We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely and well appointed cottage in a quiet...”
other travellers have booked this property
Let romance blossom in this lovely comfy bed, 2 bedside cupboards and lamps for your coffee & books
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Let romance blossom in this lovely comfy bed, 2 bedside cupboards and lamps for your coffee & books
Listen to the bird song whilst drinking your morning coffee or sipping your wine under the stars Tranquil lounge, listen to the clock tick, bird song, watch the horses graze, countryside views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Let romance blossom in this lovely comfy bed, 2 bedside cupboards and lamps for your coffee & books
Listen to the bird song whilst drinking your morning coffee or sipping your wine under the stars
Tranquil lounge, listen to the clock tick, bird song, watch the horses graze, countryside views
Feature inglenook,cosy gas coal effect fire, rugs,oak floor, TV,DVD player & library of books & DVDs
Romantic, relaxing boudoir for couples
Roll top bath with shower attachment, big enough for two to share with a glass of wine and candles
Other aspect of large bathroom, with twin sinks and victorian style toilet and heated towel rail
Fully equiped kitchen, large fridge and freezer, microwave, washing machine,fold up dining table
Red Kite Birds can be seen flying around the area. There is a Red Kite walk and viewing area nearby
View from the downstairs rear windows, where horses roam and enjoy munching on an apple or carrot
Take a short walk to the river around the corner from the cottage, enjoy a picnic, treasure hunting
After having a walk and a picnic you can watch the sun setting over the North Pennines
My oh my those apples look tasty, tap, tap, tap, is anyone going to feed me. The lounge at the back.
View at the rear of the cottage from the lounge, kitchen, landing and bedroom,where the horses graze
A complimentary bottle of wine left in the lounge with two glasses, ready for your arrival.
An example of one of the many Guest testimonials.
St Ebba's,The 12th Century, Historical, Chiming Village Church, lovely to hear in the cottage garden
The friendly, well stocked Village Shop, just around the corner, passed the church & horses.
One of the local pubs/restaurants, The Derwent Walk, good food/wine/ales, eat out area, cosy fire
Take a walk or a drive to The North Pennines. With ever changing scenery, where sheep roam, AONB
The North Pennines AONB, a few miles drive from the cottage. Some lovely walks and scenery.
The Angel of the North, approx. 10 miles from the cottage. Photo/picnic opportunity.
The Metro Centre, approx. 7 miles from the cottage, VOTED Britains Best Shopping Centre/Experience
Go back in time, Beamish Museum, just 10 miles from the cottage, a great day out, lots to do and see
Visit Tynemouth Beach & Priory, approx. 20 miles away, farmers/craft market at the station, shops
Sea Glass lovers will want to visit this beach to collect seaglass, walks, pubs, shops, restauarants
An example of one day's Sea Glass hunting at one of the lovely beaches approx. 20 miles from cottage
Take in the sites of Newcastle Quayside, Book and see a Concert at The Sage, Gateshead, wine & dine.
Visit Newcastle Quayside, pubs, clubs, wine bars, restaurants, Farmers/Craft Market at the weekend.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cheviot01
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A lovely and well appointed cottage in a quiet location”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in September 2015

The village of Ebchester is well situated for vising Newcastle, Durham and the North Durham Moors. The cottage is in a secluded and quiet location down a little private lane within walking distance of the local pub, local shop and the River Derwent.

The cottage is well equipped, clean, tidy and very comfortable with a nice size bedroom, spacious bathroom (which would benefit from a separate shower), cozy lounge and a small kitchen. Parking adjacent to the cottage is fine.

A recommended accommodation in this part of the world. Will definitely go back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Pembroke Cottage, Ebchester, it is much appreciated and valued, as are you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn Y
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Loved my stay in this cottage. Very welcoming, warm, with nice little touches left by the owner. Would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The decor and furnishings, very comfortable
Liked least: No shower, and the rugs on the floors slip
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2016
Thank you for your lovely review Lynn, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Pembroke Cottage, Ebchester and enjoyed the little touches that we like to leave for the guests on their arrival. We feel that this important in order to make guests feel valued and ensure all guests receive a warm welcome without any intrusion. You are very welcome to visit Pembroke Cottage, Ebchester again, we hope you look forward to your next stay as we look forward to receiving you and please be sure to mention us to your friends and family, our invitation is inclusive to them also. Many thanks and Best Wishes, Pembroke Cottage, Ebchester.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karenno1
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, Comfortable Cottage: perfect for short break”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Thankyou Caroline for lovely stay at your cottage. We felt very much at home and rested afterwards. Lots of character, nice rural views out of back windows, large bathroom with luxurious bath and well equipped kitchen. Comfy bed and lots of personal touches. We would stay there again if we come to Durham.
Durham definitely worth visiting, Cathedral amazing. Nice walk on river in Ebchester, close to cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
Thank You Karen, the owner of Pembroke Cottage is pleased you enjoyed your stay and welcomes you back any time. Yes, the river just near the cottage and the walks are wonderful and the views from the exterior of the cottage, so pleased you enjoyed them. The bathroom is rather special with it's twin sinks and it's deep roll top bath, made for two. Pleased you found the bed comfy and enjoyed the 'little touches' and complimentary welcoming treats. It is not always possible due to other guests arriving but on this occasion, the owner is pleased that he was able to accommodate you with a later check out on your departure day as you had requested, and many thanks for the bottle of wine, that was a lovely gesture. Look forward to seeing you again some time, Kind Regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect pre-Christmas break and base for Durham's Lumiere”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Very impressed with how quickly and easily we were able to book our stay at Pembroke Cottage, the service was very efficient and hassle free. The cottage was very welcoming and cosy, well equipped and had some lovely little personal touches. Really convenient location, but quiet and felt like you were properly away from it all when you got inside. Some nice pubs in walking and short drive distance, as well as a lovely river walk right on the doorstep. Gutted we didn't see the horses coming to say hello at the window, so we had to go and see them and feed them the apples!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review of PEMBROKE COTTAGE. Pleased you felt that you had received an efficient and hassle free service and it suited your needs. I am pleased you liked the personal touches that the owner chooses to provide, in order for guests to receive a warm and cosy welcome. It is not always possible to provide a guarantee of the horses in the field and tapping at the window, due to weather and welfare issues, so they send their regards, thank you for their apples that the owner left for them and hope to see you some other time, Kind Regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian N
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We booked the cottage for 2 days but unfortunately were unable to get there for the first night due to being surrounded by floods from Storm Eva. However we did set off on 2nd day and arrived to find the front door extremely stiff to open and once closed my partner was unable to open again. When contacting the owner about this afterwards, they acknowledged the issue was there but had left no apologies or anything explanation to prepare us for this. With this in mind the you need to be aware that there is no mobile signal in the cottage if you are on O2. Had I left my partner alone in the property she would not have been able to get out till I returned.

On arrival the cottage was cold and the radiator in the bedroom had been turned off which we didn't discover till we went to bed and it was very cold. We also found that the bathroom radiator was leaking and there was water on the floor, again which the owner was fully aware of but hadn't left notes for us. It was also turned off to reduce the leak and therefore making the bathroom cold.

There is a lovely roll top bath in the bathroom but despite running only hot water into it, it was only ever mildly warm so you were unable to get fully washed in it,, and there is no shower. Again, when I reported this it was refuted it. What a shame because it is a lovely bathroom.

Despite the bedroom being cold for us, it was a lovely room, but be aware the bed does squeak annoyingly and I specifically contacted the owner about this before the visit because of a previous review and was reassured that the bed was fine, it is not.

There are a lot of details provided about local eating establishments but a good amount of them are now dated, we can however recommend the Italian in Shotley Bridge called Sale Pepe, it was amazing.

The cottage information file contained a Risk Assessment, however it was carried out in 2013, it wasn't signed off and there were no updates, this is poor. Even simple things like a bulb not working in the lounge, the torch provided not working and no hand soap in the bathroom were disappointing.

All in all I had planned a special couple of days away to propose to my partner, and due to bad weather and slack housekeeping of what could be a beautiful cottage, I really feel let down. I raised all of the above with the owners, who in my opinion chose only to justify the cottage had no issues at all, and that points I raised were ongoing and being resolved.

Not helpful in my anticipated position of marriage proposal by any means.

Ian

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Hello again Ian. As previously communicated, I was sorry that I was unable to accommodate you with rescheduling your booking and your request being at extremely short notice, however, as already communicated to you, I would have happily extended your stay another day to make up for the day you chose not to arrive, if there had not been another booking coming in.

There was no complaints received from you during your stay, however, following your stay, you have chosen to make a list of complaints, which i addressed point by point within less than 24 hours after you making them. You did receive this response through the site that you booked through, however, just to reiterate, here is my response including the message that was sent to you on 30th December 2015.

Hi Ian, I have read your message and will attempt to address each point constructively. I was reliably informed that someone utilising the booking had indeed arrived by approx. 1pm - 1.30 pm on the second day, so i'm pleased someone had managed to enjoy the cottage for your second booked night, it's a shame you had been unable to make it for your first night due to your own personal circumstances or reasons preventing you from doing so. I'm afraid I cannot be held responsible for events that prevent guests from arriving on time or utilising the cottage for the nights that they have booked, this just would not be viable, however, I did suggest to you, that if your reasons were due to the weather, I see you have not given your actual location here, but just to make you aware, your details are held with the agent, you could investigate this through your insurance, if you were looking for a reimbursement of funds. Insurance would have been offered to you before booking, if you chose to take it, this would be worth looking into to. This would depend on whether your actual address fell within the flood zones or places affected but your insurance would inform you of that.

1 The door sticking has been looked into and as you mention yourself, the bad weather may have caused some swelling to the door, but it can be open and closed if a little stiff to open and this will be looked into further and remedied accordingly. I don't feel that anything dramatic like being shut in would have occurred though, but I do take your point that it has become a little stiff to open due to the rain.

2 Sorry to hear that you had problems with your mobile network provider and not getting a signal. There is not a 'phone advertised as being at the cottage, so with so many different networks and not knowing what networks people use personally, it is best to check this with your provider before travelling to places if you rely on your mobile and needing a signal. Some networks are better than others, and some don't work in semi rural or rural places but your provider should be able to confirm this before travelling if you have a concern.

3 The central heating at the moment and with the weather being milder, is set to come on twice during the day, morning and night for so many hours each time. There is also a large inglenook fireplace which heats up very quickly when lit and the pilot light is always kept on so that it can be instantly ignited when turned on. This alone can heat the whole cottage but the central heating adds another layer of heating. With a confirmed arrival from a reliable source of someone arriving around 1pm or there abouts, this should have been more than plenty of time for the cottage to have heated up, even if you had arrived a few hours later on your second day, so i'm sorry you felt that you went to bed cold but I do not feel that this complaint has any direct baring on the heating systems or functionality of the cottage.

4 The bathroom radiator heats up very quickly when turned on, there may be a very tiny leak when switched on but the leakage from this is extremely minimal in the form of tiny droplets of water around the seal and is being remedied upon further inspection. As you mention, the radiator was turned off in the bathroom, so does not 'leak' if turned off, so there should not be any evidence of water on the floor as you mentioned there was . Again I can't see that this would have had any direct baring on the comfort of your stay.

5 The radiator is fully functional in the bathroom and should not affect the temperature of the water in anyway. On inspection, there does not appear to be a problem with the temperature of the hot water from any of the hot taps in the sinks or bath, so there should be no problem at all for guests to enjoy a hot bath with the water tempered to their desired needs.

6 If you were in need of groceries, at the time that you arrived, at 1pm, and hadn't supplied yourself with any for your arrival, the village shop should have been opened at that time, just a stones throw from the cottage or there are many shops a short distance away. As you have pointed out the pub just across the road serves food, ales, soft drinks etc and there are several other pubs near by as well. Saying that, when you arrived you would have been greeted with a welcome tray with coffee, tea, sugar and biscuits, the coffee already containing milk as it was the three in one variety as it says on the packets. As you complained that there was no bread and milk for you on arrival, I have never provided bread for guests, ever, so i'm not sure what you have read there. The welcome tray treats do change, however, bread is never and has never been provided. You would also have been greeted with a bottle of wine and chocolate each with the wine, and some apples for the horses and a chocolate each on your pillows, all of which is complimentary. The owner is not obliged to provide food, drinks or provisions but feels it is just a nice welcoming touch, in fact some holiday companies advise not to do this and most owners don't do it. However, you did take advantage of the complimentary treats that were left for you, so that was good.

7 The information files of which there are a couple, contain all the necessary information you need for your stay, that includes safety information, up to date contact information, use of appliances, to name but a few and lots of information about places to visit and so many leaflets, which guests leave for other guests as well. I'm sorry that you found it in your own words 'of little or no use', as you put it, however, as I already offered, if you would like to suggest anything that was not present, please feel free to do so and we can look into that if it is not already provided of course.

8 You questioned other documentation, such as a 'risk assessment'. If you are an employee or business owner in relation to any other leisure, tourist, holiday cottage industries, you may already be aware, that all holiday cottage owners along with their chosen cottage business or businesses, conduct a robust annual inspection each year which is mandatory. All necessary reports and documentation, including this, is all held with the necessary authorities including the owner. The advice given by the necessary authorities was given some time ago, not to keep this information in the cottage files any more as cottage owners had complained that this information was going missing out of the files that was left in the cottage for some reason.

9 You mentioned in your initial complaint that a bulb was out. On inspection, all bulbs were found to be working throughout the cottage, however, as it cannot be predicted when a light bulb will blow, ample lighting is provided and spare bulbs are provided in the cupboard. You also mentioned the batteries in 1 torch was not working. I note that the batteries in one torch may have worn out, and these will be replaced, however, there are other torches in the cottage provided just in case of a power cut and these are fully functional when checked. Some complimentary toiletries are provided for guests as a nice gesture as you would have found in the bathroom. If there was no hand soap in the hand soap dispenser which is only part of the bathroom furnishings, there is a supply of hand soaps in the cupboard where the boiler is in the bathroom, along with bubble baths, hand creams etc. Again, the owner is not obliged to provide guests toiletries and it would seem that you did in fact find the hand soaps and bubble baths in the cupboard and used them at your leisure.

In your original complaint, you did not complain about a squeaky bed but on checking out a comment on another review, you have since added this to your list of complaints on here. This will be looked into and addressed accordingly.

I have attempted to address each of your points and have given a fair and accurate evaluation and summation. I'm sorry your break away did not go as you had planned Ian, and you have not achieved the result you wanted, Best Wishes and Kind Regards, Mr Wilson.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobyboots...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous cosy cottage”
Reviewed 11 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A perfect hideaway for country loving couples with shops & a great pub/restaurant close by serving amazing food, located right alongside the Derwent Walk. A well known beautiful stretch of former 12 miles+ of railway.
Curling up in front of the stove if cold weather arrives is delightful. As is soaking in the rolltop bath. The cottage is very well equipped for a long or quick break away.
We would love to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tasteful decor throughout the cottage
Liked least: Not really applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
The owner of Pembroke Cottage, would like to thank you for your lovely 5***** feedback, it is most appreciated. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and enjoyed the surrounding area. You would be welcome back any time and your friends and family too. A big Thank You.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
811mally
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just lovely.”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We booked Pembrook cottage. For three nights. The cottage is lovely, it is down a small lane off the road, so is nice and quite.There is everything you need, great cooker and oven. The kitchen is very well equipped,and very clean. As like the rest of the cottage. You can see the owners take pride in what they do. With special treats they leave you, chocs, bics, wine, milk, Thank you. There is a pub across the road. But only do food on a Sunday. We went to the pub up the hill. About a 10 minute walk. The food was nice, with a friendly atmosphere. If you like to walk, run, or cycle. The Derwent walk is next door to the pub. In all we really enjoyed our stay. the only reason we gave it 4 and not a 5. The bed was comfortable. But the bed was a little noisy when moving round, So did disturb the sleep. This would not stop us returning .To many good points.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the bath
Liked least: noisey bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thank Your for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Pembroke Cottage and enjoyed all that it had to offer. The feedback about the bed has always come back positive, in that it is very comfy and there have not been any previous complaints about the bed being noisy but this will be checked out and rectified accordingly, Kind Regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing