranger's home
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sw121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2007

We stayed for one night, visiting our daughter in the Durham area. The room was large bright and very clean with a nice view over the garden. It was very quiet. The bathroom although not en-suite was large and very clean. The owner is very knowlegable about the Durham area and very friendly. The breakfast was excellent with pleny of choice. The location is very good for a stay in Durham. It is very near the shops and excellent restaurants. We would recommend this B&B and would go back when we visit our daughter again.

  • Liked — Very friendly owner and clean rooms
  • Disliked — no en-suite
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janner05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2007

We only had a short time here but the owners were quite helpful and the breakfast was delicious. The bed and bathroom were modern and very clean. Recommend for any stays in the area around Durham.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scarlet46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
0.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
3.3 mi away
High View Guest House
High View Guest House
#1 of 2 in Brandon
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Gilesgate Moor Hotel
#23 of 39 in Durham
7 reviews
1.7 mi away
Moor End Guest House
Moor End Guest House
#2 of 39 in Durham
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kingslodge Hotel
Kingslodge Hotel
#6 of 39 in Durham
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 66 Claypath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 66 Claypath

Property: 66 Claypath
Address: 66 Claypath, Durham DH1 1QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
66 CLAYPATHA Grade II listed Georgian town house with a delightful secluded garden in the heart of Durham City. Comfortable rooms are well furnished and beautifully decorated. Quality breakfasts are freshly prepared to order. This Bed and Breakfast is close to the City centre, a short walk from Market Place, the Castle, Cathedral, riverside paths and the Gala Theatre. Some of Durham’s best restaurants and pubs are within easy walking distance. Ideally located for exploring not just the City of Durham but all the northeast has to offer. You can be assured of a warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing