We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Butterfly Cottage

Butterfly Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Butterfly Cottage
The balcony decking area with view beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Butterfly Cottage
The balcony decking area with view beyond
The Hillside Setting
view from the cottage balcony
kitchen
Dining table with complimentary wine, chocolates flowers on arrival
Wood burning stove
Downstairs mini vestibule
bathroom en suite
waterfall at Westgate
the neighbours!
Well bank
the Hamlet of Newhouse
the church at St Johns chapel
Chatterbox café in St Johns Chapel
Winter sunset at Burnhope reservoir
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark H
1 review
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A beautifully furnished and decorated cottage equipped with everything you need for a relaxing holiday. Such a peaceful setting - no traffic noise at all - just the occasional tractor. We were grateful of the provisions which Anita and Bruce left for us and the candles and music playing as we arrived made the cottage particularly welcoming. There is absolutely loads to see and do in the area and the scenery is so picturesque. We would definitely recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Many thanks for your kind review. We find many people comment on the peace and quite and the views, which we think are important to guests wanting to chill and relax. As you say there are loads of things to see and do but we would definitely recommend having a car when you book into Butterfly Cottage in order to make the most of the area. We hope you may have the opportunity to come back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BookwormC...
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place, great area.”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Didn't have time to do all the things we could have. Beamish. South Tyne Railway and Walking Trail, Durham cathedral, High Force all packed into a 4 night stay. Just missed the Killihope mines. Rainy weather didn't spoil the time. Friendly hosts and lovely welcome. Great place and great stay for people who are still pretty mobile!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
You did manage to pack in a lot in your 4 days!! Pleased to read the rainy weather didn't spoil your visit. We agree you do need to be mobile to stay in the cottage as there are steps down from the car park and stairs in the cottage (that said we do have someone who visits regularly who has very restricted mobility and they still manage ) The walks from the cottage around the area are either up or down hill so we think people need to be aware of this, however, flat walks are right on the door step along the river wear if people wish to drive the half mile down the hill. The reservoir is also mostly flat and only a couple of miles away. Thank you for your review which I'm sure other travellers will find helpful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kariebell...
co. durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect pet friendly holiday cottage”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful cottage set in stunning scenery and in a fantastic location. We had a wonderful weekend. Butterfly cottage is well equipped, very comfortable and tastefully decorated, a real home from home.On arrival Anita and Bruce thoughtfully provided fresh flowers, a loaf of home made bread, wine and chocolates. This was our 2nd visit and we will definitely be returning.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
So pleased you enjoyed your second visit to Butterfly Cottage. We generally find a good percentage of people with dogs come here and everyone seems to find the cottage and its garden suitable for them. Do please come back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chickwsx
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quaint ”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely cottage in rural location, everything needed at cottage .
Even home made bread by owner .
Good area for exploring.
Durhan great city, cathederal a must.
comfortable
Hope to go back asap
Thank you Anita & Bruce

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Many thanks for your smashing review. We feel there are lots of things to see in the region and believe Durham city to be a "must" for people staying here for a few days. Please do come back as there are many more places to explore in all directions from here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Many thanks for your very kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you found the area to be both peaceful and picturesque. It's good to know guests seem to appreciate a personal welcome and the "little touches".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rosemary...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our 9th stay in this most gorgeous of all holiday cottages. So lovely and lacks nothing. THE most comfortable bed, pity I can't take it home. Anita and Bruce are wonderful and treat guests to lots of goodies - we love the home-made bread. Running out of superlatives - its just - well PERFECT. Love sitting on the patio or just looking out the windows at the lovely view over the moors. We will definitely return xxxx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Dear Rosemary thank you again for another glowing review. We shall look forward to seeing you again in the Summer. Thank you for your continued custom.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nick l
1 review
“Beautiful quaint little cottage with character and in a peaceful location.”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is a well restored and beautifully decorated little cottage with character. The owners have thought carefully about what they have provided within it, providing good quality furniture, china, cutlery etc. Anita and Bruce were very welcoming, provided bread, milk and lit some candles for our arrival. We also had a puncture on the way and Bruce was very helpful in contacting a garage so that we could get a new tyre the following morning. The cottage is out in the countryside where there are plenty opportunities for walking. We particularly enjoyed our visit to Beamish which is about 20 miles away (a really good day out). Our only disappointment was the restless nights we had due to our difficulty sleeping on a memory foam mattress. It may suit many other people, but our advice to everyone is to try one out for a night before you book a week away, or make sure it has a topper which can be removed if necessary. It was our own fault, as we had not done this and the type of mattress had been well advertised on the site. A lesson learned for us that we need to make sure its a normal mattress when we book elsewhere. We did love the cottage and would recommend it to others, but unfortunately we would be unable to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm sorry the mattress didn't suit you. It is a pocket sprung mattress with a memory foam top and it does seems to suit the vast majority of people who visit who usually give us very positive feedback on it. We bought it as both of us have bad backs and Anita also suffers from Arthritis and Fibromyalgia, we slept on one and thought it was marvellous, so got one for the cottage. When we come to change the mattress in the future we will obviously consider your kind suggestion of a sprung mattress with a memory foam topper, which can be removed and we are also thinking about buying a bed which can be split into 2 single beds making the bedroom arrangements more flexible. I will be happy to let you know when we change the mattress so if you'd like to come again you will feel able.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing