We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I stayed here last month with my 12 year old son. The room was excellent and it was more than expected. My son who had just returned from a 5 star cruise with his mother actually commented the room was better than his cabin on the ship!

I'd like to thank the Scottish guy at reception who went out of his way to safely lock away my son's bmx.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seanmccabeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 September 2010

Dear seanmccabeuk, thank you for sharing your experience with other users. We are pleased you have enjoyed your time with us and I have shared this with the rest of the team. We look forward to you returning in the near future. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2010

Recently returned from an overnight stay at Bannatyne's Durham. It was great value and we would return again. Room was nice, with a really comfortable bed and a fantastic shower. The room didn't appear to have been vaccumed - there were lots of crumbs on the sofa bed and the carpet around it. This must have been an oversight as otherwise everywhere appeared to be spotless. If we return will probably ask not to be on the ground floor as the room was very stuffy and we couldn't leave the window open as it didn't lock so wouldn't have been secure.
We visited the health club and used the swimming pool. Changing rooms and pool area were lovely and free access was a real bonus. We also had breakfast here. The menu offered cheese and ham or cheese and tomato omelettes and my husband asked for just a plain one only to be told that they were pre-prepared so this wan't possible. The tea and toast that accompanied it were lovely but unfortunately the eggs were pretty rubbery as you might expect from something re-heated. Rather disappointing that a Health club doesn't freshly cook it's food. It was very cheap though.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitor53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 September 2010

Dear Visitor 53, thank you for the positive feedback given in this review. I will share the vaccuming issues with the Housekeeping team and get all ground floor windows checked over with the maintenance team. We are pleased you enjoyed the complimentary use of the health club, it is a great facility to have next door. As mentioned in a previous review, we are currently reviewing the breakfast options at present. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Stayed for 3 nights 5th until 8th.Spotless hotel complemented by great staff.It is a fair bit away from the town centre but the local bus service is frequent,just at the top of the road.We were unable to use the sports facilities as i had laser eye surgery just 3 days before our arrival but it looks very good.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank peetneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 September 2010

We are extremely pleased that you have enjoyed your short stay with us at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. Next time you are staying with us, make sure you bring your swimming kit with you. You will love the health club and swimming area. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We recently stayed at the Bannatyne Hotel in Durham for one night, The family room we had was very spacious and modern. However, we'd not be in the room 30 seconds before disaster struck. My 5 year old son sat down on the put-up bed/camp bed to take his shoes off only for him to fall straight through it! He then started screaming in pain because he'd scraped about 6 inches of skin off his lower back. Upon lifting up the matress where he'd sat I discovered that 2 slats were missing from the bed. He'd therefore gone right through and scraped his back on the remaining slats that were there. I complained to reception and asked if they had another bed. Although the girl on reception was very concerned and helpful, unfortunatley they didn't have another bed. The best she could offer us was a rolled up duvet to put undrneath the gap. It astounded me that they could put beds in rooms that we obvously so dangerous. Apart from that though the room was fine (if a little noisy due to it's proximity to the A1). It was modern, spacious, and had a really nice shower. Don't have the sausages in the health club for breakfast though as they are rock hard.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 September 2010

We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused with your son's z-bed. I can confirm that this bed has already been replaced. I will also be reviewing the breakfast selection following your feedback. We look forward to you returning in the near future. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed for 1 night on 29th June as our daughter was graduating at Durham Cathedral. The room was spacious and immaculate it had a double bed large but soft! and a sofa bed for our daughter. Great tv and free internet access and excellent shower - plenty of towels and toiletries in shower and sink area. Excellent pool and wonderful gym spa etc etc. It was £6 to the city centre and £2 of this was for the Toll into the city centre. Although we checked in at 2pm we were out from 3pm but did use the facilities the following morning. No breakfast in with the £50 a night charge but it could be purchased in the small bar/restaurant area. the bar was VERY reasonable and staff friendly and efficient. I would stay there again it was very pleasant and a good location. Too far to walk to centre but buses nearby would take about 5 mins to get you there. Check out was 12 - although house keeping knocked us up at 9am!!
However all in all a really good experience and highly reccommended.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
Thank Lgateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 August 2010

Thank you for the lovely review. We are extremely happy that you have enjoyed your time in Durham with us, and even managed to use all aspects of the hotel and health club. We would recommend that all future customers bring their gym kit or swimming costume with them just incase! I have noted your comments regarding the housekeeping team and the early morning call. I will review this current procedure. We look forward to welcoming you and the family back in the near future. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

My family enjoyed the stay at Bannatyne Durham, the location suited us as it was near a retail park, and not far from the city centre, bus route is spot in, lots of buses going to and from the city centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful, hotel spottless, family room was mega-big, beds were sooooooooooooooooooooo comfy, the pool area was good but unfortunatly the regular club members were very ignorant and seamed very upset by my 4 year old being in the pool having fun and splashinbg whilst trying to learn to swim weating his rubber ring, they virtually forced us into a cornerm and ,made rude comments, despite it being 6pm friday evening (kids are allwed into the pool until 7pm on a friday).The hotel and staff i could not fault. we will deofz return for a stay here.Prices were the best value also within the Durham area, SUPERB!!!!!!!!!!!!! WELL DONE DUNCAN BANNATYNE,NO WONDER YOU ARE A SUCESSFUL BUISNESS MAN-YOU KNOW WHAT MAKES A SHORT STAY WORK!!!! XXXX

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NETHERPLACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

we were looking for a weekend away and took the opportunity to visit Durham as we received a deal on E-mail from Bannatynes.

the room was very good, better standard than Premier Inn, and Holiday Inn express although not as good as Holiday Inn, Hilton, etc - as you would expect. The room was warm and comfy, with a very 'fresh' feel. on-suite sufficient and staff very friendly and helpful.

Food available in Bannatynes Gym on the other side of the car park which provides a great selection of food and drink and also...as a hotel resident you have complimentary use of the gym, pool and squash courts which we used.

hotel has ample free parking and is situated on a main bus route to town or take a 30 min walk into town.

great value at £35 per night room only

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanzebra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
1.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,212 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Address: Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £44 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bannatyne Hotel Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bannatyne Hotel Durham provides quality accommodation at great value prices. If you need to stay in the North East of England on business or for pleasure the Bannatyne Hotel Durham will provide you with the facilities you need. FREE parking, FREE wireless broadband internet and FREE access to the Health Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Bannatyne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing