We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another perfect stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Butterfly Cottage

Butterfly Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Butterfly Cottage
The balcony decking area with view beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Butterfly Cottage
The balcony decking area with view beyond
The Hillside Setting
view from the cottage balcony
kitchen
Dining table with complimentary wine, chocolates flowers on arrival
Wood burning stove
Downstairs mini vestibule
bathroom en suite
waterfall at Westgate
the neighbours!
Well bank
the Hamlet of Newhouse
the church at St Johns chapel
Chatterbox café in St Johns Chapel
Winter sunset at Burnhope reservoir
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
doyster
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Another perfect stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

5th time in this wonderful cottage. Stayed for the weekend of our 40th wedding anniversary and were delighted to have lots of snow. As always, the cottage is perfect with the most amazing bedding, such a comfortable sleep - didn't want to get up!
Anita and Bruce are so welcoming and all the lovely little extras they provide are much appreciated. We especially love the home-made bread.
A most peaceful and relaxing hide-away and the most perfect holiday-let we have ever been in.
Cant recommend this highly enough. We will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2016
Dear Rosemary, Thank you for your glowing review, you are very kind.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickiwd
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The 2 of us stayed here for a couple of nights, wish it could have been longer. It was our 2nd visit & it certainly won't be our last. Welcomed with chocolates, wine, fresh baked delicious bread & biscuits for our little dogs. Alpaca wool duvet is tremendous. The cottage is absolutely beautiful with spectacular views. If it's peace & tranquility you're after then this ticks all the boxes. We love it. Thank you Anita & Bruce for creating a little piece of paradise.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you liked the new Alpaca bedding a recent purchase for the cottage, not a cheap option but we think it is important that the bed is comfortable for people, as a good nights sleep is important when guests are trying to unwind and relax.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denisepau...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy home from home”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Arrived at Butterfly Cottage on Friday evening and greated by Anita the owner she showed as around and the photos don't do it justice. So quaint and on the top of a steap hill with amazing views of the countryside. We were so comfortable it had everything we needed and more. Anita and Bruce had left us chocolates and wine which we enjoyed very much. Our springer spaniels Alfie & Oscar loved the enclosed garden to stretch their legs. I must say we were very warm and cosy with the Alpaca bedding on the king size bed. The cottage was furnished to a very high standard better than any we have visited before. Bruce very kindly provided us with coal and logs for the wood burner we were very warm and cosy while the wind whistled around us. We will most defiantly return and would recommend it to our friends. Thanks again Anita & Bruce

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The locality
Liked least: Wasn't long enough could have stayed a week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Butterfly Cottage. We are happy the enclosed garden proved a hit with the canine guests! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasmin D
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“AbsolutelyFabulous”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This little cottage is perfect for a weekend away or a week away! We stayed for a weekend and I wish we could have stayed the whole week! It's easy to find and we got there to be greeted by Anita and showed around the cottage where we had some goodies left, even some dog biscuits for TJ!
We brought our dog and it was perfect for him! A little garden where he can play and everything is gated off so that he can't get out anywhere!
The pictures do not do this little place justice it's gorgeous! So peaceful and private and the inside is so clean and has exactly what you need! You have all the proper cooking utilities and plates/cups ect so all you need to bring is your food!
The only thing I would say is the heating, be sure to keep the fire burning and radiators on so that it's hot enough! The view is spectacular! We even had some snow which was beautiful! Bruce even helped us to start the log fire & provided the wood for us!
I would recommend staying here and will be staying again! Thanks Anita & Bruce!! x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: The wifi access!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2016
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that TJ enjoyed the use of the enclosed garden. Usually guests tell us that when the log burner is on they have to open a window! :) Although we were experiencing a bit of a cold snap so I'm pleased the place was warm enough for you. We hope you both and TJ will come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my partner stayed from Friday to Sunday in November. Bruce and Anita, the owners, we so helpful - even driving out to meet us when we took the wrong road. There were some lovely little additions when we arrived, bread, wine, box of chocolates and biscuits for the dog. They even organised the fuel for the stove. The cottage is absolutely lovely, with fabulous views. A covering of snow made it more picturesque, and we were snug and very comfortable in the cottage. Would recommend this as a really relaxing break - nicely recharged our batteries before we start the Christmas preparations! Thank you Bruce and Anita.

Mark and Holly

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our break in butterfly cottage. The surrounding area is spectacular and the views from the cottage especially from the veranda were magnificent across the valley. The cottage was spotless and welcoming. The owner Bruce was very helpful and informative on our arrival. We would also recommend a visit to Alston House for a meal. A lovely place with excellent food on our visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. We love the view from the balcony too it was one of the reasons we fell in love with the place over 11 years ago! Alston house in only a 15 minute drive away and we take our friends and family there ourselves as the service and food is consistently good.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen K
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 nights in October, it is a lovely cottage and on arrival we had fresh bread, milk, butter chocolates and biscuits for my dog which we thought was a lovely touch.

The owners were very friendly and gave us directions to the nearest shops. The cottage itself was very clean and was decorated beautifully.

There is a large hill going up to the cottage, so maybe not suitable for people with difficulty walking but the walks surrounding the cottage are lovely.

I had shown friends and family pictures of the cottage and everyone has said how lovely it is and a few are even looking to book this cottage for themself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. You are right that one of the routes up to the cottage comes up a hill leading up from the Weardale Valley. It is steep but the pay off is the wonderful view but I'd agree if you have mobility problems not one to be tackled on foot. However, everyone who comes here usually does so by car and if they fancy a walk it's only half a mile by car down the bank to the river walk and a couple of miles to the reservoir, which are both flat easy walks and the other road into the property is flatter and will also lead you down into the Valley....these places are where I usually go for walks myself as I do have some mobility problems myself. We are so pleased you had a good time here and we'd love to be able to welcome some of your family and friends in the future :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing