We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A NICE HOTEL” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A NICE HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for one night this weekend room was clean bed was very comfy and the staff were very friendly . Lad on the front desk booked our taxi into town for us.Hotel ideally located for a good night out in Durham .excellent value for money

Room Tip: No Restaurant facilities you have to go over the road to the health club
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear MarkH,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your fourth visit to Bannatyne Hotel Durham.

It is wonderful that you experienced another great stay and that you enjoyed the complimentary use of the Health Club.

The team and I look forward to your fifth visit.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager – Durham Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    155
    73
    23
    24
See reviews for
85
162
17
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Had another great stay here again 4th time ideal for town a very short taxi ride but ideal to be far enough away from town great health facilitys to use down side drinks a little dear head straight into town the boat house a great place to start...

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear MarkH,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your fourth visit to Bannatyne Hotel Durham.

It is wonderful that you experienced another great stay and that you enjoyed the complimentary use of the Health Club.

The team and I look forward to your fifth visit.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager – Durham Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Friendly and helpful staff at reception on our check in and departure. The room was comfortable and decorated / equipped to a high standard. Complementary use of the pool, gym and spa facilities was a big bonus. Unfortunately due to time we only had time to quickly look around these facilities but everything looked top notch. The bar / restaurant area was welcoming, chilled and relaxed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear KevH01,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham.

I am delighted you found your visit to be an excellent overnights stay and that you felt the staff were very friendly and helpful.

On your next visit you might want to try more of the Health Clubs facilities as most guests really enjoy the complimentary use.

I look forward to you visiting again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager – Durham Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed one night in room 31. Found large burn, the size of a saucer on the carpet, also badly stained. Large 6ft double bed but on one half of the bed, Springs were protruding badly, incredibly uncomfortable. Stains and dirt splashes on the wall next to the waste bin, horrible looking stain running down the wall next to the bed, not all lights working, net curtains coming off their runners. Staff okay, didn't eat here or use the fitness suite. Considering room cost £70, this is appauling. Wonder if Mr Bannatyne would be happy staying in these conditions..... I think not. Will not be returning.

Room Tip: Don't stay in any rooms on the side of the A1, very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianboosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear ianboosey,

Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham.

Prior to reading your comments posted on Tripadvisor I had read your feedback which was written on a Hotel feedback card and handed into reception on the night of your stay. I do call guests if they offer feedback but no contact number was left.

I have checked the bed for protruding springs and also if the bed was uncomfortable. I found no springs protruding from the mattress and found both sides of the bed to be of comfort as a preference to me. The stated stains on the walls were painted by the maintenance team prior to my checking of the room. The maintenance team check comment cards on a daily basis and act on issues immediately. I have added a couple of cup hooks to the net curtains so that they hang correctly.

I do apologise for any inconvenience caused to you.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager – Durham Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I live relatively close to Durham however a group of friends were visiting from York so we booked this hotel.
The price initially attracted us and I knew it was close to the city centre and had the added bonus of being close to a retail park and Tesco for those last minute things you always forget to pack,
When I booked the hotel I didn't realise that you had free use of the health club facilities (gym, sauna, swimming pool) so that was a great bonus.
For those who have said its in the middle of nowhere this is wrong. Its a short walk from a retail park and a Tesco. There is a pub not too far from the hotel on the way to the A690 if you want to eat not to mention it is 5 minutes away from the centre of Durham.
I do not know anywhere else that offers spacious modern rooms in a quiet surrounding area so you are not disturbed during the night with traffic/outside noise, that you are within easy reach of a beautiful historical city such as Durham and have access to a swimming pool/sauna and gym all included in the price. Especially when it is £50.00 a night!
If you are visiting Durham this is a great choice. Taxi cost us £4.50 into Durham and £6.30 back (after midnight)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HellzBellz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear HellzBellz,

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review regarding your recent visit to Bannatyne Hotel Durham in which you and your group of friends enjoyed the Resorts facilities.

I am happy to learn that you found the Hotel to be good value for money and that you were pleasantly pleased to find that the Health Clubs facilities were included in the price and as a local resident that you have pointed out the benefits of booking a Hotel in such a great location.

I really appreciate your support in promoting the Hotel as a great choice stay.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager – Durham Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel is modern and pleasant, not too big and located about a mile and a half from the centre of Durham. We made good use of the pool and spa facilities at the adjoining Bannatyne's gym, which is all included in the price. You can borrow towels from the reception. There is also a café bar in the gym, which offered quite reasonably priced breakfasts. The only downside was the temperature - even leaving all the windows open all day, the room was still far too hot to get a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: The hotel backs on to a main road, so rooms at the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear darphilp,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham.

I am pleased that you found the resort to offer, “excellent value for money” and that you took advantage of the complimentary use of the Health Club and all of its facilities.

I am sorry that you found your room to be too warm after leaving your window open all day. We do have fans available for all guests which can be obtained from the reception area at any time, free of charge.

I hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager - Durham Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were on the way back to London and stayed there en route. It's in the middle of an industrial estate. There's a gym which is adequate, cafe which is ok. It's basically one of those places you stop by off the motorway because you have to.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mowana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear mowana,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel after stopping off on your return drive to London.

There are many people who chose to return to the Durham Hotel as repeat guests as we offer great value for money, with clean modern rooms and access to a fully equipped Health Club, including a fantastic range of fitness equipment, vibrant group exercise classes and a relaxing pool area with spa, steam room and sauna.

I do hope that when visiting the area again that you choose to stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham and take advantage of the full range of facilities on offer.

Kind Regards

Matthew Emery
Resort Manager – Durham Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Property: Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Address: Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bannatyne Hotel Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bannatyne Hotel Durham provides quality accommodation at great value prices. If you need to stay in the North East of England on business or for pleasure the Bannatyne Hotel Durham will provide you with the facilities you need. FREE parking, FREE wireless broadband internet and FREE access to the Health Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Bannatyne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing