We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Boooked 2 rooms (1 family, 1 Single) for an overnight stay after visiting the Beamish museum.

On arrival we were given our keys and Julie the receptionist explained all the details with regards to using the gym / pool facilities. On enetering the family room we were suprised and pleased with the size of the room which contained a king size bed and 2 single beds. If we had one teeny complaint the room was freezing upon entering but after leaving the heating on and going to the pool / cafe for a few hours we came back and the room was nice and warm

We used the pool and were given towels at reception, the pool was great and the kids loved it. We then went to the cafe bar and were pleased to see a soft play which was great for the kids. The bar prices were fantastic coming from Edinburgh it was great to pay £2.30 a pint of lager!!!

We had a great nights sleep and went for breakfast in the cafe bar in the morning which was superb and not expensive

Would really recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Mark M,

Thank you for posting your favorable review regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham.

It is always pleasing to read when guests compliment the team I am sure Julie (Receptionist) will be most happy.

It is really positive that your room surpassed your expectations and that you enjoyed using the wetside facilities on offer within the resorts Health Club.

I and the team look forward to you visiting again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager – Durham Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Me and my partner stayed at the hotel for one night in February for a mini get away, we thought for the price of the hotel it would be evidentially cheap, bit we were pleasantly surprised by the room, lovely and modern. Not to mention a extremely comfy bed and modern bathroom facilities. The best thing about the stay was how friendly the staff were at all times, even the girl working late on a Saturday night was lovely. I must say customer service here must be the main priority. Next the health club facilities, all very pleasant, there is a sauna, steam room, hot tub and pool which were not crowded either. If you are to stay at this hotel I recommend taking a car unless you enjoy long walks, it is about a 45 minute walk into the centre of Durham which we enjoyed. Overall a fantastic hotel and will certainly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kittycatcal95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Kittycatcal95,

Thank you for your fantastic review regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham.

It is wonderful to read that you found the resort “amazing value with very friendly staff “.

I am very happy to read that you found your room modern and that you enjoyed the facilities on offer.

It is also very pleasing to read that you enjoyed the Health Clubs facilities and that you found the pool area very relaxing.

On your next visit why not ask at Reception for an alternative walking route into the City centre.

I look forward to you visiting again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager – Durham Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have been staying at Hotel Bannatyne on a weekly basis since September 2013. I have stayed in various hotels in and around Durham and can honestly say that the hotel facilities and the staff here are second to none. Many of my business colleagues opt for more expensive (sometimes double the price) hotels which do not match up to the individual exceptional service (or food) that I receive here. If you want a 5 star opulent room with 5 star fine dinning, then this is not for you. However if you would like a very comfy bed, great shower, basic healthy food, use of health club facilities and free-view channel TV all at very reasonable price with regular friendly staff that always go the extra mile, then this is the hotel of choice. I want to feel safe, comfortable and valued as a customer while working away from my family and Hotel Bannatyne certainly ticks all these boxes.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is quieter than the back where you can hear a busy road, however it is not th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsCRake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear MrscRake,

Thank you for taking the time to post such wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham.

It is always very pleasing to read such positive comments regarding the whole of the Resort and especially when you have been staying with us for sometime now.

I am very happy to read that you feel safe, comfortable and feel as though the staff are going that extra mile for you.

I look forward to seeing you at the Resort again.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager - Durham Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting family in County Durham. The hotel was central enough to visit Durham easily and only a short drive to visit friends and family. The room was spacious and clean with tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was clean and well kept.
We found the staff to be really friendly and helpful, in particular the lady who greeted us on our arrival (Alison). We were impressed with the quality and friendliness of this hotel and surprised to learn it was only rated as 2 star. It was cheaper than travel lodges in the area and much nicer in comparison. Although we didn't use the health club, we did nip into the bar there. My partner was extremely pleased to discover he could buy a pint of lager for £2.30! The facilities looked very nice and did not appear to be crowded. Don't be put off by the health club being in a different building..it literally is a 30 second walk.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cs1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Cs1306,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent 2 night stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham.

It is really positive to read that you found the team to be really helpful and friendly. Alison was delighted with your lovely comments about her.

It is also great to read that you were very happy with the Hotel and that you also enjoyed the Health Clubs Café Bar.

On your next visit I hope you are able to also enjoy the Health Clubs Pool, Sauna, Steam room Spa pool and gym, or you could choose to participate in one of the many fitness classes of which more details can be found on the company web address.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager _ Durham Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Found a room through LastMinute.com after deciding to stay on the spur of the moment. The hotel was much closer to Durham town centre that I had expected, only 5-10 minutes drive.

Very good room, comfy and very clean with good tea and coffee making facilities; far more generous with the milk than most other places - Always a big plus! Sometimes find hotels very noisy, but this place was very peaceful for the duration of my stay (on a Saturday night too). An excellent night's sleep!

What set this place apart from other similar hotels was the receptionists. All three who I spoke to during my stay were exceptionally friendly and literally couldn't do enough to help you! Definitely a safe bet if you're looking for somewhere to stay - I would very happily go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear CJP2011,

Thank you for posting a very pleasing review regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham.

I am always extremely pleased to read such positive comments regarding the teams “excellent service”. I will ensure that your comments are shared.

I am also pleased to read that you found that your room to be very comfy and that enjoyed an excellent nights sleep.

On your next visit why not try booking directly with the Hotel or by using the Bannatyne Hotel website.

The team and I look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager - Durham Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was an excellent value hotel with nice rooms and a friendly receptionist. Plenty of parking and convenient for Durham (assuming you have a car). Only slight nehatiVe was the breakfast in the neighbouring fitness centre. It was ok but just a slight anticlimax compared to the hotel itself. Note that you have to pay separately for the breakfast at the fitness centre - you can't add it to your hotel bill.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank tenore319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear tenore319,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel further to your recent stay.

I am really pleased to read that you found the Hotel “excellent value and that you had a nice room.

I look forward to you visiting again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager – Durham Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Helpful friendly staff at hotel and health club. Room was large and clean. Nice and quiet (noisy road but fine if you keep the windows shut). The beds were very soft, which isn't good for me. However, there is a sofa in the room which is nice and firm so I slept on that and had a good night's sleep. Used the health club every day we were there - small pool but good sauna and steam room, gym very well equipped. Ate at the health club a couple of times - not a huge choice of food but cheap, hot and tasty. Doubt we will be visiting Durham again but if we do we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibblybobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear bibblyb,

Thank you for your comment in relation to your stay at Bannatyne Hotel, Durham.

I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed both the Hotel and Health Club's facilities and that you found your stay to be “ Great “.

I do hope that you choose to visit Durham again soon and would hope that you stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager – Durham Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
534 reviews
1.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,139 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#14 of 18 in Durham
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Address: Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £46 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bannatyne Hotel Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bannatyne Hotel Durham provides quality accommodation at great value prices. If you need to stay in the North East of England on business or for pleasure the Bannatyne Hotel Durham will provide you with the facilities you need. FREE parking, FREE wireless broadband internet and FREE access to the Health Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Bannatyne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing