We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Notts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a bargain”
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Stayed on a saturday night in a very comfortable room. Being a Bannatyne member, the room rate proved to be terrific value given my wife was given free access to the leisure facilities.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonysmith, Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 21 October 2010
Dear Twiss, thank you for the positive feedback following your recent stay with us. I will share this with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    159
    74
    23
    24
See reviews for
85
166
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The hotel.
Very friendly and efficient check-in upon arrival. Good parking. Reasonably well presented reception (demo of a carpet cleaner going on). The common areas needed a vacuum over. Bed comfortable and bathroom clean with a powerful shower. We were booked in for 3 nights. Very noisy rooms (nos. 42 & 48) - traffic noise is intrusive with the windows closed and almost unbearable with them open - it was like sleeping next to the motorway. We had two incidents -
1. The first morning my wife found a pair of someone else's socks in the bottom of the bed, so the linen had obviously not been changed from the last guest.
We were pretty disgusted at this and a complaint was made to the manager immediately. She showed concern, but didn't actually apologise and promised a change of bedlinen straight away. This actually happened as a routine housekeeping round 2 hours later. We also found several sharp pins on the carpet and a lot of dust in the corners, so room cleaning is clearly not a high priority.
2. The light in the bathroom didn't work and was fixed the next day after two reminders to the front desk. We came back to find it hanging by the bare wires! A guy from the Health Club eventually came in to sort it out.

No recompense or discount for the inconvenience or reported experiences was offered. Filled out a comment card - no response.

The Health Club.
We cannot recommend the food at the Health Club particularly breakfast. Although quite inexpensive, it is far better to go to the Table Table round the corner at the Premier Inn, for breakfast and dinner (or the nearby Tesco Cafe for breakfast..)
The Health Club facilities are 1st class - nice pool and gym, readily available squash courts, very well maintained and clean.

All in all, we couldn't really recommend this hotel even at the reasonable £50 per night (through LateRooms.com) and we wouldn't re-visit - it's just too noisy from the traffic night and day, although it is convenient for Durham with a good Park& Ride or bus service (we were there for a University Open Day). It seems that the Health Club was there first and the hotel was added on later. They really need to try harder to establish a good standard for cleanliness and customer service.
So, on that basis Mr. Bannatyne - we're out.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ragspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
Dear Ragspeed,

In reference to your review of Bannatyne Hotel Durham on 9th October 2010 we would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the check in process, comfort of the bed, cleanliness of the bathroom and shower as well as the facilities over at the health club. In response to the other aspects of your stay that you were unhappy with:

* The hotel is situated near to the A1(M). We have 50 bedrooms at the hotel and enjoy excellent occupancy levels and the issue of noise from the motorway is not an issue that is raised amongst other customers using the hotel.

* The bed linen was changed as it is with all new arrival bedrooms. This is the hotel policy and due to the white linen used to make the beds, it would be much more visible to a customer if the sheets had been slept in the night before. It is difficult to believe you found clothing in your bed when you failed to produce these to anyone on our team. However following your concerns, the sheets were changed, as we change occupied bedrooms sheets every 3 days.

* The bathroom light was repaired as requested.

* Our records show that following your complaint the Resort Manager tried to contact yourself as we take all customer feedback extremely seriously. After two attempts he left his contact details and we have no record of a returned phone call. At the time of your complaint your main focus appeared to be a refund of money and nothing else.

Bannatyne Hotel Durham offers extremely good value for money. Your experience does not match the other excellent feedback we receive in person and on this website.

Kind Regards,


John Price, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Stayed here on Sun 3rd Oct so that my son could look around Durham University on Monday. Warm welcome on arrival - room was very modern, very clean and had everything we wanted for a short stay. Heated towel rail was an added luxury but took quite a while to heat up! Hotel has no restaurant, but staff were happy to recommend local eateries within walking distance. We tried the Indian restaurant in Belmont called Zafflong - which I would definitely NOT recommend! Breakfast next morning was in the Hotel Sports facility - very reasonable and ample. Enjoyable stay

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
Dear LadyB023, thank you for the kind review above. I have shared this with the rest of the team. Please contact us next time you are staying in the Durham area and we will ensure you are well looked after again. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I stayed here last month with my 12 year old son. The room was excellent and it was more than expected. My son who had just returned from a 5 star cruise with his mother actually commented the room was better than his cabin on the ship!

I'd like to thank the Scottish guy at reception who went out of his way to safely lock away my son's bmx.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanmccabeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 30 September 2010
Dear seanmccabeuk, thank you for sharing your experience with other users. We are pleased you have enjoyed your time with us and I have shared this with the rest of the team. We look forward to you returning in the near future. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Recently returned from an overnight stay at Bannatyne's Durham. It was great value and we would return again. Room was nice, with a really comfortable bed and a fantastic shower. The room didn't appear to have been vaccumed - there were lots of crumbs on the sofa bed and the carpet around it. This must have been an oversight as otherwise everywhere appeared to be spotless. If we return will probably ask not to be on the ground floor as the room was very stuffy and we couldn't leave the window open as it didn't lock so wouldn't have been secure.
We visited the health club and used the swimming pool. Changing rooms and pool area were lovely and free access was a real bonus. We also had breakfast here. The menu offered cheese and ham or cheese and tomato omelettes and my husband asked for just a plain one only to be told that they were pre-prepared so this wan't possible. The tea and toast that accompanied it were lovely but unfortunately the eggs were pretty rubbery as you might expect from something re-heated. Rather disappointing that a Health club doesn't freshly cook it's food. It was very cheap though.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
Dear Visitor 53, thank you for the positive feedback given in this review. I will share the vaccuming issues with the Housekeeping team and get all ground floor windows checked over with the maintenance team. We are pleased you enjoyed the complimentary use of the health club, it is a great facility to have next door. As mentioned in a previous review, we are currently reviewing the breakfast options at present. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linlithgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Stayed for 3 nights 5th until 8th.Spotless hotel complemented by great staff.It is a fair bit away from the town centre but the local bus service is frequent,just at the top of the road.We were unable to use the sports facilities as i had laser eye surgery just 3 days before our arrival but it looks very good.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank peetneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
We are extremely pleased that you have enjoyed your short stay with us at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. Next time you are staying with us, make sure you bring your swimming kit with you. You will love the health club and swimming area. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We recently stayed at the Bannatyne Hotel in Durham for one night, The family room we had was very spacious and modern. However, we'd not be in the room 30 seconds before disaster struck. My 5 year old son sat down on the put-up bed/camp bed to take his shoes off only for him to fall straight through it! He then started screaming in pain because he'd scraped about 6 inches of skin off his lower back. Upon lifting up the matress where he'd sat I discovered that 2 slats were missing from the bed. He'd therefore gone right through and scraped his back on the remaining slats that were there. I complained to reception and asked if they had another bed. Although the girl on reception was very concerned and helpful, unfortunatley they didn't have another bed. The best she could offer us was a rolled up duvet to put undrneath the gap. It astounded me that they could put beds in rooms that we obvously so dangerous. Apart from that though the room was fine (if a little noisy due to it's proximity to the A1). It was modern, spacious, and had a really nice shower. Don't have the sausages in the health club for breakfast though as they are rock hard.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 6 September 2010
We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused with your son's z-bed. I can confirm that this bed has already been replaced. I will also be reviewing the breakfast selection following your feedback. We look forward to you returning in the near future. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Property: Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Address: Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bannatyne Hotel Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bannatyne Hotel Durham provides quality accommodation at great value prices. If you need to stay in the North East of England on business or for pleasure the Bannatyne Hotel Durham will provide you with the facilities you need. FREE parking, FREE wireless broadband internet and FREE access to the Health Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Bannatyne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing