We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommendable, excellent value, fantastic service, freindly & professional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Was recommended this hotel by a friend due to the fantastic facilities, friendly and professional staff and comfortable & clean facilities and was not disappointed. Has all the facilites you would expect from the Bannatyne group with the staff adding the finishing touches with their friendly welcome and professional service. The health club across the car park provides the perfect place to unwind, de stress or work off the great food..and it was free to all hotel members and even provides kids activities! All in all it was a great place stay for all ages, would highly recommend, great value for money and fantastic staff providing excellent customer service - hats off to the management for running such an organised establishment!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairydust1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonysmith, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2010

Dear Fairydust1411, It is great to see you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Please pass on our thanks to your friend for recommending us. We hope to welcome you back again soon in the near future. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2010

A one night stay only but lots to say. No family rooms were available when we booked so I was offered a disabled room with walk in shower. At £60 for room only this was fine but someone had previously been smoking in the room and the window had been left open to disguise the evidence, so on arrival at 8p,m the room was freezing. the rubber tracking around the floor of the shower area was grubby as I expect the dirt had just been mopped into it- steam cleaning required. We were initially drawn away from Premier Inn by the offer of using the health club facilities. On the next morning we made use of the pool and steam rooms and this was excellent, very comfortable changing rooms, towels borrowed from the hotel. This saved this review from a one to two star as the catering in the health club was fairly disastrous due to an obvious lack of staff. On arrival at 8p.m on Saturday tables were covered in dirty plates and the female staff member who was serving seemed overrun. She was polite and said she would get the food to us as soon as she could. The food was fine and very good value. Breakfast on the next day was a shambles, again the male staff member was polite but said he had a hundred coming in for a christening and therefore a hot breakfast would be 30 minutes. He said he could do us toast, so toast it was! however customers who arrived later than us did receive a cooked breakfast in the twenty minutes it took the toast to arrive. Apparent that staffing is being kept to a minimum.

We will stick with Premier Inn for budget family accomodation in future.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MFWilson59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonysmith, Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2010

Dear MFWilson59, We are sorry to hear that you would prefer to stay in a Premier Inn for future hotel stays following your recent stay with us. We have taken your comments on board and corrected the cleaning issue you have highlighted. Thank you for the kind comments regarding the health club. I have shared these with the health club staff. We will also be reviewing the staffing situation in the health club café bar following your feedback, especially when it appears the health club was busy on both occasions. As you enjoyed the health club so much during your stay, please consider us for a future visit, when next in the Durham area. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Stayed on a saturday night in a very comfortable room. Being a Bannatyne member, the room rate proved to be terrific value given my wife was given free access to the leisure facilities.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonysmith, Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2010

Dear Twiss, thank you for the positive feedback following your recent stay with us. I will share this with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The hotel.
Very friendly and efficient check-in upon arrival. Good parking. Reasonably well presented reception (demo of a carpet cleaner going on). The common areas needed a vacuum over. Bed comfortable and bathroom clean with a powerful shower. We were booked in for 3 nights. Very noisy rooms (nos. 42 & 48) - traffic noise is intrusive with the windows closed and almost unbearable with them open - it was like sleeping next to the motorway. We had two incidents -
1. The first morning my wife found a pair of someone else's socks in the bottom of the bed, so the linen had obviously not been changed from the last guest.
We were pretty disgusted at this and a complaint was made to the manager immediately. She showed concern, but didn't actually apologise and promised a change of bedlinen straight away. This actually happened as a routine housekeeping round 2 hours later. We also found several sharp pins on the carpet and a lot of dust in the corners, so room cleaning is clearly not a high priority.
2. The light in the bathroom didn't work and was fixed the next day after two reminders to the front desk. We came back to find it hanging by the bare wires! A guy from the Health Club eventually came in to sort it out.

No recompense or discount for the inconvenience or reported experiences was offered. Filled out a comment card - no response.

The Health Club.
We cannot recommend the food at the Health Club particularly breakfast. Although quite inexpensive, it is far better to go to the Table Table round the corner at the Premier Inn, for breakfast and dinner (or the nearby Tesco Cafe for breakfast..)
The Health Club facilities are 1st class - nice pool and gym, readily available squash courts, very well maintained and clean.

All in all, we couldn't really recommend this hotel even at the reasonable £50 per night (through LateRooms.com) and we wouldn't re-visit - it's just too noisy from the traffic night and day, although it is convenient for Durham with a good Park& Ride or bus service (we were there for a University Open Day). It seems that the Health Club was there first and the hotel was added on later. They really need to try harder to establish a good standard for cleanliness and customer service.
So, on that basis Mr. Bannatyne - we're out.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ragspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 October 2010

Dear Ragspeed,

In reference to your review of Bannatyne Hotel Durham on 9th October 2010 we would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the check in process, comfort of the bed, cleanliness of the bathroom and shower as well as the facilities over at the health club. In response to the other aspects of your stay that you were unhappy with:

* The hotel is situated near to the A1(M). We have 50 bedrooms at the hotel and enjoy excellent occupancy levels and the issue of noise from the motorway is not an issue that is raised amongst other customers using the hotel.

* The bed linen was changed as it is with all new arrival bedrooms. This is the hotel policy and due to the white linen used to make the beds, it would be much more visible to a customer if the sheets had been slept in the night before. It is difficult to believe you found clothing in your bed when you failed to produce these to anyone on our team. However following your concerns, the sheets were changed, as we change occupied bedrooms sheets every 3 days.

* The bathroom light was repaired as requested.

* Our records show that following your complaint the Resort Manager tried to contact yourself as we take all customer feedback extremely seriously. After two attempts he left his contact details and we have no record of a returned phone call. At the time of your complaint your main focus appeared to be a refund of money and nothing else.

Bannatyne Hotel Durham offers extremely good value for money. Your experience does not match the other excellent feedback we receive in person and on this website.

Kind Regards,


John Price, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Stayed here on Sun 3rd Oct so that my son could look around Durham University on Monday. Warm welcome on arrival - room was very modern, very clean and had everything we wanted for a short stay. Heated towel rail was an added luxury but took quite a while to heat up! Hotel has no restaurant, but staff were happy to recommend local eateries within walking distance. We tried the Indian restaurant in Belmont called Zafflong - which I would definitely NOT recommend! Breakfast next morning was in the Hotel Sports facility - very reasonable and ample. Enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 October 2010

Dear LadyB023, thank you for the kind review above. I have shared this with the rest of the team. Please contact us next time you are staying in the Durham area and we will ensure you are well looked after again. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I stayed here last month with my 12 year old son. The room was excellent and it was more than expected. My son who had just returned from a 5 star cruise with his mother actually commented the room was better than his cabin on the ship!

I'd like to thank the Scottish guy at reception who went out of his way to safely lock away my son's bmx.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seanmccabeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 September 2010

Dear seanmccabeuk, thank you for sharing your experience with other users. We are pleased you have enjoyed your time with us and I have shared this with the rest of the team. We look forward to you returning in the near future. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Recently returned from an overnight stay at Bannatyne's Durham. It was great value and we would return again. Room was nice, with a really comfortable bed and a fantastic shower. The room didn't appear to have been vaccumed - there were lots of crumbs on the sofa bed and the carpet around it. This must have been an oversight as otherwise everywhere appeared to be spotless. If we return will probably ask not to be on the ground floor as the room was very stuffy and we couldn't leave the window open as it didn't lock so wouldn't have been secure.
We visited the health club and used the swimming pool. Changing rooms and pool area were lovely and free access was a real bonus. We also had breakfast here. The menu offered cheese and ham or cheese and tomato omelettes and my husband asked for just a plain one only to be told that they were pre-prepared so this wan't possible. The tea and toast that accompanied it were lovely but unfortunately the eggs were pretty rubbery as you might expect from something re-heated. Rather disappointing that a Health club doesn't freshly cook it's food. It was very cheap though.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitor53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 September 2010

Dear Visitor 53, thank you for the positive feedback given in this review. I will share the vaccuming issues with the Housekeeping team and get all ground floor windows checked over with the maintenance team. We are pleased you enjoyed the complimentary use of the health club, it is a great facility to have next door. As mentioned in a previous review, we are currently reviewing the breakfast options at present. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
1.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,212 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Address: Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £43 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bannatyne Hotel Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bannatyne Hotel Durham provides quality accommodation at great value prices. If you need to stay in the North East of England on business or for pleasure the Bannatyne Hotel Durham will provide you with the facilities you need. FREE parking, FREE wireless broadband internet and FREE access to the Health Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Bannatyne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing