We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comparable with Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Durham
england
Level Contributor
121 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Comparable with Premier Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Good clean reasonably spacious rooms. Comfortable beds and good showers. Pleasant staff and better value than most of the alternative hotels. A little out of the town on the edge of an estate.
Complementary use of sports centre is 200 yards across a busy car park.
Good value when we stayed thus the VG rating

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Steggs,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham.

I am pleased to read that you were happy with so many aspects of the Hotel and that you found your stay to be of good value.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager – Durham Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    159
    74
    23
    24
See reviews for
85
166
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Searched for reasonable, good standard, yet still city centre hotels through several online websites. Bar from the premier inn's & Travelodge's which we wanted to avoid we came across Bannatyne Hotel which looked lovely and bargain price.

Ten minutes drive from the centre, about 6-8pound in the taxi one way, the rooms are very spacious. we had a surprisingly LARGE bed, lovely! with large table desk, and a sofa, dime to don't usually get all three! very clean, modern and stylish. Bathroom was very nice, shower very powerful, I think it is a new hotel, if not all facilities in rooms were good as new! Even arrived two hours prior to the check in time, but as our room was free we were allowed to go up early rather then getting extra taxis, very handy and kind gesture.

Unfortunately didn't have to use the sporting facilities! such a shame but we would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22COUPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear 22Couple,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback regarding your stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham.

It is really pleasing to read that you decided to stay with us after searching on-line and that you were impressed with the Hotel facilities.

On your next visit I would suggest relaxing in the Health Clubs Pool area which is complimentary to all Hotel guests.

I look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager – Durham Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was a last min break, local to where we live but we wanted to spend a night away with the kids with the use of the pool so we were recommended this hotel.
It was affordable £55 for 1 night room only for 2ad 2ch (10, 6) and the room was very spacious.
Towels were plentiful and large!

Lovely large double comfortable bed, and nice camp bed and sofa for the kids.

Health spa was just across the car park and the café there was superb! So cheap and a good range of food.

Highly recommended and we all enjoyed it. I would return and it has made me want to try the other Bannatyne hotels and spas.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, although I wouldn't expect anything else from the people of the North East.

The kids LOVED the play area in the café.

Very impressed! I work for the 'Virgin' brand so I am very brand aware and think that Duncan is really getting things right. Well Done Dunc!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseGBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear DeniseBranfoot,

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review regarding your recent visit to Bannatyne hotel Durham in which you and your family enjoyed and found to be of “Great Value and a Great Standard Hotel “.

I am happy that you also enjoyed the complimentary use of the Health Clubs facilities and enjoyed the Pool hall and Café Bar areas with the family.

I will pass on your lovely comments to the team.

I hope you decide to stay at a Bannatyne Hotel Durham on your next mini break.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager - Durham Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Bannatyne is about 3mi from the town center and connected by a decent bus service. It's a good option when the town's few B&Bs fill up, especially over a busy weekend. The staff let me leave my luggage at the desk (even though they didn't have an area marked out for it) since I arrived early. The room was spacious and comfortable with a good bathroom too, but the bathroom flush was not very powerful. The Bannatyne Health Club is free for hotel guests and they have fun classes as well! The attached café is very basic with limited options and expensive but handy since town center is a way off (if you don't have a car).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AR698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear John R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel, Durham.

It is great that you stayed for 2 nights and found the beds to be very comfortable and that the food and drink in the Cafe Bar was great value.

As we are only a short distance from the City Centre a bus or taxi takes only a few minutes.

Hopefully on your next visit you will have time to take advantage of the fantastic facilities on offer at the Health Club in either the fully equipped gym or the poolside. A relaxing spa is a great way to spend some time after a game of golf.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel has been well thought out as far as the rooms go with space and storage etc. and super clean. However, the bed was very soft and you could feel the springs. I would suggest putting a few firm beds in some of the rooms for people who would prefer them. The problem with wi-fi is that you have to log on to the hotel website as is now common and be submitted to their advertising. There is a park and ride close by which takes you into Durham. On this occasion we had no time to visit the swimming pool nearby because of our busy schedule. However, we did eat in the leisure centre and it was disappointing, dirty and overpriced with unruly and undisciplined children screaming. There was no choice of yogurts for breakfast or any fresh fruit so we ended up with a small packet of Alpen and two cups of coffee and toast which was horrendously expensive. The night before we had a hot sandwich and chili con carne which was reasonable but pricey, about £11. Duncan Bannatyne please take note - if you are going to provide a breakfast of continental style make sure it has a better selection including pastries, meats, cheeses etc. as it is now very poor. However, if you wanted a cooked breakfast then this would be better. The morning waitress was surly and didn't want to assist in any way but the male server in the evening was friendly and efficient. You are on the right track but there is more work to do. Take a lesson from French hotels which excel in this sort of service. I would respectfully suggest as others also mentioned to us that the TV and childrens' play area be resited to another part of the centre so as to cut down on the noise while people are eating. The reception staff were exemplary and helpful and made us very welcome. There is a lift to the upper floors which helps with luggage. Reading other reviews, I would say that the satisfaction with your stay is dependent upon the quality of the personnel at the time but the overall value was excellent considering the price charged and the hotel is well placed for Durham, Newcastle and the A1(M) for travelling about the area. We would go back again but would eat out next time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professor Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Professor Y,

Thank you for providing a detailed review regarding your recent visit to Bannatyne Hotel Durham. It is great that you found the Hotel to be well designed and that you also found it to be 'super' clean.

The mattresses provided at the Hotel are all the same and are of a very good quality. I usually find that most guests who do comment are very satisfied and enjoy a good night’s sleep so I do apologise if the mattress was not to your liking.

The Hotel offers a free WIFI service unlike other Hotel chains which usually charge for the use, and in order to access this service you are required to log in which is a reasonably standard practice in the industry.

It is disappointing that you found the Café Bar to be noisy and expensive. Most other reviews posted usually provide great feedback regarding reasonably priced food which is made to order and a vibrant atmosphere. I do apologise if we had sold out of fruit and fruit salad as we always stock this item. I will ensure we repeat some refresher training for service standards and monitor this for improvements moving forwards.

The TV which is located in a comfy seating area and the children’s soft play are situated in the Café bar for all to enjoy. Many guests enjoy the Sky Sports and are very happy to view whilst enjoying a beverage. The Children’s play area is well used and parents are very happy with the location of this facility.

On your next visit to the Hotel please ask at Reception for more details of local restaurants as I am sure the Reception team will be more than happy to assist. I also hope you have time to take advantage of the other facilities on offer at the club which are free for hotel guests including the fully equipped gym, pool, steam room and sauna.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager – Durham Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Don't expect the Ritz! The hotel is clean and the rooms are reasonably spacious. The bed is huge and there is free wifi. Having access to the gym and pool is a bonus. No bar and a taxi ride into Durham. However, a good location to drive up to newcastle, Northumbria and visit the Metro as we did.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Nadine C,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham.

It was great that you found the rooms to be clean and spacious and the bed to be huge. We do have a bar area in the Health Club which guests can use and offers a wide range of reasonably priced beverages.

I hope you decide to visit again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager – Durham Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Whilst visiting the lovely city of Durham, we decided to stay at Bannatynes Hotel Durham. It was our first visit to this hotel and it served us well.

Our room was clean and tidy. Breakfast in the cafe bar was cheap and cheerful. I had fruit salad and my husband had a cooked breakfast which he thoroughly enjoyed.

I can recommend this hotel to other visitors to Durham.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Lesley Y,

Thank you for providing such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham.

It is really pleasing that you had “ an enjoyable stay “ and that both you and your husband enjoyed breakfast in the Health Clubs Café Bar.

I hope you choose to stay with us again when visiting the lovely city of Durham.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager – Durham Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Property: Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Address: Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bannatyne Hotel Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bannatyne Hotel Durham provides quality accommodation at great value prices. If you need to stay in the North East of England on business or for pleasure the Bannatyne Hotel Durham will provide you with the facilities you need. FREE parking, FREE wireless broadband internet and FREE access to the Health Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Bannatyne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing