We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but need a new cleaner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 20 February 2010

The rooms are nice and comfy but the cleaning is minimum. We stayed and there was a group of young girls causing a lot of noise during the night and it went on for so long we had to complain to reception. Apparently he had spoken to them previously and normally the police are called to get them out, but not on this occassion. The bar/eating area is unfriendly and not kept very clean.
The girls on reception are very good.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himandherCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2009

Although the hotel has free high speed internet access, it is not wifi. Connection is via a Network access point in the room.
When I asked if there was supposed to be a cable in the room the answer was "you need to bring your own cable or we can sell you one for £5" so if you plan to use Bannatynes free internet access remember to pack your LAN cable.

The hotel is clean and modern, there are no frills, the only services in the hotel itself are vending machines. The health club is across the the car park and has basic bar and catering facilities, the food variety is limited but was good value for money.

It is a good 30 minute walk into Durham centre but there is a bus stop a couple of hundred yards from the hotel with busses every 15 mins or so fare is only £1.30.

Overall, nice hotel , a bit out of the way but good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davie248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

GOOD POINTS:-
Price at £40 a night.
On the whole clean.
Evening receptionist very helpful and friendly.
A few miles to Durham.
BAD PIONTS:-
Our room smelled of stale cigarettes.
The noise from the busy road.
Our son couldn't use the swimming pool in the morning.
Cold character of the day time receptionist.
Most of the bar staff were busy having a good laugh and not bothering to clear the place up.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pashleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Stayed here last week on a Saturday, enjoyed the facilities, the gym and pool were good. Room (5) was large and bright and the bathroom clean and spacious.

Travelled into Durham on the evening ate at the fat buddha which was good.

Booked through late rooms, paid £60 which was a great price for Durham

Taxi cost £5, the hotel offers free parking too. Staff friendly and the gym had a good bar.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisalush70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

If you are simply looking for somewhere comfortable and clean to stay this hotel offers excellent value for money. Don't expect frills or luxury, but it does provide everything you need for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights on a trip to the UK for a wedding in nearby Ramside Hall Hotel. We were pleased with almost everything except for the room servicing - something was missing each day. Toilet roll the 1st day, shampoo the 2nd & towels the 3rd. Our room was at the end of the hall so the maid was probably skimping by the time she got to our room. Overall though the hotel is clean & the staff friendly. The bar/restaurant is in a seperate building at the Leisure centre & food is ok. The room was only £50 per night which didn't break the bank & we slept well even though you could hear the A1 motorway even with the windows closed. The Ramside up the road was totally over priced at special offer for the wedding party of £62.50 p.p.s B&B. Most of the other guests were only staying for the one night there so it was ok. We were over from Ireland and due to flight restrictions had to stay the 3 nights. So I was glad I shopped around. I'd reccommend this hotel to anyone as it had all the amenities you could ask for and was comfortable and well priced for what you get. Only a 10min walk to the local pubs and Durham City is easy to get around & the shopping area is great with parking on the way into the city. We visited the Angel of the North while there & it's really impressive aswell as being a quiet beautiful sculpture. Well worth checking out, parking available just off the motorway. Only downfall was the torrental Rain - man we thought it rains here in Ireland but not a patch on the rain that fell there most of the wknd. Bring your rain gear!! Doubt we'll be returning to Durham for a long time but would stay again here if we did. Worth the money so you'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHMkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

spent a lovely comfortable night here after a night out in Durham..room was spotless,staff were lovely.found no problem at all with security or checking in like some have mentioned.use of health club was a lovely bonus and we enjoyed a swim and a sauna before a simple but tasty breakfast.so pleased with it we've already made plans to stay again in a few weeks,we only live about 15 miles away but it works out cheaper to take the car and stay over than book taxis!! we paid £40 when we booked direct with the hotel...great price for a great little hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2robertsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
533 reviews
1.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,138 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#14 of 18 in Durham
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Address: Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £46 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bannatyne Hotel Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bannatyne Hotel Durham provides quality accommodation at great value prices. If you need to stay in the North East of England on business or for pleasure the Bannatyne Hotel Durham will provide you with the facilities you need. FREE parking, FREE wireless broadband internet and FREE access to the Health Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Bannatyne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing