We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Noise!!”
Reviewed 30 January 2011

When we first arrived at the hotel the receptionist was very polite and helpful and the room was nice and clean. The leisure facilities were very nice too, However this was the only good thing about our stay. On arrival the receptionist said " if they are too noisy, give me a shout and I will tell them to keep it down", Well this sounds great when you first walk into a hotel!! When we decided to go to sleep we understood what she meant. We had no sleep all night because of the noise from others in the corridor. They were shouting and cursing and kicking doors all night and we were glad to get up in the morning and leave!! Families with young children should not stay at this hotel! Will not be going back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgia_hodgkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 9 February 2011
Dear georgia_hodgkiss, thank you for sharing your recent feedback with us at the hotel. I have already shared your experience with the team at the hotel. Thank you for the positives throughout your stay. I will be speaking direct with the Receptionists and NIght Porters at the hotel regarding the check in procedure as well as the noise issue. We have procedures in place to ensure everyone staying at the hotel can enjoy a peaceful night. Please consider using us again in the future. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    163
    79
    23
    29
See reviews for
88
175
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Good general purpose hotel, instructions for finding it from A1 very good. Reception very helpful, they told us about the bus at the end of the road into Durham, with buses running every 10 minutes this was excellent to use and relatively cheap. Room fairly clean although marks on work surface not wiped off when cleaned in morning. Bathroom facility was excellent. Slight noise from someone upstairs walking around during night but you would get that at most hotels of this standard. Leisure facilities were brilliant and the people working there couldn't have been more helpful. Shame the pool wasn't monitored, however, as children were still in the pool when they weren't supposed to be there - hopefully this was a one off!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 26 January 2011
Dear JudeCH, Thank you for choosing Bannatyne Hotel Durham and for taking the time to share some constructive feedback with us following your stay with us. I will share your swimming pool concerns with the Resort Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

me and my partner stayed here at the beginning of the month, i can happily say it was a lovely stay. very nice girl on receiption, helpfull when i asked about breakfast, gym etc. no rudeness at all.

room's are very spacious, nice bed, nice sofa, flat screen tv with satellite channels, big walk in showe, very comfortable room, and also 5mins (if less) walking distance to a shopping village, with shops like pcworld, b&q, argos etc. also a PIZZA HUT very close by, and 10min drive to Durham centre.

all in all a very enjoyable stay, friendly staff, great room. i had a fantastic night. thankyou!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamtoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Dear adamtoward, Thank you for taking the time to place a review on this site. We really appreciate all feedback. I have shared this with the rest of the team at the hotel and health club. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Not really an hotel as there are no catering facilities apart from machines in reception and tea and coffee in rooms. Breakfast is available across the carpark in the health club, ok in good weather but quite a run in the rain.
The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable, the reception staff were all very helpful and friendly. The carpark side is quiet but the back of the hotel is very close to the dual carriageway.
The kingsized beds are actually two single zipped together. The shower was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fidra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonysmith, Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 9 December 2010
Dear Fidra1, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and thank you for the kind comments regarding the hotel. Bannatyne Hotel Durham is a budget hotel on the same site as the Bannatyne Health Club which you get complimentary access to use all the facilities, which includes a licenced cafe bar for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

the hotel was great value for money the room was fantastic for the money large clean and modern the staff were extrmely polite and friendly and the leisure facilities were superb. the Hot tub was not available due to a leak but the steam room sauna and pool were good fun. we walked back from durham along the river bank took about an hour and had some great views along the way

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenjeffreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonysmith, Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 18 November 2010
Dear karenjeffreys, thank you for sharing your recent experience us at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. We are really pleased that you have spent a wonderful couple of days seeing Durham and enjoying the hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We have just enjoyed a wonderful stay at Bannatynes hotel/gymnasium in the lovely county Durham . As well as having a comfortable room we also ventured out to the gym which provided us with all the amenities and helpful staff . All very modern with up-todate machines, restaraunt and swimming pool . Both the hotel and gym were very clean even wityh my own very meticulous eye .Staff proved very helpful , helping us to navigate around the gym equipment and furnishing us with some very good fitness tips . All this left us very invigorated and refreshed , of course the gym experiance isnt compulsary it is thoroughly recommended .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonysmith, Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 22 October 2010
Dear Chris190730, thank you for sharing your enjoyable stay with us. I have shared this feedback with hotel and health club staff. You are correct, the health club is a real asset to the hotel guests and is complimentary to all staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Was recommended this hotel by a friend due to the fantastic facilities, friendly and professional staff and comfortable & clean facilities and was not disappointed. Has all the facilites you would expect from the Bannatyne group with the staff adding the finishing touches with their friendly welcome and professional service. The health club across the car park provides the perfect place to unwind, de stress or work off the great food..and it was free to all hotel members and even provides kids activities! All in all it was a great place stay for all ages, would highly recommend, great value for money and fantastic staff providing excellent customer service - hats off to the management for running such an organised establishment!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairydust1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonysmith, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 21 October 2010
Dear Fairydust1411, It is great to see you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Please pass on our thanks to your friend for recommending us. We hope to welcome you back again soon in the near future. Kind Regards, John Price, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
1.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
4.8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,046 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannatyne Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Property: Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Address: Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bannatyne Hotel Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bannatyne Hotel Durham provides quality accommodation at great value prices. If you need to stay in the North East of England on business or for pleasure the Bannatyne Hotel Durham will provide you with the facilities you need. FREE parking, FREE wireless broadband internet and FREE access to the Health Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Bannatyne Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing